Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 34 reviews
on January 2, 2014
I've read through this book twice now and have found it just as applicable and helpful as the first time, though I find myself in a different place spiritually. This is not your ordinary "call to arms" book that is being mass-produced by the evangelical church of late. This is a research-based examination of the stages of faith most Christians encounter on their spiritual journey. But beyond the research, Barna has included a fictionalized example of what a more purposeful spiritual walk might look like. At the heart of that walk is brokenness and surrender. I find this book immensely helpful without being preachy or condescending. It is challenging without being accusatory. It is motivational without the need for pithy one-liners. It is dramatization without being campy and sappy. It is a book to PURCHASE, not borrow, because you will want to go back to its insights over and over again as you assess, reassess, and move through your own faith story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2017
This is an eye-opening look at the Christian walk of faith. It has made me realize how complacent I've been in my faith walk. It also exposes your heart and motives. There is such a surface treatment of what it really means to be a Christian by so many in the church. I want to go beyond! but it's so hard. Until we are completely broken, I feel not many of us will experience the true life God has called us to!

Some of the writing is cheesy, but if you can set that aside, there is true value in his writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
Barna's six year quest to discover what it means to be a Christian is well researched. The Faith has been watered down so much, most people who call themselves "Christian" do not understand who they really are nor how to become that person. Barna examines people, not the numerous denominations, in an understandable way that makes it easy to find where you are in your spiritual journey. If you desire to be completely transformed, then every person who desires to become a saint should take the findings in the book to heart because we are all there someplace. Unfortunately, too many "Christians" get wrapped up doing "works" and have not allowed their faith to be their guide. The Holy Spirit is alive and well and would like to aid you in your maturation of your humanity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2017
Great book to read and discuss with friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
George Barna has provided a deeper understanding of the needs of church leadership and responsibility in this book. What would happen if we truly lead our people to live as a community fully devoted to changing our world through a profound love for God and a profound love for people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2013
George Barna charts the Christian journey from ignorance of sin all the way to complete love in a compelling compilation of research that is both eye-opening and convicting. Every pastor should have the information contained in this book to understand where his congregation is and where they are stuck in their journey toward God.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
George Barna adeptly sifts out and refines what it truly takes to go deeper with God. God used this book to create in me a hunger for more! Read it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2013
Good biblical basis! Excellent research shows steps the typical person takes on their transformational journey. Allows you to make a realistic assessment where your soul needs to focus next. Also includes some very practical examples of thought processes for aligning your heart with God's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2017
A very thought provoking and sobering read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
Barna's research and analysis are not only enlightening, they are encouraging and inspiring. But also discouraging as so many fail to press on in to God. A good springboard for intercessory prayer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse