Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 53 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 56 reviews
on November 7, 2013
Tried using this as the primary textbook for a conversational English class at church and found out that it is best used to supplement other teaching methods. Its does provide a thorough covering of conversational English but many of the words are no longer used (at least in this generation). Even the slang words were not as up to date as I would have liked but we were able to contextualize some of the phrases as being more appropriate to different age groups. In the end, I still use this to determine a topic for each week, such as "Making Friends" or "Expressing Forgiveness" but then either develop my own lessons or use many of the free ESL worksheets and activites available online.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2017
The same as NTC's Dictionary of Everyday American English Expressions (McGraw-Hill ESL References), but deleted a big part of the original book and add a little bit of something new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is that it was a gift for friend and I didn't read it in it's entirety myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
Good for beginners and for reference. The content is well organized, but was expecting more out of this book so a little disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
Good for reference, but would be much better with an activity book or something to go with it. Maybe there's something out there that I haven't found yet, though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
I use this for a filler when I have finished my ESL lessons and have more time to kill. The students find it entertaining.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
I bought this book to be used at an English club. I think it's well organized and covers all the basics to learn the language. I'll recommend it for my friends.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
This book is phenomenal. You should totally buy this book if you want to improve your skills in English language, especially if you are studying it as a second language.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
this is a very simple book, just intended for beginners in english only.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2016
It's a very helpful and funny book to learn some slangs and phrases such an ESL student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse