Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals HPC Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18PP_gno



on September 2, 2016
Mary's Mosaic is a fascinating story that has me convinced. I read "A Very Private Woman" which is another book written about the life of Mary Pinchot Meyer. Both are full of interesting facts about this woman who was a lover of JFK, and who was also murdered. Read it with an open mind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 2, 2012
If Peter Janney's CIA-father (Wistar) were still alive, we would likely not be reading this book. After all, it provides convincing evidence that Wistar knew that Mary had died even before the police had identified her body, which means that he (Wistar) had foreknowledge of the murder plot. Peter also makes a strong case that Ben Bradlee (of the Washington Post) likewise had advance knowledge, perhaps also tipped off by Wistar.

When one's own father is so deeply committed to a cover-up, it requires enormous courage to disclose the family jewels. But courage is what Peter has--in spades. His relentless pursuit of long-hidden links and evasive witnesses leads to his final denouement--a truly remarkable Cold War murder mystery played out on the shores of the Potomac.

If Peter is correct about Mary's execution and cover-up, then the CIA did not hesitate to throw away the life of an innocent black man, Ray Crump. That recklessness, all by itself, speaks volumes about the Cold War morals of the CIA.

The two highly compartmentalized NPIC episodes with the Zapruder film on successive nights (November 23 and 24, 1963) are profoundly alarming. Short of some degree of film alteration between those two dates, why else was this secret so highly guarded? After all, Dino Brugioni, who was on call that weekend for the NPIC, only learned of the second event after Peter told him about it! Furthermore, Brugioni's recollections are so at odds with the extant film that they also raise overwhelming suspicion of film tampering that same weekend.

With this book, Peter achieves a remarkable triumph--setting the historical stage (with many quotations and facts) for telling his personal story, which is so intertwined in this saga. Although it was a very different era--and that enemy spoke Russian--one can only wonder: With the current War on Terror, how much have the stratagems (and values) changed today?
1414 comments| 138 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 22, 2012
Imagine the scene in CIA headquarters, not long after the failed 1961 Bay of Pigs operation, when President John F. Kennedy fired CIA boss man Allen Dulles.

"Who does he think he is? Has anyone talked to Joe Kennedy? I never liked his kid. He's gone over the hill to the other side. First FDR -- now Jack Kennedy. You can't trust these guys once they get in office. We'd be better off bringing in a stooge like Nixon for the job."

Mary of the "Mosaic" was a member of the East Coast Elite -- the power structure of America. So was her ex-husband and CIA operative Cord Meyer (Yale 1942). So were John Kennedy (Harvard 1940) and his wife Jackie. So were the Dulles brothers (Princeton 1908 and 1916) and the Bush boys (Yale 1948 and 1968 - Skull and Bones). So was the bizarre CIA spymaster James Jesus Angleton (Yale 1941). So was the author of MARY'S MOSAIC, Peter Janney. And so was his father Wistar (a CIA operative). It was and is a cozy group that included those who control the dissemination of news information -- think Henry Luce of LIFE and TIME (Yale 1920) and Ben Bradlee of the WASHINGTON POST (Harvard 1942). Powerful people united by birth and wealth having virtually total control.

Mary Pinchot Meyer, the murdered woman, was attractive, intelligent, open-minded, and disdainful of the CIA. She had been married to Cord Meyer, a smart, but disgruntled man with a philosophical and visceral hatred of Mary's boyfriend -- JFK. Ultimately JFK is assassinated, and about a year later Mary is terminated. The book describes the backstory of the victims and theorizes about their killers convincingly.

Who are these people, the Elite that populate the positions of power in this country? -- certainly not "lone nuts" like Oswald or Sirhan -- and not Mafioso like Marcello and Giancana -- and not crazed "redneck" bigots like James Earl Ray -- nor labor leaders like Jimmy Hoffa. "The Elite", are the real kingpins. They own everything, including the political offices, the media, the corporations, and of course, the New United States Army -- the CIA, with its enormous white and black budgets, and expansive white and black operations.

MARY'S MOSAIC is a very interesting book in that it reveals (almost unintentionally) the nature of the rich and powerful in America. It exposes, quite simply, their arrogance. To them, people like John and Mary are expendable. And somebody like Raymond Crump (the designated patsy in the Mary murder) is totally insignificant.

Imagine the scene in Allen Dulles' office when he is "invited" by Lyndon to become one of the seven commissioners of the Warren Commission to "investigate" the murder of John F. Kennedy -- the man who fired him. Revenge is sweet.

MARY'S MOSAIC is another brick in the wall exposing the deceit, deception, and danger of "the Elite" - a wall of evidence that has grown so high and wide over the past fifty years that it is impossible for any reasonable person to ignore it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 2012
This book is written in such a way as to satisfy readers of fiction and nonfiction alike; it reads smooth like a novel, yet there is an abundance of footnotes well inserted with small numbers(yeah) so as not to distract from the cadence. I marvel at how clearly Janney presents the "facts" linking timelines from previously published books/articles/interviews where key characters clearly incriminated themselves and paved the way for this author to finally solve a murder left "dead" by the D.C. police.

The author tells this story from a very humanistic angle. You can feel his pain at the loss of his beloved young friend and then his mother - Mary Pinchot Meyer. As fate would have it, the author by birth appears to have been privy to more insight to this time and murder than previous researchers and writers of this case.

I was transported to the C & O Canal towpath where the murder takes place several times while reading Mary's Mosaic. The characters come alive, and at times some facts are hard to accept - how could any human being commit murder with no feeling of remorse or responsibility.

I was also frightened at times, thinking how we as Americans think our government holds itself to such a high standard; yet now, having lived during this time myself (the 1960's), I trusted everything I heard and read as a young adolescent. And now to read all of this plotting and lying makes me realize that to survive in a country such as ours, we need to understand why and how the "train went off the track".

Janney's book is a great beginning if you are prepared, and want to know the truth. This is a read that will haunt you, and leave you nowhere to hide. Be prepared to be shocked and entertained like no other Kennedy era book you have read.
22 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2017
This is a great read, full of Intrigues about the JFK assassination and that of mary pinchot. This book takes on twists and turns and reviting, it takes you through a journey through the unknown and a complete story about mary pinchot a woman that has been apart forgotten in time this book is well worth the read and I highly recommend it to anyone in what really happen that October day in 1964.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2016
Very provacative and compelling story. Huge amount of research, and insights into some history that is not well-known. However, the author makes also some huge assumptions and interpretations. For example, the assumption that a couple seen walking on the path must have been CIA operatives who were there to help coordinate the murder and escape of the true murderer. The author presents zero evidence to support this. Ditto that the CIA somehow knew what the accused suspect (Ronald Crump) would be wearing (a yellow jacket and golf cap) in advance, and made sure that these items were described by the "witness", and "found" by the police. The author suggests that Crump was a patsy chosen in advance. How? Crump was invisible prior to the murder. He was a laborer who lived in a completely different part of town, and had no connections to any of the people involved. He happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time, so his presence was purely accidental. There are purely suppositions on author's part, and seriously detract from the credibility of the overall story.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 21, 2016
I bought this for my husband who read it non stop. He enjoyed the detail of the book. I accidentally learned about Mary Meyer while googling a coworker named Mary Meyer. This opened a new world of research to a very interesting woman who was a contemporary of Jacqueline - a Vassar woman and a neighbor of the Kennedys. The web is scary as family members looked the other way while she was murdered. Cort Meyer covered his alibi so she could be liquidated in the name of "For God, For Yale and For Country". Pretty scary way to do in the mother of your children, and your ex-wife and know who caused her end.
Great book. It is a Mosaic and not one know who exactly did the deed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2016
My only complaint about this book is that the author got a bit repetitious in spot. Being an avid reader of anything to do with the JFK assassination, I found this book filled in some interesting gaps in my knowledge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2018
Wow! What a well written book about a murder mystery that was surrounded by the most incredible happenings involving President Kennedy's murder, the CIA and the Washington Post. This woman's murder is a revelation about our government from WW II to the 1960's involving the key power figures of the day!! Must Read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 19, 2016
despite the author's clear prejudice, this is a supremely interesting read, well-researched and provocative. I would have preferred his avoidance of pure speculation presented as evidence from time to time but, even with this flaw, he evokes a complex time in our national (and world) history and provides human detail. it is clear that he reveres his memories of Mary Pinchot Meyer and her kindness to him as a boy. if nothing else, he does her memory some justice. nothing undoes her tragic murder but this is a proper homage.

as for his conspiracy theory/ies, they are interesting enough to be entertaining and inoffensive even for a reader who does not subscribe to them. that said, Janney started out as an "insider" and he is able to share a great many details and possible scenarios as a result.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse