Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 115 reviews
on January 18, 2014
I read some reviews that this book contains too much engineering math. It's "techy". Well those folks that fear a high school calculator and rather squander their money on questionable upgrades for a dyno queen needn't buy this book. Go with what your mechanic guy told you.

Those that aspire to develop a upgraded turbo system with confidence of achieving a well-balanced result this is the book for you. In fact I believe this book isn't techy enough as much of the empirical date upon which these methods are based are not well documented. Nevertheless deriving everything down to bare bones fundamentals is not the intent of the book. It's intended to provide you with a solid foundation on how to develop or refine a turbo system.

Especially interesting for me was learning why turbo charging doesn't significantly challenge a non-turbocharged engine internals. Increasing an engine output by 50-200hp doesn't much hurt the engine? That's not obvious. And comforting learning what needs to be done to build in reliability -- something most gearheads aren't too interested in.

Some folks complain that the book is old fashioned because it referenced turbo carburatored systems. That's not old fashioned, that's being thorough in accommodating those folks interested in safely turbocharging their beloved naturally aspirated car. I'm not one of them but I respect the effort of Corky and hobbyists going down this path. At least this book gives you the tools to make necessary comparisons to the usually less attractive option of re-engining the whole car. Don't need it? Don't read it. It's only about 10% of the book anyway.

This book nicely compliments Graham Bell's Forced Induction book. It's not a substitute. I strongly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2008
Wow! Just what I was looking for. Corky has put together a collection of formulas and uncommon sense that is needed to design and build turbo systems. I love it.

I used this book to create an Excel worksheet full of needed design formulas. I can now make tradeoffs and design decisions before I build it, and I have a much better chance of getting what I expect, without a bunch of cut and try and try again attempts.

Corky's book will be a huge help to me, and I imagine it will be to you as well. This may not be the book for someone who is afraid of math, or who does not want to understand something. This book is not a cookbook approach, rather, it is a chef school delivering the reader with enough information to "cook up" his own turbo creation.

If you want the ability and confidence to design and build system that work, and that work the first time, this book will help you.

Gene
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
This book does a great job of guiding you through the working concepts of a turbo system from start to finish, providing a baseline understanding of all of the related concepts and design aspects. It lies in the often deserted landscape between a high level overview of a subject, and a dry technical engineering manual. It can easily be read for pleasure if you're someone who's technically inclined and interested in the automotive world, even if you never plan on owning or modifying a turbocharged car.

This has long been known as a great work in the auto world, and while some aspects may be a bit dated, the theory is as true today as it ever was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2017
excellent reference
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2017
as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
This is a great way to get into the world of turbocharging, almost a must-read in fact. Though much of the information is dated, a turbocharger is still a turbocharger and this will give you a very good idea of where to start. It does not make specific recommendations for engines or combinations, but rather gives you a good starting knowledge upon which you can build. If you're thinking about adding a "hairdryer" to your engine, this is the place to start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2003
This book is very well written. It handles a lot of the basic turbo knowledge that most enthusiast's need to know. What was dissapointing was that there is no real turbo sizing theory, fan blade effientcy equations or a lot of detail in a few other areas. None the less, the book is only about turbo systems and is the easiest to read. This is a great book to read. You may also want to get "Turbochargers" from Hugh MacInnes, it's also a must have, but is out of date and is not very useful on the modern EFI machines. I do like "Force Induction" by A. Graham Bell. A book that is much more knowlegable on the subject of performance turbos. It's always a good idea to get opinions of other great writers.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2014
this book is a turbo bible. this isnt just a book that you can read and blam you know about turbo. this is an in depth guide with clearand precise mathematics involved. im glad they have books out like this to inform people the right way of installing turbo and building turbos!. now its time to turbo my lawnmower maybe it will go faster!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2008
Mr. Bell continues to produce excellent information on auto engine modifications in this book. The only suggestion I would make is an update to the book to include sections on the latest technology coming out of the manufactures today like Direct Injection and ECU's with advanced mico processor technology.

Mr. Bell explains the turbocharger and systems associated with turbochargers in a very detailed and easy to understand format and I would highly recommend this book to both the DIY novice and the experienced gear head but not a person who is looking to advance their engineering knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2016
Meh. I learned some stuff, but overall I'd prefer a book that was a tad more technical. It's a little too general of a book to really do much with. Good but not great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse