Lyft Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 10 reviews
on April 27, 2015
Man! Ghost Rider, Warlock, The Cat and so many other really cool origins and turning point stories from the end of the Silver and start of the Bronze Age of Comics. The books that if you still have them, you won't take them out of their board and bag for fear of damaging them. Nice stock, but not super glossy and flat color. pretty good, but I still would have preferred the high quality newsprint, but that's just me. Here ya go, eat some pizza and read the first Ghost Rider! For the collector who also loves comics, it great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2015
Taken combined as a series the three volumes of this series make a pretty sweet overview of the 1970s. Also included are covers of some other stories from the time that aren't included in the volumes but gives you an idea of other titles available at the time and what the art was like. Really interesting. Try it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2016
A lot of origins I've never would of read until now. Very good collection of Super Heroes from the '70's. I purchase this book because the price was low due to being a nick & dent. Would like to get more but a little too expensive for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
again-these comics very colorful artwork-most of todays comic artist pay big tributes for those artist-comics from That era=PLOOG,COLAN,DITKO, THE LIST GOES ON. REASON I GET THESE COMIC REPRINTS-THIER ON BETTER QUALITY PAPER, AND I DON,T HAVE TO GO THROUGH MY ORIGINALS. BOTH ARE GOOD READS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2017
Great Book !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2012
this is a must have for fans of 1970's era marvel comics. also great for new readers to learn the origins of heroes they haven't heard of yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
But the artwork was horrendous. Even Gil Kane's work paled in comparison to what I expected from him. I can't say much for the other artists either.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2012
If you are a Marvel Completist, this is a great buy. There is the opportunity to read many of the 70's great characters in chronological order. First issue of the Inhumans, Black Widow, Werewolf by Night, Man-Thing. However, this book will likely not appeal to readers and kids who have no idea who "HIM" is. While the origin stories of Spider-Man, Fantastic Four, contained the DNA that still lives today, many of these stories are an evolutionary dead-end. There was a tremendous focus on monster tales, vampires, werewolves, even Frankenstein's monster. Most of the stories feel like they were written in the same verbose, grandiose style of Roy Thomas, they are large epic stories which, even though you're reading origin stories, you may feel lost. For example, origin story of Warlock, also contained the back story of the High Evolutionary.

However, if you've never read these stories, this is likely the best way to read them. You have to wait the 1970s, Volume 2 to read the New X-Men, which really is the beginning of the rest of Marvel History.

If you are a first time marvel reader, start with the 1960's the Firsts.

One other comment, the Man-Thing origin story is at least a take off of the monster theme. Interestingly, there were two origin stories where the beautiful woman betrays the man. There's a lot of subtext going on in these stories and they are more mature than what had come before them.

What I also liked about this book are the presentation of other comics and covers that were published by Marvel. You get a real sense of the history.

As a marvel completist, I would have loved to have this kind of book when I was a kid/teenager. I look forward the remaining volumes, the 80's and 90's. Marvel should be commended for putting a high quality book with lush color at an affordable price and introducing the general public to characters that are 2nd, 3rd and never ran.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2012
I bought this for my son who is involved with comic com, he is studying comics on computers. He loved it.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse