Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 92 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 104 reviews
on April 5, 2012
Nice book; hundreds of pages and lots of great information. Prima did such a good job with the ME1 and ME2 guides I ordered this one without checking the buyer's reviews. That will be the last time I make that mistake.

Sadly, the index is only fair at best, I could not find a decent table of contents and the weapon ratings (weight, capacity, etc...) are a bit off which make it difficult to use the descriptions as a reliable guide. There are a couple other items, like where they simply parrot the exact words one can read in game, but I want to keep this short.

Having played through ME3 twice before ordering the guide (wanted to see if I missed anything) it turned out I hit everything mentioned in the guide, and even matched several of the 'builds' for my NPC companions. It 'is' a nice book, but I doubt anyone that has played ME1 & 2 will need it. Even if you start with ME3, the forums are a better source of information, in my opinion.

Though I am not completely satisfied with my purchase, I am "OK" with it; hence the three of five stars.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
This guide covers the game really well. It hides spoilers by warning you, placing major spoilers upside-down, etc. It gives detailed step-by-step instructions on how to beat each mission in multiple ways, allowing you to play the game using brute force, long range sniping, stealth, or whatever combination is your fancy. The index is nicely done too, making it easy to navigate to any mission, system, weapon description, armor set, or combat type.

It loses one star for me because there is no additional information or opinion on things like weapons and armor, other than what is already in the game. Also, I think a plot synopsis would have been nice - you have to read through the entire mission walk-throughs to learn the plot details, and the plot sometimes gets lost in all the details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2016
A must-have for any serious fan of the Mass Effect trilogy. Great hardcover edition of the standard guide. Contains a few more pages of art and development details also mission from the standard edition. Would have liked a bit more content not available in the regular book. Also did not have the pinup of FemShep that was in the inside back cover of the regular edition. Otherwise a fantastic addition to any Mass Effect collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2012
This guide is a fantastic edition for anyone playing Mass Effect 3. It gives extreme details on all the story missions and side quests, helps you locate all the planets that need to be scanned for important items, and will give you a heads up on when to talk to your crew for important information and romance building. It also provides all necessary information for past characters that you run into and what their backstory is, also explaining how your game may differ if certain people haven't survived up til that point. The book lists every possible gun and power, and what all the upgrades will do for them. Multiplayer is also touched on, with detailed maps, descriptions of all classes and races, enemy information and tips on how to survive operations.
The hardcover is very thick and nice to look at, and the pages are also very thick, lamented and just look high quality. There are extra articles about the story of Mass Effect and the design and look of the game that make this a worthwhile purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
I was expecting it to let me know the consequences of various actions/decisions in the game. Instead it seems fully focused on describing the options for how get from point A to point B. It doesn't lay out who's best to put on your squad for a given mission. It is inferior to online forums.

Another big problem is that it doesn't cover the downloadable content.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
good maps and helps when I need to find something
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2016
The book arrived in great condition, and while I honestly don't necessarily need it to help with the game, I like having things like this. Besides, it would be quite helpful if I needed to quickly look something up and I had no access to the internet at the time. Since I have no read through it, I do not know how good of a guide it is, but it looks like it was put together well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
I have been using on-line walk throughs for the Mass Effect series and they have worked fine. I tried out this game guide just to see how well it compared. It is a quality, high gloss, soft-bound book and lots of pictures and screen captures. Basically all the information you need to do well in ME3 is there, but you have to rummage around to find it. Other game guides flow better and give you a more linear method of working through the scenarios and keeping track of what needs to be accomplished and what the game story options are. So I do recommend the guide, but also say you can do perfectly well just using a website reference and save the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
For a 430 page guide, this sure doesn't have a lot of useful information in it.

Pros:
Good description of all the (non dlc) weapons available in the game and what their stats look like when fully upgraded
Good description of skill tree upgrades

Cons:
The walkthrough is just screen captures and text. Not a single map, completely useless. It'll tell you approximate locations of where resources or weapons are, but you'll still spend a significant amount of time running around looking for it which really breaks up the continuity of the story (which is one of the greatest aspects of the ME series). Inexcusable, this is certainly a step down from the ME2 guide (which was 1/3 of the pages!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse