Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$13.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 488 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 613 reviews
on May 18, 2015
Intrigue and humor combined -- you can't beat the combination. I had seen bits and pieces on TV but never the entire movie. So, now I have & I can watch it over & over. Riverboats, to me, capture the essence of the Old South and gambling just goes along with the ride. The main actors and actress are some of my favorite performers but one sees other familiar faces of less popular actors in the large gambling event. Mel Gibson, in this part, is less intense than some of the other movies he has starred in Braveheart and The Patriot]. This movie shows that he can play a more comical character. I'm surpised that Jodie Foster isn't given more recognition for her part; she plays the Southern Belle very well. James Garner and James Coburn -- well their many years of acting attest to their abilities.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2015
Lethal Weapon director Richard Donner once again teams up with Mel Gibson (with a hilarious cameo from Danny Glover) to bring TV's classic character Brett Maverick to life on the big screen. In a departure from the usual loss-of-love-leads-to-revenge action picture, here Gibson shows off his comedic talents with ample support from Jodi Foster (in one of her best performances) and James Garner (who played Maverick on TV and a retired law-man here), not to mention a who's who of classic western cameos ranging from The Magnificent Seven's James Coburn to Dances with Wolves' Graham Greene to Dub Taylor (the old guy who had bit parts in everything from Them! to Mr. Smith Goes to Washington to Support Your Local Gunfighter to Gunsmoke and Back to the Future 3), and that's only a few; previous Donner alumni like Corey Feldman show up amongst a host of familiar faces from singers to screenwriters. But there's still plenty of action too; fist-fights, a shoot-out, a tribute to veteran stuntman Yamica Canutt's horse-hopping escapades in Stagecoach, and even a daring riverboat heist. And that's doesn't even cover all the great gambling scenes too, which teach you about "tells", mental stamina, and a few other tricks of the trade. There's double-crosses, deviousness, thievery, mayhem, and romance! Truly a rollicking western packed to the brim with aces, and a triple-climax of an ending that should leave audiences more than satisfied. It might not be a standard shoot-em-up, but its family-friendly, incredibly fun, and one of the few GREAT westerns in modern times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2015
This movie is really good: funny, interesting, just enough action. Furthermore, while the DVD transfer was grainy and terrible, the Blu-ray version is perfect. The image takes up the entire 16x9 frame (DVD was boxed in on all sides) and has little to no graininess to it: a little is to be expected for a 90s movie from before digital recording because film does degrade.

For some reason this movie is not priced consistently with other movies of its age. It should be at least $5 cheaper. Still, it is worth the money for as good of a movie as this is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
This is one of those rare movies that is better than it should be. I've watched it a dozen times and still get a big kick out of it and everybody I've showed it to has made a point of letting me know they enjoyed it, too.

Richard Donner directed a mild spoof of the old TV series that starred James Garner and Jack Kelly as the brothers Maverick, gamblers in the old wild west.

This remake stars Mel Gibson, as brother Bret, but brother Bart is nowhere to be seen. Gibson, we learn, is heading for what is, for lack of a better term, "the World Series of Poker" and needs to come by an extra $5,000 to make his entry fee. On the way he has many adventures that make up the story. Somebody is trying to keep Maverick from getting to the big game, but who? There are many twists and turns and the final outcome is hard to predict as it so well played out by all and sundry.

Maverick, of course, is Mel Gibson - his main support is provided by fellow gambler Jodie Foster, who plays a disarmingly charming yet deadly wench. On the other side we have veteran James Garner, the original Maverick from the TV series. Garner is Marshall Zane Cooper, who guards the $500,000 in entry fees. Alfred Molina plays a tough hombre who seems to be stalking Maverick.

The supporting cast is almost a who's who of old western movie stars like James Coburn, Denver Pyle, William Smith, Doug McClure, and Dub Taylor. You'll doubtless spot more familiar faces as even Mel's "Lethal Weapon" partner Danny Glover gets into the act in a laugh out loud moment. Superior kudos must go to Graham Green, who plays a Plains Indian who is a scamming partner of Maverick's. Their antics alone are worth the price of admission.

When you need a laugh, Maverick is a movie that will always come through. Good for the entire family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
Enjoyed this time as much as all the other times watching it.
Good story, great chemistry between the actors ( great cast! ).
Great locations, cinematography.
I am jealous you get to watch it it for the first time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2017
A childhood favorite of mine. Back when Mel Gibson was hot, and Jodi Foster played a southern belle. This is a comedy, which comes as a surprise to some people. Definitely worth a couple bucks to rent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
I have seen a lot of Mel Gibson movies over the years, and along with Braveheart, I firmly believe this is him at his best. He's a very different character here - a sly con artist and card shark. However, with a strong supporting cast and some very witty lines, this movie comes together very nicely. This is not your typical short comedy, and it has a lot of plot mixed in with sub-plots...James Coburn, Jodi Foster, James Garner (the original Maverick, for those of you who do not know about the classic TV series), and Alfred Molina provide depth and an amazing cast. Paul L. Smith has a funny appearance as "the Archduke" (I recognized him from Haunted Honeymoon right away) and Graham Greene, who was in Thunderheart (one of Val Kilmer's best) and played a cop in Die Hard with a Vengeance, has a memorable role as a 'friend' of Maverick's.

The dynamic between Foster and Gibson is excellent, as each cares about the other, but is similarly (or seemingly) most interested in winning a championship poker game - with its own hefty buy-in. Coming up with the money for the entrance into said tournament leads to a lot of funny scenes, and everything just clicks in this movie. The writing, directing, soundtrack, etc. are all very good, and this movie is sort of its own niche. There are not a ton of western comedies, to my knowledge, and this movie is just oozing with charm. Foster has seldom been sharper, save maybe Silence of the Lambs, Gibson has seldom been funnier, and the supporting crew is definitely one for the ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
Those of us who grew up watching James Garner and Jack Kelly do Bret and Bart Maverick respectively have soft spots in our hearts for this movie version of that series. I love this movie. It is one of those movies that you can watch over and over again, and not tire of it. I rented it because my only copy is in VHS! I think it is time to buy the DVD version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2017
the movie it great but I had to give a 4 star because we have not yet watched the dvd and don't know if it's damaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2006
I was just a kid when Maverick was on television but I still remember how it was a must see for my parents. Despite a couple of reviews saying that this was just three episodes I bought it and saying that it was the most rewarding purchase I've ever made here is an understatement. Go back to the good old days when shows could be clever, when good writing kept an audience rivited with humor or mystery or romance and they didn't need graphic displays of sex or violence to do it. These three episodes of Maverick were so funny I could not stop laughing even after rewatching them several times. They are intellegent, imaginative, timelessly fresh, "Pappy's" sayings are always apropos and yet even a child can get a kick out of the stories. I recommend these and hope that Warner comes out with the full run of the shows because I will certainly buy them.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse