Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 28 reviews
on November 30, 2008
Whether your an avid or voracious reader or a writer, this class is worthwhile exploration of the craft of storytelling and great literature. If you're a writer needing to recharge your batteries, fill in some story holes on your screenplay (like I am), or build your writing skills, this is a great catalyst to push your character or story. At first glance, the subjects of discussion seem like the same old structure beats, but Sexton's examples throw new light on them. He uses examples from literature's best writers, with thorough, enlightening analysis. There's a lot of books on writing, but this one's a keeper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
As the author of seven published books, three under contract with a commercial publisher, two submitted for consideration and one in process, on the advice of a dear adviser, I bought this book to try to improve my writing. Although the books that McGraw-Hill published have had wide success and the ones that Vantage Publishing are too recent to have a sales history, I have always believed that authors can improve the impact of their work. This book is a gold mine of information about how to do that. I highly recommend it to both established authors and those new writers who hope to share their ideas and insights with the reading public.Master Class in Fiction Writing: Techniques from Austen, Hemingway, and Other Greats
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
This book breaks down the story into its important parts using great examples and explanations. I highly recommend the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2016
not only was this book helpful with educating me on the techniquesof writing, I enjoyed reading about some of the classic writers from our history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2017
I have really learned a lot from the information provided. I have been able to move through my writing with more confidence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2014
Once you have a structure to your story, this is a fantastic exploration of style. This book takes what Strunk & White started and expands, providing innumerable examples of true masters of prose.

This and John Truby's 'Anatomy of Story' are all you'll ever need to write a novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2016
It helped me. Had some very practical suggestions and lessons. I passed it on to my daughter now, with the hope that it will help her become a better writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2010
This book provides a first class elucidation of the essential craft elements of fiction. Ideal, I'm inclined to believe, not only for would-be fiction writers, but also for fiction readers who would enjoy to have their pleasure enhanced. Full of apposite analysis, advice and exemplification. Such a rewarding and satisfying experience. If it seems like something you might find useful or interesting, hesitate no more. Just get the book and read it. You will be well pleased you did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
An excellent work for any writer. It can teach the new writer and act as a refresher for an established writer. This is one of those books a writer keeps close at hand in case it's needed. Kind of like the Brief Penguin Handbook for writers. A good investment if you're writing fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
Solid approach to learning to write fiction by analyzing the methods of the masters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse