Amazon Vehicles Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 592 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 5,397 reviews
on January 22, 2006
I really loved this movie. I've seen it quite a few times because it's funny and entertaining, but at the same time, it's a little scary to think that this can be what some kids go through at school. There are the usuall bitches, nerds and in betweens. It focus's on a group called the Plastics who take the new girl in (Lindsay) and make her the fourth in their group. The cattiness that goes on seems unreal (but this is part truth); there are the crushes on guys, the clothes etc. Rachel McAdams does an excellent job as Queen bully; she is deliciously nasty. Overall, this is a fun movie. Really enjoyable and worth a watch. The janitor from Scrubs plays Lindsays father (in a less funny role), and there's also a good performance from Lacey Chabert. Go see this film. You'll love it.
0Comment| 239 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2006
(...)

A movie that gives to know that that truly happens done a little with a point it exaggerates to moment but anyway a drama very well designed. She speaks to us of the girls that are the stars of the moment, for their form of being, to act, to dress and to live, almost always this it is people's group that has money, and for their ignorance they feel superior to all. Everything begins in a girl Cady that arrives of another country and that for the first time she goes to a public school, where it will describe a new world full with vanity, royalty, discrimination and vengeance. Censored a little by their strong even vocabulary smaller than 15, it is acceptable since it contains images that it would be not well interpreted for small and but even to arrive to be examples of an inadequate behavior
0Comment| 216 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2013
and this is one of those times that I really, really regret it. I mean this by regret: people have been telling me to see this since it was released, that it wasn't an ordinary teen comedy, that I would love it. I put it off. I watched things for free instead, whatever was free with Prime was put ahead of anything that actually cost MONEY to watch. But this evening enough hints had gathered that I thought it might be worth parting with a few dollars to see it, and I just finished watching it, and still have tears in my eyes. I have never seen such a dissection of what self-hatred and inter-sex hatred among women, how it undermines the goal of equality, how we as women are acting as our own oppressors, as in this film, which Her Royal Lady Ms. Smart-Girl-Who-Gets-It Tina Fey managed to sneak under the radar and into the mainstream. I always liked her, now I love her. My new goal is to put my love and support behind her!

It may be a lesser point, but a +1 for the actually-believable, rather adorable romance with a well-intentioned but sometimes-bumbling principal, Tim Meadows. Never thought of him as particularly magnetic, but I so identified with Fey's character (I'm not a teacher, but it's common amongst my close friends to lament they cannot leave their administrative/clerical jobs to teach children because they wouldn't make enough money to support their families)that I was able to see his sweetness through her eyes, mostly because it was made so full-senses real by the way this movie was filmed. You not only see the chalk dust in the air, you practically feel suffocated by it at times, as Fey's portrayal often evidences. If you are 40 or so, as I am, Fey's character will kill you as much as Cady's. Particularly if you aren't where you thought you would be by now, or if you are, but that place turned out to be tragically disheartening most of the time, with the few bright moments to keep you fighting the good fight.

These are the sorts of reasons I am drawn to YA Science Fiction. This film "sneaks" those same kinds of truths and questions under the radar as that genre has been doing for years. DO NOT let preconceptions about YA movies stop you from watching this movie.

I almost forgot to add that it was funny, too. Sad-funny for the most part, but I am seldom moved to laugh by movies, and this movie will make even a hardened cynic laugh, and cry, and laugh-cry even. Maybe. A little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2017
This DVD was listed as in good condition, however the movie constantly stops and skips due to excessive scratches on the back. Sometimes the movie just stops playing altogether. Will be looking into getting a refund. The reflection in the photo makes it difficult to see all of the scratches, but it's basically covered with scratches like the ones that are visible in the pic.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2006
This movie is a great film. It's funny, witty and interesting. Tina Fey and Lindsay Lohan are wonderful and the cast has such a great chemistry. I highly suggest you spend a few hours on a rainy day and enjoy this film, I know you will!
0Comment| 204 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2005
If you're expecting "Mean Girls" to be even reasonably profound, forget about it. Yes, I realize this is supposed to be a comedy, but it comes up short on that level as well. Tina Fey's screenplay is mediocre--there's just too much ditziness that lacks humor, not to mention predictable story development, and overall the movie is overwrought. There are cringeworthy moments such as the part with Lohan and the trio of 'mean girls' doing a singing-and-dancing routine to the tune of "Jingle Bell Rock", as well as the cutesy "just kidding" closing scene. The part where hell breaks loose in the high school hallways (due to a stunt played by the Regina character) is pretty eye-roll inducing as well. As for the soundtrack, it unfortunately includes Blondie's incredibly dull and annoying hit "One Way Or Another", as well as the pathetic lame-brained Pink song "God Is A DJ". There are some funny bits for sure, and the movie manages to steer clear of flat-out boredom--it's far better than the awful "Confessions Of A Teenage Drama Queen" (which isn't really saying a lot)--but this sure is thin entertainment.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2006
When i first hered about this movie, I was expecting another movie like " Confessions of a teenage Drama Queen" I was wrong. " Mean Girls" took the reality of cliques and put a funny edge on it.Even with all the drama that goes on, I would still call this a comedy. I've seen it lots of times and would see it again.
0Comment| 177 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
Let me preface this by saying that I'm now in my late 20's and I've seen this movie about 20 times since it came out, when I was about 19 or so. It remains hilarious to this day, although I don't choke on my popcorn the way I did the first 10 or so times. It's incredibly quotable and I think it appeals to both ladies and gents...perhaps more skewed towards ladies, but all the intelligent men I've known who have seen it have enjoyed it. This movie was to it's genre in the 2000's what Clueless was in the '90's. Brilliantly cast, wittily-written, well-acted--fine holiday fun.* There hasn't been a movie like this in a while...but Pitch Perfect came close. So in conclusion, watch Clueless, watch Mean Girls, watch Pitch Perfect. And rejoice.
(*Quote from Clueless, cause Clueless will forever have my heart).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 4, 2011
Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster. And when you look long into an abyss, the abyss also looks into you.
-Friedrich Nietzsche

MEAN GIRLS is something like a teenage girl's reflection on Nietzsche's warning about tangling with monsters. Or, in this case, tangling with what are known at a high school as the "plastics"; fake girls who love to spread gossip, back-stab, judge people & freak-out if they've gained 2 ounces since the last time they stepped on the scale.

Lindsay Lohan portrays a girl (Cady) who has been homeschooled by her parents all her life. Moreover, Cady has spent her entire life up until HS in Africa, so she is bereft of how social interaction works with persons her own age.

A young Rachel McAdams plays Regina, the girl in HS whom we all loved to hate. Regina is prissy, snobbish, arrogant, manipulative and narcissistic. Regina is actually a very atypical character for McAdams, but she pulls it off nicely. There's a reason she is one of my favorite actresses!

Long before her wonderful caricatures of goofballs like Sarah Palin, Tina Fey was already demonstrating her comic genius in projects such as this & SNL. She is both beautiful & funny without trying hard to be either. In addition to acting in the film, she also wrote it as well.

After watching the DVD, I found myself saddened by all of the recent legal & personal turmoil that LiLo has found herself in. Granted, she must ultimately take responsibility for her own actions, but her attention mongering parents & the people who continually give her bad advice are not exactly an asset.

The thing is, Lindsay has (had?) a natural on-screen charm that is impossible to miss. Whether she will ever truly make the transition from child star to grown-up star (adult film star brings to mind porn, so I'm hesitant to use that phrase) remains to be seen. In either case, however, she actually is a talented thespian.

If you're longing for a nostalgic look back at all of the superficial cliques of girls in HS, then look no further than this movie. It encapsulates all of the phony silliness of "plastic" girls in every HS. And, if you want to read some Nietzsche before viewing the present flick, all the better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
This is one of the greatest movies of my teenage years! I ordered it to use it in my high school sociology class. It is a really good film for students to view and analyze the social stratification within a high school. My students loved it and they felt that it really helped them understand the stratification (exaggerated as it may be) within the high school. Sometimes they have a hard time analyzing their own school and relationships so this is a great alternative!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here