Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Prime exclusive: $24.99 for a limited time Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon marchmadness marchmadness marchmadness  Echo Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
May the Best Man Die (Carnegie Kincaid, Book 3)
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on October 27, 2003
I had almost quit reading this series after the first book which I did not particularly like, but decided to continue with the other two books that were available and now that I have read the third book, May The Best Man Die, I'm glad that I did. This book I believe is a great improvement over the first two books.

Veiled Threats: Carnegie Kincaid is a wedding planner who seems to have a murder along with each of her events. I would think clients would be reluctant to continue coming to her. I knew who the killer was almost from the beginning of the book and the plot was so convoluted I wished everyone had been killed by the end.

Died To Match: The second book was a slight improvement in that the mystery was much more interesting, but was ruined by what I thought a not very well thought out killer. Even when the book was over, I didn't believe who the killer was.

I wasn't sure I wanted to tackle the third book, but it turned out to be very good. The mystery was interesting, the killer was a complete surprise but fitted in perfectly with the storyline. I love the relationship between Carnegie and Aaron her on again / off again reporter boyfriend. She has some great supporting people, Boris the florist, Her best friend Lily and the hilarious Buckmeister family, whose first appeared in Died to Match and are still planning their daughter's Christmas wedding in this book. The plans for this wedding gives new meaning to the word tacky.

Even though I didn't find the first two books to be very good, I think it's important to start with them, because they do give you a real feel of the characters, their backgrounds and explanations as to why they are doing certains things in later books.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2004
Deborah Donnelly has a great series with her sleuth/wedding planner - Carnegie Kincaid. The plot/subplots are great and her wedding and party planning ideas are pretty good as well.
I would not have missed reading about the Christmas wedding for anything. The "Killer B's" were great. I am going to miss them and hope that somehow they'll be included in the next book if only slightly. (Kind of how the southern Sheriff always managed to appear SOMEWHERE in the James Bond movies.)
This is not a "gruesome" murder series. It is a joy to find another great read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2017
Carnegie Kincaid, a Seattle based wedding planner, is not in the mood for a last minute call to a stag party, but when funds are running low she will do what she needs to do to keep a bridezilla, and her wealthy mother happy, and her business afloat. Ok, that is a play on words since her business in run out of a houseboat when it is not being quarantined over repairs.

You would think that keeping two holiday weddings on track would be the most difficult parts of Carnegie’s life, but you would be wrong. The whole idea of juggling brides, grooms, family members, florists, caterers and a whole flux of details straight pales in comparison to juggling two men and a couple of dead bodies.

It does not help that she is a pseudo witness when she peers through binoculars and sees a fight breakout between two guests, but when one is found in the canal the next morning and the other is the brother of her best friend, things heat up quickly.

Add in a corporate merger that has way too many twisty parts and an ending that seems pulled out of nowhere and you have the third book in the Carnegie Kincaid series. This is an older series that I had started years ago and had forgotten about. There are parts that stand the test of time, but other parts that did not age well. Since this book is the midway point in the series, I will trudge on when I can, but I will not be rushing for the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon September 23, 2005
Carnegie Kincaid is a wedding planner in Seattle. Normally she doesn't plan stag parties. She plans weddings. But, her new client insisted. After she left the party, she ends up looking through binoculars to watch the party. Why? Her significant other, although they're currently having trouble, is at the party. What she doesn't know is that a killer is there, too.

The next day the best man is pulled from the canal. Who could have killed him? What did she see in those binoculars? Anything important? After she tells police what she saw and gets a friend in trouble, she decides she'd better look into things herself before telling them anything else. She gets Aaron, her significant other, to help her.

Not only does she have this New Year's Eve wedding to be planning, she has another Christmas wedding to plan. And now Ivy, the mother of the bride for the New Year's Eve wedding, has asked her to plan another party.

Since the murder is related to that wedding, she wants to spend as much time as possible with the parties to try to determine who could have been the murderer. Can she do that before anyone else is murdered, including herself? Plus what about her new love interest? Will this muddy the waters?

Carnegie is a great character. She is a lot of fun, and she gets herself into predicaments throughout the book. I felt it was a very believable story, and a lot of fun to read. I can't wait to read more.

I am originally from Washington State, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading a book set in Seattle. I think the author does a great job of weaving the wedding planning and the sleuthing.

I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon January 21, 2005
Seattle-based wedding planner Carnegie Kincaid has a lot on her plate. Dry rot has forced a temporary evacuation of her home and office, a rented houseboat moored on the east shore of Washington's Lake Union, and from her interim quarters she is overseeing the final preparations for two end-of-year nuptials. Preparations for the Buckmeister/Frost Christmas Eve wedding aren't unusually problematic, but the blowout Carnegie's planning for New Year's Eve proves to be a trial. For one thing, bride-to-be Sally Tyler--the daughter of renowned conductor Charles Tyler and his superstar CEO wife Ivy--is a spoiled rich girl with the people skills to match. For another, the groom's disagreeable best man turns up dead the morning after the bachelor party, and Carnegie--spying on the debauch for her own reasons through a pair of binoculars--may have witnessed the prelude to his murder.

May the Best Man Die is the third book in Deborah Donnelly's series of Wedding Planner Mysteries. (I have not read the first two books in the series but plan to remedy that fault.) It's a tightly-plotted mystery with a likable protagonist and good, breezy writing: "So, roundly cursing Ms. Tyler and the stack of wedding magazines she rode in on, I climbed into my van [the Vanna White Too, by the way] and drove south." Readers looking for a quick, well-written cozy will find Donnelly's series delightful.

Reviewed by Debra Hamel, author of Trying Neaira: The True Story of a Courtesan's Scandalous Life in Ancient Greece
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 1, 2003
Wedding planner Carnegie Kincaid may create other events from time to time but she draws the line at bachelor parties. She is understandably perturbed to get a call from her bride ordering her to go to the Hot Spot to straighten something up for the groom. When she arrives at the famous club, the best man asks her to make a liquor run. She walks out in a huff and when she returns to her office, she looks out her window and sees the best man and her best friend's brother fighting.
The next day a policeman comes to her office asking her to identify a body at the morgue because Carnegie's business card was found in his pants pocket. A reluctant Carnegie identifies the body as Jason Kraye, the best man. She then goes on to tell the police officer about the fight she witnessed and the police arrest Darren. Lily is furious at Carnegie for ratting out her brother and a remorseful Carnegie swears to her friend she will find out who the killer is. Her promise almost costs Carnegie her life.
Each book in this funny and fascinating amateur sleuth series is better than the one before. The author, a talented writer with a wicked knack for creating crisp dialogue and sharp characters, allows her heroine to grow and change so that readers feel she is believable. Despite the fact that two murders take place in MAY THE BEST MAN DIE, there is no violence in the novel so fans of cosies will want to obtain this weeding bell blues novel.
Harriet Klausner
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2003
In this, her third mystery, Deborah Donnelly only
continues to make her heroine and hero's more appealing, her mystery more difficult to solve and the background information
as frothy as whipped cream in appearance and solid as brick in weight.
Carnegie is a wedding planner beset with boyfri woes, financial woes and demanding clients. Forced to cater a bachelor party
briefly mistaken for a stripper and finding out her
former boyfri is on the premises, Carnegie leaves in a huff only to note that her rental looks(with a bit of binocular assistance) into the party area. Noting a fight between two of the guests she later learns that one of the fighters is dead,
From running around planning weddings to running away from the
killer is a leap that Donnelly has Carnegie take easily, believably and us right along with her. Her primary characters are appealing BUT what is intriguing is that her secondary cast of characters also have such appeal that we wonder and worry
about them as well. Not a long book or an especially heavy one-
May The Best Man Die goes down like a particularly
fine wedding cake that has been strongly laced with
a first class brandy. Yummy.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 9, 2006
This is the best mystery I've read in a while. The writing was impeccable, the characters interesting, the mystery kept me guessing, the Seattle setting was unique, and the protagonist wasn't irritating. I even had to pick up a dictionary for several of the words in the book. Imagine: a mystery that elevates my vocabulary.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2015
Cute cozy mystery series. Nice angle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2016
This light-hearted series has just the right blend of characters and interesting plots.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse