BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Women's Coat Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



on June 29, 2013
This book has a wealth of valuable instruction for any water colour artist, regardless of experience. The advice is specific and clear and the quality of the illustrations is excellent. Any watercolourist who takes in and applies the advice it contains could hardly fail to improve as an artist.
I don't regret paying the price for this rare and highly sought after book.
Maggie
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
Some great demos, the man is a master of tone. Wish I could take or find a workshop to really understand his watercolor clock.
His paintings are inspiring.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2010
I love the paintings in the book. I find the "clock" method helpful for getting the correct paint to water ratio while painting watercolor. I think the book is way too expensive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2003
One of the most amazing things about this book besides it gorgeous illustrations is that it is not another cotton candy, trick laden, watercolor book by a workshop star.
The artist and the paintings are deep, challenging and beautifull though I am not thrilled by some color choices I am by the integrity and depth this fellow brings to a medium that can all too often be made into wall paper designs.
His work is not easily apporached or copied and that is refreshing and daunting at the same time. He says it best when he warns that skill can only come from work and not from tricks. It was an eye opener reading about the effects of dampness and the state of the pigments themselves.
I will be humbly working in his shadow for a loooooong while and loving evry moment.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
Excelente
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
I love this book. It is easy to use and understand. After wanting it for years am thrilled to own it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2010
Fantastic. The last word on watercolor by the Master himself. Gave it to my wife for her birthday and she hasn't put it down since. A truly exceptional book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
The author delivers an organized and practical approach to understanding the planning and execution of a watercolor painting. The categorizing of viscosity of paint and saturation of paper and the delicate exquisitely timed dance required to master his techniques is demonstrated. Works in progress deliver understanding and facilitate self paced study and practice. This book has remained open at my easel since its purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2009
Joseph Zbukvic is a talented artist and the works in the book are terrific. But you won't learn much from this book. His watercolor clock idea is perhaps a nice teaching aid but the basic idea- about using paper mositure and brush loading to good effect- is nothing you won't learn from very fundamental watercolor technique and just experimenting on your own. Having looked at Zbukvic's website and a video, I will say that he has one great hint: connect your shapes, and this is done using lost and found edges (let edges of some shapes be indistinct so shapes are connected). He also emphasizes values, but this is basic technique and no revelation.

I don't see the book as nearly worth the money (at more than $50). Alvaro Castagnet paints almost exactly like Zbukvic; I can barely tell them apart. Although Castagnet's book is nearly non-informative, get it for the images (at much less cost). I would also recommend one of Zbukvic's DVDs ([...]) as less expensive and probably overall more informative. For context, look at the Amercian Watercolor Society website and see the artists' links and the great variety of terrific watercolors, many of them polar opposites of Zbukvic in technique. Charles Reid has good basic instruction.
55 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2009
I have attended two workshops with the Artist and author and having the book is the like having the tutor in the room. My book arrived in amazing condition and in record time. I am very very happy with my purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse