Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Masterpieces of American Wit and Humor
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$21.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 17, 2010
This book, dated 1903, opens with an essay titled "A Plea for Humor," in which Agnes Repplier bemoans the contemporary craze for moral seriousness in all literature and argues for wit; the rest is a collection of humorous/witty stories, essays, poems (the poems are badly formatted, without line breaks) and excerpts. The table of contents (non-navigable) is as follows:

Agnes Repplier, "A Plea for Humor"
Marietta Holley, "An Unmarried Female"
Fitzhugh Ludlow, "Selections from a Brace of Boys"
Robert Jones Burdette, "Rheumatism Movement Cure"
Oliver Wendell Holmes, "An Aphorism and a Lecture"
Joshua S. Morris, "The Harp of a Thousand Strings"
Seba Smith, "My First Visit to Portland"
William Cullen Bryant, "The Mosquito"
John Carver, "Country Burial-Places"
Danforth Marble, "The Hoosier and the Salt-Pile"
Anne Bache, "The Quilting"
Fitz-Greene Halleck, "A Fragment / Domestic Happiness"
Charles F. Browne ("Artemus Ward"), "One of Mr. Ward's Business Letters / On 'Forts'"
James Russell Lowell, "Without and Within"
Louisa May Alcott, "Street Scenes in Washington"
Albert Bigelow Paine, "Mis' Smith"
James Jeffrey Roohe, "A Boston Lullaby"
Charles Graham Halpine, "Irish Astronomy"
Samuel Minturn Peok, "Bessie Brown, M.D."
Robert C. Sands, "A Monody"
Carolyn Wells, "The Poster Girl"
James Gardner Sanderson, "The Conundrum of the Golf Links"
Harriet Beecher Stowe, "The Minister's Wooing"
William Dean Howells, "Mrs. Johnson"
Anonymous, "The Trout, The Cat, and the Fox" / "The British Matron"
33 comments| 115 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2011
I enjoyed the book for it's humor and historical perspective. It was a glimpse into the mind of the past. Not at all like the humorous ebook entitled Life Seemed Good, But....
Thank you
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2010
I liked this book a lot. Its one you can just dip into and read little chunks at a time. Always liked the little short story format. If you like this, have a look at Simon Ashley Richmond's WRITE AGAIN VOL 1 a great little book of humorous excuses
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2012
this is the toc promised:
Agnes Repplier, "A Plea for Humor"
Marietta Holley, "An Unmarried Female"
Fitzhugh Ludlow, "Selections from a Brace of Boys"
Robert Jones Burdette, "Rheumatism Movement Cure"
Oliver Wendell Holmes, "An Aphorism and a Lecture"
Joshua S. Morris, "The Harp of a Thousand Strings"
Seba Smith, "My First Visit to Portland"
William Cullen Bryant, "The Mosquito"
John Carver, "Country Burial-Places"
Danforth Marble, "The Hoosier and the Salt-Pile"
Anne Bache, "The Quilting"
Fitz-Greene Halleck, "A Fragment / Domestic Happiness"
Charles F. Browne ("Artemus Ward"), "One of Mr. Ward's Business Letters / On 'Forts'"
James Russell Lowell, "Without and Within"
Louisa May Alcott, "Street Scenes in Washington"
Albert Bigelow Paine, "Mis' Smith"
James Jeffrey Roohe, "A Boston Lullaby"
Charles Graham Halpine, "Irish Astronomy"
Samuel Minturn Peok, "Bessie Brown, M.D."
Robert C. Sands, "A Monody"
Carolyn Wells, "The Poster Girl"
James Gardner Sanderson, "The Conundrum of the Golf Links"
Harriet Beecher Stowe, "The Minister's Wooing"
William Dean Howells, "Mrs. Johnson"
Anonymous, "The Trout, The Cat, and the Fox" / "The British Matron"

and this is the toc that arrived on my kindle:
THE LITTLE FRENCHMAN AND HIS WATER LOTS (1839) George Pope Morris
THE ANGEL OF THE ODD (1844) Edgar Allan Poe
THE SCHOOLMASTER'S PROGRESS (1844) Caroline M.S. Kirkland
THE WATKINSON EVENING (1846) Eliza Leslie
TITBOTTOM'S SPECTACLES (1854) George William Curtis
MY DOUBLE; AND HOW HE UNDID ME (1859) Edward Everett Hale
A VISIT TO THE ASYLUM FOR AGED AND DECAYED PUNSTERS (1861) Oliver Wendell Holmes
THE CELEBRATED JUMPING FROG OF CALAVERAS COUNTY (1865) Mark Twain
ELDER BROWN'S BACKSLIDE (1885) Harry Stillwell Edwards
THE HOTEL EXPERIENCE OF MR. PINK FLUKER (1886) Richard Malcolm Johnston
THE NICE PEOPLE (1890) Henry Cuyler Bunner
THE BULLER-PODINGTON COMPACT (1897) Frank Richard Stockton
COLONEL STARBOTTLE FOR THE PLAINTIFF (1901) Bret Harte
THE DUPLICITY OF HARGRAVES (1902) O. Henry
BARGAIN DAY AT TUTT HOUSE (1905) George Randolph Chester
A CALL (1906) Grace MacGowan Cooke
HOW THE WIDOW WON THE DEACON (1911) William James Lampton
GIDEON (1914) Wells Hastings

free is a great price. but truth in advertising should still apply. let the buyer beware ... with this kindle book you do not get what is promised.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
As a fan of Robert Benchley, I was thrilled to find this free book that claimed to contain the wit and humor of this American master... It does not, however, have anything written by Mr. Benchley, nor does it have anything remotely witty or humorous. (Unless Louisa May Alcott cracks you up!) Perhaps, before the turn of the last Century, this stuff passed as humor. If so, this is one clear measurement of the evolution of man, at least our sense of humor.

If you came to this book through the Robert Benchley link, I highly recommend The Benchley Roundup: A Selection by Nathaniel Benchley of his Favorites and My Ten Years in a Quandary and How They Grew.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
You wouldn't think the basics of wit and humor would have an expiration date. These laughs should have had a "Use by December 1890." Unless you are a latter day Victorian, I think you will be hard pressed to get many laughs out of these dusty pieces. Perhaps there's a reason these writings are in the public domain and free to print.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2012
I read books from the era this one was written in, as a matter of fact, almost all of the books that I read are from the late 1800's and early 1900's. I understand the way books in that era are written, and some of them are very funny. So this book has no excuse. Some of the stories (about 20% of them) were somewhat interesting and funny, but the rest of the "humor" was simply boring, a little uncouth, and would be considered (in the time period it was written in) to be vulgar. I would have given it one star if it wasn't for a couple of pretty good stories, paricularly the one about the bachelor uncle and the one entitled "The minister's wooing".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
I'm not sure if you will enjoy these old chestnuts unless you're a student of old time comedy. I really didn't care for this too much. But if you're bored with nothing to do on a Saturday night, give it a read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2014
I thought there were some James Thurber works in there when I downloaded it. Could not find anything by him. I had read this about 45-50 years ago, as a youngster.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2014
This is a remarkably short and bizarre compendium, not the least bit witty or humorous. I deleted it from my Kindle within minutes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse