Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Kidz Bop All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Today only: Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on March 22, 2017
A movie based on the eradication of the screwfly, except with humans. Joe Dante brings the short story by James Tiptree Jr. to life, a battle of the sexes with only one winner, and it certainly isn't us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2010
Love the way the horror sneaks up and rips the visceral trust out of the man/woman relationship! Beats all hell out of flyswatters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 22, 2015
An invasion of the body snatchers episode, very well done, good script, and perhaps, to me, the 2nd best episode in the series !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2012
me and my friend watched it and its a masters of horror film, so you get what you expect. very weird movie, WATCH IT!!!! Great price!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 28, 2008
The screwfly solution was rated R18 in Australia.
However it doen't have too many gory scenes to justify such a rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2007
I expected this to be good because I know that Joe Dante is an excellent director, but when I saw that it was based on a story by James Tiptree Jr., I sat up, because I knew this was going to be something REALLY extraordianary.

James Tiptree Jr. is one of the greatest science fiction writers of the latter part of the 20th Century. James Tiptree Jr. was also the nom de plume of Dr. Alice Sheldon (look for Tiptree's books on Amazon). Her writing was always psychologically complex and surprising. And this installment of MASTERS OF HORROR captured that, thanks to Dante's brilliance and Sam Hamm's great script.

It's made clear from the beginning that there is a parallel between our decimation of the screwfly/pest insect populations by disruption of their sexual cycles, and what is occuring to the human population in this story (at least it's clear to us, the audience). So this naturally begs the question: If we did that to the insects, who or what could be doing this to us?

The conclusion of this story is set up right from the beginning, is deepend, enhanced, and made more apparent throughout the telling of it. There is no cheap ending here. It is logical, inevitable, and horrible. Horrible for humans, anyway.

The dogs seem to like it.

It's important to keep in mind that this isn't a chainsaw hack-'em-up-er, or blood drinking beast fest, or a vengeful ghost mind twister. This is a story about the most terrifying monsters in the world: ordinary people who give in to the worst within themselves, thinking they're right, and good, and normal. Men who don't see other people (women) as human. And you have to pay attention.

Personally, this is my favorite episode so far in the series.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 18, 2010
This hour long episode had some blood, but wasn't a slasher film. A little sex and nudity, but wasn't a softcore production. It had some mystery and suspense, but not enough to make watching it a chore. It has humor, but wasn't a comedy. The acting was good with another fine performance from Gould. Nothing like a liberal family faced with the final solution and being forced to survive like red necks. Try not to get too attached to any of the main characters as most don't make it through the movie. The line I liked most was when the the teen girl says, "We should just nuke those f***ing ragheads." To wit the feminists reply, "Don't say ragheads." That one line is what separates real liberals from the rest of the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon September 18, 2007
The Screwfly Solution is an interesting take on the zombie genre. Jason Priestly and Eliot Gould star as scientists who have studied the effects of genetic engineering on screwflies. They are called in to assist when suddenly men start attacking and murdering women.

While the premise has only the slightest amount of believability, suspension of disbelief can be achieved. However, the idea that this is being done by some higher beings for some ulterior motives stretches beyond that point.

I like my horror grounded in reality or Earth-bound alternatives. I find that suddenly introducing a "sci fi" solution to an otherwise non-sci fi story to be a cheat; a cop out, if you will. But that's just me.

This isn't the worst of this series, but its also not the best: Coscarelli still holds that mantle: ....Mountin Road.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 13, 2011
As some might say, "Where would men be without women?"....this movies reply is "Still in the garden of Eden"

Spoilers
Spoilers
Spoilers

The movie is premised that an attack is perpetrated against the world, an attack that is so heinous that it will eventually destroy the human race. Men have contracted some type of disease whereby they are compelled to slaughter every women that they see, because men see themselves as the superior, and doing gods will, taking the world back to the days when it was only man and the creator, with no women. (Thus extinction of the human species because then there can be no procreation)...which is exactly it seems what the aliens that are taking over the planet want.

Further into the movie it can be construed that all the women are now dead, and the men have now turned to killing male children, and many will not like the ending of the movie due to the viewer just being left hanging in the end. Others might flog the movie for not being a true HORROR movie...as this film is from the masters of horror series, it is more like a sci-fi thriller.

In any case I definitely like this movie, it thinks outside the box, and is a refreshing story prompting me to look further and potentially buying the book that movie is based off of. I recommend this movie
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMEon November 7, 2008
Joe Dante (Gremlins, The Howling) helmed one of the best episodes during the first season of Masters of Horror with Homecoming, and does so once again with this second season episode, The Screwfly Solution. Based on the James Tiptree Jr. short story, The Screwfly Solution stars Jason Priestley and Elliott Gould as scientists Alan and Barney respectively; both of whom are caught in the middle of a virus epidemic that is causing men to viciously murder women in the name of God. Alan's wife (Kerry Norton) and teen daughter (Brenna O'Brien) soon find themselves in danger and treking across the country as the virus continues to spread, leading them all to wonder just what, or who, is responsible. Unlike Homecoming, which was thought provoking while still a bit comical, The Screwfly Solution is profoundly disturbing and features some truly horrifying moments. That being said, The Screwfly Solution is easily one of the best offerings in the otherwise sub-par second season of Masters of Horror, and is more than worth the trip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse