Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Russell Dickerson PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition $99.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Max Payne 3 - Playstation 3
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$16.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 5, 2016
Fairly new to the franchise but I am familiar with the story. You see when this franchise came out I was more focused on fighting and racing games at the time. Well to start off the game is well done. It reminds me a bit of a better made Kane and Lynch. The things missing in those 3rd person shooters. Max payne 3 has them. The mechanics are fun and simple. As for the story, the story feels more of a dlc story mainly because its not a major factor. *spoilers* max could have avoided a lot of the scenarios. But then again he is like a hire bodyguard. The shooting galleries are well done and not bland as other games like uncharted. The bullet holes are fun to look at during slo mo sequences. The length of the game is about 8-9 hours long. Its a satisfying play through even though the ending of the game is a bit "meh" overall you can feel max paynes feels during the narrations and the voice acting is well done. Overall the game is pretty cheap 10 dollars worth. Even the game would be worth the retail price of 30. The guns in the game dont seem like there is any difference. Most of the time youll be gunning with two automatic pistols (max paynes usual picked guns) theres a nice variety, not a lot though. But a decet amount. Nonetheless its a nice 3rd persom shooter that foesnt disappoint
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2013
This game brings Max Payne back to the gritty, dark world that he was famous for in the first game. Rockstar knows how to make these types of games, and Max Payne 3 shows. The story is nothing out of this world, but very detailed and believable. The gameplay is easy to get used to quickly, and the fight scenes and gun battles are very intense. This game is rated M for a reason - the language and some of the story elements are definitely for adults only. It was a good game to play from start to finish, akin to a dark action movie you'd see at the theater.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
Hired as a bodyguard to babysit a bunch of rich people in Brazil, things go from bad to worse as the boss's wife is kidnapped and Max Payne is drinking at the bar. In this game, you'll plow your way through hundreds upon thousands of enemy thugs in this movie meets video game hybrid. Imagine Scarface if directed by 90's era John Woo. In addition to the wonderful voice acting and narration, this game has an impressive musical soundtrack that should not go unnoticed. While most gamers will come for the action or storytelling, take the time to listen to the music, I really liked the way the drums and synthesizer were used to match every scene in the game. I suppose this makes sense since Max Payne 3 feels every as much like a movie as a video game. Also, the gun fights in the game are absolutely hilarious, this is on international incident scale here, as Max Payne will take out several small armies on his march through the game, and the cops apparently don't hear any of this.

If you enjoy duck and cover style action games, be sure to check this one out.

Overall, I thought Max Payne 3 is a nice story-driven game with good action and good music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
i won't get too far into the quality of most of the game. it's a solid game, overall. good graphics, strong narrative. rockstar dumped some of the noir aesthetic and picked up a more man on fire-like theme w/ its flashing text and latin setting. the gunplay isn't very interesting but bullet time i find is almost always fun. despite losing some of the max payne "look," i think it is still very much a max payne game

so why is the game unpolished? these two things irritate me and happen frequently:

i don't know if all ps3 users experience it, but i frequently experience a bug that disables most of max's actions, including shooting and moving, when he is behind cover. i have to wait to die or reload the checkpoint to make the game playable again. playing on harder difficulties can be very frustrating since i have had well-executed fights turn around on me because of this bug. supposedly, this bug was fixed on the 27th of november, but i still experience it.

the bullet time on death feature is annoying and not well thought out. if you take enough damage to kill you, you can be given the opportunity to shoot your would-be killer and instead of you dying, he will die. you will consume painkillers automatically. what is annoying is that the game puts you into what seems like an uncontrolled dive (you cant pick the direction), so when you kill the target, you're in motion when coming out of the kill. i've actually been slammed into walls several times or have been put right into direct fire because of this feature. you lose control for a brief period if you hit a wall, and you can end up taking more damage or dying anyway. also, if you go into the dive with an empty or near-empty clip, you cannot reload and will eventually die anyway. the bullet time dive will just make you take 5-8 seconds longer to restart the checkpoint unless you force it from the start menu.

