Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 22, 2014
All in all, it's an okay game. Not necessarily a simulator, but a nice try. The game itself is a great concept, but unfortunately once you've played the game for 45 minutes the game starts losing appeal because you're doing the exact same procedure over and over again. There's not a lot of variety in the game and once you've figured it out it becomes tiresome and boring.

Pros are that it's actually not the most unrealistic game I've ever played. It's a good concept that's allowed to be fairly detailed. You can drive the cars, which is a plus, and they drive fairly normally.

Cons are that it's a pretty blatant knockoff of Gearhead Garage and the game is played the same way, but with a higher level of detail. In Car Mech you can drive the cars in a test environ. In Gearhead you couldn't. In Gearhead you could buy cars and fix them up. In Car Mech, you can't. If you think this game will teach you how to work on cars, you're 100% wrong. It's a game to be played and beaten, and it has almost no educational factors beyond generalities. If you didn't like Gearhead Garage, you won't like Car Mechanic Simulator.

It's a good revision of an older game, and it's done nicely with the addition of test driving and chip tuning. At the end of the day it's a game that, once learned, loses a lot of the attraction power. You end up doing the same thing to every car, doing the same mundane tasks job after job.

As a simulation of what it's like to be a mechanic, that's actually accurate, but it's that very mundane redundancy that makes it less than thrilling to do it for real. This is that mundane redundancy minus the greasy hands and burnt transmission fluid smell.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2014
Camera is hard to control. The camera jumps around too much. Other than that, it's a great game. Just need the camera control fixed.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2017
Really awesome and sick game, i love the Detailed designs of the cars, the parts, the full 360 environment you can walk from any point in your garage to another point, you can interact with most of the tools that you will be using in your jobs from replacing Brakes, Tires, TieRods, Shocks, Cylinder heads, drive shafts, etc CRAZY, i love it, i can understand why though mechanics make so much money and some stuff that should be simple stuff for them to do actually involves a lot more than we can imagine. Great game, i will buy the 2015 version when i have the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
This game looks like it would be a lot of fun but it forces you to play online. Even at the lowest resolution settings the controls are clunky and the background has an effect on it where it shifts up and down, so even getting your pointer over something can take a while.

It would be great if this downloaded and let you play off your machine. For me, it was a waste of money. Unplayable.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
This game is really fun, The reasons I like this game are as follows:

1. learning repairs on a car
2, Being able to price parts
3. Expanding knowledge for procedures and identifying trouble areas
4. Something for if you have nothing else to do
5. Really accurate with repairs
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
Great game but you must have a steam account to download or you have to create an account.as I said though it is a great game.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2014
The game itself is really fun but I am running it on a mac book pro and it is super laggy so it makes playing this game not as enjoyable. So if your running a gaming computer you will be fine but on mac's it will probably lag.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2017
Went to website put in code NOTHING will NOT accept code Keeps sending me back to sign in screen JUNK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
It is fun but is very slow and wont work on any other computers other that my gaming computer that is very very high resoulution kinda dissapointing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2014
good game, a nice concept, but will be much better if they added many features. if they had radiator work, engine work, tool guides, and other projects that you can do on here, i would say it would be better. There is a lot of potential in the idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here