Kindle Price: $5.99

Save $18.96 (76%)

kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
Matchmaking for Beginners: A Novel by [Dawson, Maddie]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Matchmaking for Beginners: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 1,559 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 378 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Amazon First Reads
Get early access to editors' picks at exclusive prices. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



From the Editor

As a perpetually skeptical person self-diagnosed with early-onset grumpiness, I found a cure in Matchmaking for Beginners for what was ailing me. This book’s sparkling wit and charm had me from page one. Author Maddie Dawson has a gift for conjuring up entirely original characters and plunking them down in unusual circumstances. Here we have a naive, jilted bride from the Florida suburbs, a cynical recluse hiding from life, a bunch of Brooklyn misfits, plus a stray dog named Bedford. Each find love and a place to call home—all thanks to an ornery octogenarian named Blix.

When Maddie and I first started talking about the book, it had nothing to do with any of the above. It was a completely different premise. But in the course of writing, Maddie came under the spell of Blix and couldn’t turn away. Blix has that effect on people. She’s incorrigible and irresistible.

No matter how much I tried to shake Blix’s magic, I couldn’t. She enchanted me and ultimately made me question my curmudgeonly ways. Life’s much too short to be hollering at the neighbor kids to get off my lawn, right? Thank you, Maddie, and thank you, Blix—glass now half-full!

- Jodi Warshaw, Editor

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A charming read…For fans of Liane Moriarty’s What Alice Forgot or Aimee Bender’s The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake.” Library Journal

“A delightful, light-as-air romance that successfully straddles the line between sweet and smart without ever being silly…The novel is simply captivating from beginning to end.” —Associated Press

Matchmaking for Beginners is lovely from the inside out.” —HelloGiggles

“Infused with the kind of magic so frequently lost as we become adults, this one-of-a-kind novel pushes the boundaries of coincidence and connection by asking us to believe in fate and, possibly, magic once again. The characters jump off the page with their quirky habits and capture hearts with their meaningful development and interactions, leading to moments that will bring readers to tears one minute and having them laughing out loud the next.” —RT Book Reviews (Top Rated)

“I can’t remember the last time I loved the characters of a novel as much I loved those in Matchmaking for Beginners. Maddie Dawson has spun a story as magical as her delightful protagonist, Blix, who can’t help but cause chaos as she brings the right people together in the most unconventional ways. Every page of this novel was a joy to read.” —Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Life and Other Near-Death Experiences and Woman Last Seen in Her Thirties

Matchmaking for Beginners walked straight into my heart, trailing a shower of golden sparkles. Dawson has created a magical world inhabited by characters so engaging and real it seems plausible they might drop by for a cup of coffee. By turns funny, wise, and poignant, this is a story about falling in love—with the painful, messy, joyful business of living.” —Kerry Anne King, bestselling author of Closer Home and I Wish You Happy

“This is a story of love: both unrequited and reciprocated romantic love, and the sweet love of a friendship that forms between two women at opposite ends of their lives. It’s a gem of a book, written with warmth, humor, and suspense, a testament to the truth that love is everything.” —Nancy Star, bestselling author of Sisters One, Two, Three

Matchmaking for Beginners is a flat-out delight! Maddie Dawson is a master at creating compulsively readable stories, full of heart and wit, and the kind of characters we wish were real. (Everyone should be blessed with a great-aunt Blix!) I loved every moment of this quirky, charming, feel-good novel!” —Jen Lancaster, New York Times bestselling author of Bitter Is the New Black and The Tao of Martha

About the Author

Maddie Dawson grew up in the South, born into a family of outrageous storytellers. Her various careers as a substitute English teacher, department-store clerk, medical-records typist, waitress, cat sitter, wedding-invitation-company receptionist, nanny, day care worker, electrocardiogram technician, and Taco Bell taco maker were made bearable by thinking up stories as she worked. Today she lives in Guilford, Connecticut, with her husband. She’s the bestselling author of five previous novels: The Survivor’s Guide to Family Happiness, The Opposite of Maybe, The Stuff That Never Happened, Kissing Games of the World, and A Piece of Normal.


Product details

  • File Size: 3228 KB
  • Print Length: 378 pages
  • Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (June 1, 2018)
  • Publication Date: June 1, 2018
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B076CJX3YN
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #19 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

May 1, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
264 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 1, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
149 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 4, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
50 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 4, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
42 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 3, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 13, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Matchmaking for Beginners: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Matchmaking for Beginners: A Novel