i have also experienced a bug that required me to quit the game and reload the save in order to progress the storyline. i've read about more bugs that inconvenience the player in this way but i haven't experienced them. mostly, i am forgiving of stuff like this but the game obviously needed more testing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
Maybe I didn't like this game as much as I thought I would because being a big Max Payne fan, this one definitely felt different than the first two. Graphics are superb, I was actually very very impressed with the graphics here. While the game is still a hell of a lot of fun, I just miss the old Max Payne. Oh, and if you're one of those people who for whatever reason doesn't like cutscenes well you're going to hate this game. Imagine game play for a good 2-10 minutes, then a cutscene to mask the loading screen. I personally enjoy cutscenes if they're done well. So that was not a nuisance for me. I only realized this when watching TotalBiscuit's WTF Is video of this game. Gameplay is fun here with a story that's almost straight out of the 80's era of over the top action movies. Basically, it's a fun game and definitely worth the price. Another great game brought to you by Rockstar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
This is actually a rather difficult game, prepare yourself and don't feel bad if you want to turn the difficulty down because it is one of those more difficult games even on a regular setting. As far as the faults I noticed, it was very annoying not to be able to skip cutscenes. Being able to skip through certain segments of each chapter is nice to help fix this BUT, they have no sort of sub menu that lets you know where you'll be starting. So you want to pick up that golden gun piece in the middle of the chapter? Good luck guessing where to jump in unless you check online. Other than that, this was a worthwhile experience. AMAZING soundtrack by the way, be sure to check that out when you can. I never got into the online personally but I've heard good things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
Everyone that knows May Payne story from the beginning knows about his wife and daughter and of course Mona Sax. Mona Sax is NOT in the game. Max Payne has to protect people rich or poor and go out in style with bullet time, collect golden gun pieces to open other extra features in the game itself. The graphics are outstanding and the game overall storyline is what you expect it to be "Recusing the damsel in distress" like Max Payne would say. I love this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2016
this game is hard and its not as good as grand theft series in my opinion. but its still a decent game and i got it used for cheap so it was worth it.

i die a LOT and use a lot of lives/tries for each mission.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2012
Rockstar's next big game is here, but is it worth it? This is my first game purchase of 2012 and I'm glad I bought it. Max Payne 3 is great in terms of story, characters, and atmosphere, but the gameplay can be really good or bad at times. This game does have some issues but you should still give it a shot (no pun intended).

Story- Without spoiling anything the story takes place with Max entering his new apartment. He starts drinking, popping pills, weeping over his dead family, etc. You can tell Max has a lot of issues. He works for a rich family in Brazil, but mainly he works with one brother, Rodrigo Branco, and his wife in São Paulo. After Rodrigo 's wife is kidnapped Max goes on a hunt for her and discovers darker secrets of the city. I was always interested in the next cutscene to see where the story was going.

Graphics- If you couldn't tell already the graphics are amazing. You feel like your actually in Brazil/New Jersey. The sunlight, slum-like buildings, kids playing soccer, water, bullets, blood, and so on. Max's animations are also great with every reload, jump, twist etc. The cutscenes also look great with a blurring effect adding to them. I should note there was some pop in from time to time. The worst time was when I entered a room and Max was stuck on an invisible wall. All of a sudden 4 pillars popped up out of nowhere.

Gameplay- As I noted before the gameplay can be good or bad. The good things are you can use Bullet Time to slow time down and shoot certain body parts(heads). Some parts of the game take place in a moving boat, or ridding a bus which keep the game interesting. Flashback moments, which take Max back to New Jersey are also fun to play through. The enemy AI is also some of the best I've ever played against. The downside is that there are many moments in the game where the AI goes from being a fun challenge to a difficult nightmare. You'll have guys in full armor running at you from every angle. Worse than this is I'll have just killed every member of a group but 1, I'll have a spec of health left and a few bullets, so when you pop out of cover your shot in the head immediately by the last guy who stayed in cover. The checkpoint system is sometimes unforgiving. You get to the end of some docks, after just killing hundreds of guy and die, which will restart you at the beginning of the docks. Also the last shootout/boss is the toughest fight ever. It took me 15-20 tries on normal before I got lucky.

Sound- Great. The voice actors did a great job and made every character feel real. The soundtrack is also great like, many other Rockstar Games. One giant shootout level had the song "Tears" playing in the background, which made the fight feel real intense.

Overall- Max Payne 3 is a great game. It shines in terms of story, characters, and atmosphere. It's flaws are in it's unforgiving checkpoint system, enemy AI spiking, and ridiculous final fight. It might not compete with Rockstar's other games like Red Dead Redemption or GTA 4, but it's still a great way to start your 2012 gaming and another great game from Rockstar.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2016
This game looks great and the shooting mechanics are fine but the game doesn't let you play much besides the shoot outs... The story is interesting if a little cliché and drives the game. I wish I had more liberty to explore and play at my own pace but that's not what they were going for. Haven't played the multiplayer as I don't really care for that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here