Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Alexa on Mobile PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 29 reviews
on September 6, 2017
I learned as much about Perl as I did about data structures and algorithms.

There are great examples of creating and accessing nested data structures, references, etc. as well as the map and sort that makes them really stand out. By the time you are half way through the book you'll be an expert in slicing and dicing any hierarchy of arrays, hashes, and references. Other books cover these topics, but using them with data structures and algorithms makes them really stick. I may never write a sort algorithm, but my code is much tidier now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2017
This is a great book with good coverage of important data structures and algorithms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2015
If you have to learn Perl in your production life for any reason, I think this book would be one of the best option that you can have. At least, you can enrich your knowledge of algorithms, and that is worth to pay for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2017
Excellent resource
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2015
Orwant. Monte Hall. Leonard Euler. Radix Sort. The Travelling Salesman Problem. B-Trees, Red-Black Trees, Bushier Trees. you might actually have to think! No, in fact you definitely will:

"you wrap in exponential time, and I'm Big O of log n"

If you don't understand that statement, well, monzy is cool, and this book will end the crumby state of affairs forever.

Once you read this, you can't go back.. you'll understand Algorithms sort of.. so be warned
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2013
I attend an Algorithms Design class, this book help me understand some of the topics I didn't recall clear on that class, having a lot of examples like in this book is what I needed to continue and become also a self-learner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
I bought this book as a christmas gift for a friend who is interested in IS type stuff. So far he says he is enjoying the book and learning a lot. Glad I got it for him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2015
Daaammmn! Way advanced, even the examples are a bit beyond my scope -- but once I get the fundamentals of Perl down, I'll delve into this further...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2012
It's another one of those useful blue O'Reilly books with an animal on the front. A wolf, in this case. This one starts with basic data structures in Perl and then presents reusable algorithms of increasing complexity. The authors intend it for two types of readers: "...those who want to cut and paste solutions and those who want to hone their programming skills." Attempting to serve both audiences, the authors attempt to be both practical and theoretical.

The book begins with basic and advanced data structures. The next series of chapters each address basic programming tasks such as sorting, searching, and working with sets, matrices, graphs, and strings. The final set of chapters is organized by topic area, covering geometric algorithms, number systems, number theory, cryptography, probability, statistics, and numerical analysis. A concluding appendix suggests additional readings.

The format and quality are familiar to readers of other O'Reilly books. It is a good, readable exploration of algorithms implemented in Perl. You will need to get the latest version of Perl on your own. No problems with that, either.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2017
As expected a broad overview of several areas with a few gems. I found particular value in the chapters on matrices, stats, and numerical methods.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse