Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Mayhem Aforethought - August 19, 1973 - You Are There

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, June 14, 2005
"Please retry"

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Editorial Reviews

Mayhem Aforethought is a unique time capsule that allows the listener to travel back to 1973 and hear a complete uncut and uncensored performance of Kinky Friedman & The Texas Jewboys; from introduction of the band to the DJ's promotional wrap up. This CD was recorded during a live KSAN radio broadcast with a studio audience including Ken Kesey, Jerry Garcia and entourage.

Kinky Friedman & The Texas Jewboys burst onto the outlaw music scene in 1973. They were irreverent, politically incorrect and in your face. Kinky's songs were witty, sarcastic, shocking and cutting edge; surprisingly, that remains true today. Mayhem Aforethought is the only album ever recorded that presents a complete show with the original Kinky Friedman & The Texas Jewboys band members. The uncensored interplay between Kinky and the Jewboys during the show is as entertaining (or more so) as the songs themselves.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Introduction
  2. We Reserve the Right to Refuse Service to You
  3. Amelia Earhart's Last Flight
  4. Western Union Wire
  5. Highway Cafe
  6. Get Your Biscuits in the Oven and Your Buns in the Bed
  7. Schmucker's Jam
  8. High on Jesus
  9. Band Introduction
  10. Lover Please
  11. Nashville Casualty & Life
  12. Sold America
  13. Carryin' the Torch
  14. The Ballad of Charles Whitman
  15. Ride 'Em Jewboy

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 14, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sphincter Records
  • ASIN: B0009QTRTK
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #323,977 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Kinky Friedman Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Rodney McDonald on September 7, 2006
Format: Audio CD
If you want to know what it was like to have been there, or just enjoy this groundbreaking music from a magical time in history, it doesn't get any better than this. If you are from Texas, or have any connection to the State, this is essential. I can't begin to cover all the various angles and perspectives represented by the music and its commentary on contemporary early-70's society; it goes well beyond knee-slapping laughter and comic entertainment. It's that, plus heavy at the same time. Well, nothing more I can say except "5 Stars" in my book...this one and "Sold American". And to top it all, Kinky appears likely to be the next Governor of Texas in 2006. I think there's hope for the World. "Thank ya very much!" "You're welcome Kinky"
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Great condition, still works even though I play it on repeat quite a bit!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse