Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition [Download]
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Holiday Gift Picks Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Gifts for Him Get up to $100 back on House Cleaning services TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Sting Shop Outdoor Gift Ideas on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 186 reviews(verified purchases). Show all reviews
on February 22, 2011
Read any review from a credible source and you'll see great scores.
Medieval II is a fantastic game. I believe that the "Risk" portion of
the game is actually more fun than the giant battles. Enjoy a wonderful game!

PS. This game works on windows 7 64bit.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2011
As a long-time TW:Rome fan, I was a little slow to get around to purchasing this. Medieval II closely resembles Rome, but offers several improvements in game play. The improvement in graphics is subtle, but nonetheless noticeable. My favorite feature is that you can queue up unit and building purchases even if you lack funds in your current turn. This reduces the time spent on micromanaging your cities. The strategy element is also more nuanced - with priests, merchants, princesses, the pope, crusades, and of course spies and diplomats. Dealing with the Pope is especially enjoyable (or sometimes dangerous). I also enjoy using early gunpowder - it adds a new element, particularly to siege warfare, yet without being totally dominant.

The game has been very stable. The only drawback, in my opinion, is that it lacks the variety of cultures and units that Rome had. This homogeneity of cultures is not a problem as such (it is more historically accurate that different Medieval civilizations utilized the same tactics, especially a heavier emphasis on cavalry). Nonetheless, it gets to be kind of the same thing a little quicker, because you're using essentially the same kinds of units and tactics against everyone you conquer, especially in the West. It just doesn't have the vast differences that Rome had between the Gauls, the Greeks, the Romans, the Parthians, Carthaginians, the Thracians, the Egyptians, etc..., who each had very unique armies. This is somewhat ameliorated in the Americas campaign, which features the unique Aztecs and the Mayans, but fighting against them seems like cheating. They suffer from the plague, they have no cavalry, no siege equipment to speak of, no navy or ports to blockade, and generally just have to rely upon numbers against the Spanish. So yet again, its historically accurate, but not necessarily the best game play. The battles of Medieval II also seem to take a bit longer, perhaps because the heavier armor provides more protection than most units in Rome.

These are all minor quibbles though. The game is very enjoyable.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
They worked on improving Rome TW, and it shows. The economy's been tweaked so you don't pile up massive amounts of useless money-- you have to budget the whole time. Your troops aren't insanely powerful (but you can still "win" the game within about two dozen moves, and have a few hundred left to go). There's a lot of factions, with their own distinctive paths to safety, then world-dominance. The AI can do amphibious assaults, unlike Rome; Portugal tries to put troops in Britain...

Which brings us to the problems. If you're playing as England, you haven't even talked to Portugal. Their neighbors are the Moors-- why aren't they fighting them? Or you have an alliance, sealed with marriage. The little note says your relations are "very good". They're weaker than you are. Two turns later, they're attacking you with no provocation or warning.

The diplomatic aspect is pretty non-existent. Aside from developing a good relation with the Pope, and getting people off your back by allying with their friends, diplomacy is useless. You can't tell anyone to get out of your territory-- there's no option for it. And it's not predictable enough for strategic planning. You just have to assume anyone on the board can attack you at any time-- even if you're stronger, or allied with them, or you haven't even made contact yet. (You might be able to bribe them, or more likely get an annoyingly self-righteous refusal. Even if you can crush them. "How DARE you offer us money?!" Some little four-unit stack.)

Second, the tracking on the big map is too wild. It veers uncontrollably. You can damp it down with a mousepad but even reading the info screens makes the map scoot around, and trying to fix it gives you this ping-pong effect, which gets really tiresome. It would be nice if the map would hold still.

In short, it's an improvement on the already-great Rome, but with a couple things that get frustrating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2012
If you enjoyed Sid Meir's Civilization, you are going to love this game. I was up into the wee hours of the morning playing the very first Civilization game 20 years ago so the micro-management type of SG is a hit with me. However, I am also a big fan of history. This game gives me all of it!

Sure, you get the feuding and war crafting of the middle ages but you also get the war of assassins and spies, you get the political intrigue, the war between merchants and trade, the war of religion and the war to discover all of the new technology.

Wrap all of that into an overall turn based strategy game and you have a recipe for just playing 1 more turn when you have to go to work or school in a few more hours. You could lose a girlfriend or a wife or your entire social life! This game is well made and very addicting.

The graphics are amazing. Watching a dozen trebuchets pound a castle with flaming projectiles is something else. The same goes for a few hundred flaming arrows on a night assault. Watching charging knights plow into the ranks of peasant militia is hysterical.

One con would be that there isn't much detail for naval warfare. You can have navies and block ports and transport any land units but having a battle on the seas is handled by AI and is, therefore, a numbers game. It still adds to the game but not as much as it could. Still, not a big deal to me. The game is so deep that I don't have time to think about it really.

The only other drawback is that I don't have more time to spend playing it. This game is phenomenal.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
While I was able to play and enjoy the game especially its various expansions, I was not able to successfully install the game from the download. According to my installer, a particular program was missing. Just to give you an idea of my computer's specifications, I have an i7 graphics card, Windows 8 OS, 8 GB memory, 450 GB storage, etc -- all extant programs are optimized and updated to their latest versions. And when I attempted to triangulate and activate the program, the game still would not complete its installation.

I instead bought the disk version of Medieval II: Total War - Gold Edition, and everything worked well. I'm unsure if others have run into a similar problem with the downloadable version.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2011
If you enjoy turn based strategy games this is an excellent game. Great survey of medieval history, cultures, commerce, religion, diplomacy, war and nation building. I've owned disc based versions of this game and got tired of repairing the scratches. When I have a weekend to kill or need a good strategy fix I love to pull this up and try to keep Spain from getting wiped off the map by the Moors and France. It, like the Civ series, can steal time from you though so beware. I set a kitchen timer to keep me from dying of starvation or forgetting to sleep. The game is great and I'd give it 5 stars if it had a timer like some others out there, also the in battle mode (while fun) is still a bit cumbersome at times - resulting in me auto-playing the battles about 80% of the time. Definitely worth the $10 download - never had an issue with install on XP, Vista or Win 7.

Peace.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2012
This is a good, solid entry in the strategy genre, though it does have a few minor blemishes that could and should have been fixed.

First, the good: The graphics are excellent, the ambient music delightful. You really do feel as if you are running a medieval kingdom. This is more than building armies and sending them off to kill things and take their treasure (though it does have an engaging, realistic combat system if that's your thing). Political and economic considerations are also paramount. This game is definitely worth the price of admission.

The bad: Sometimes the play system and rules show signs of perhaps not being tested quite enough. For example, a character can have both "Smart" and "Ignorant" attributes. When I had one of my priests try and denounce a heretic, the odds the first time he tried were 25%. I failed. I tried again. Odds 25%. And a third time--same odds, nothing happened. Seems to me my odds of success should have gone down each time, with perhaps some penalty attaching to my priest after the second or third failed attempt. The idea of having merchants develop and trade resources on the map was great--but then it was undermined by making it too easy for rival merchants to displace your merchant--even on your own territory. And while the game's treatment of female characters improved a notch from Rome: Total War, your princesses basically become unpeople once they marry: all they can do is have a child or die. I would have liked to see more improvement here.

But these are pecadilloes or relatively minor flaws. If you like empire-building and strategy games, don't let them hold you back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2015
If you like old computer games, this is a must have. The countless factions you can play as, along with the ever changing nature of the game, gives a ton of replay value. The camera is difficult to work with during the actual battlefield deployment, but it is still workable. If you don't want to play a game where you are tactically deploying troops, never fear. There is an "auto resolve" button for battles, which will statistically determine who wins. As such, you can play the game through just as a building, political development game and still have tons of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2011
When I found Medieval II: Total War, I was looking for a game a lot like the old Westwood games like Red Alert 2 or a game like Stronghold 2. This game is much better. Overall, a very worthwhile purchase for any war strategy/economy management game lover!

PROS

Excellent graphics. I went from Stronghold 2 to this game and I was blown away by how each soldier has random bits of armor. I can't play Stronghold after this game. The soldiers aren't blocky clones of each other. They also make slashes and dodges at enemy soldiers, but they aren't always lined up with the enemy soldier when they're striking, but it looks much more lifelike than 30 soldiers crammed into a single square like Stronghold 2!! Walking and movement is very lifelike.

Easy interface. No important buttons stuck in odd locations. The interface is quite nice to use and is easy to learn.

Simplified battle command experience. No overwhelming floods of randomly moving soldiers. Soldiers are trained in companies of 20-75 men which can be commanded as a group or placed into a formation. Often, they spread out realistically and attack enemies on their own. These companies can be custom grouped into larger companies.

Custom battles. Create sieges and choose the soldiers for yourself and for your enemy. Relive historical battles.

Variety of soldiers. Choose from spearmen, siege engines, archers, cavalry, and even elephants and more.

Grand Campaign. This was truly the thing that absolutely impressed me. You see the entire map of Europe, divided into territories which trade between each other. Natural resources can be taken advantage of with merchants. Assassins, spies, diplomats, and priests can be used strategically to spread your influence and stop or start wars with other factions, even assassinate the general of an army. Alliances can be created and strengthened. Your princesses can outwit Generals and bring them to your side. You can choose from 6 factions and you're fighting around 10-20ish Catholic and Muslim nations. You have a reputation you have to keep up with the Pope and other nations.

Development of technology. IT starts you out around 1080 AD and you can play through the black plague and other events in history, though they do not control the game.

CONS

No sea battles. A drawback. You can still attack other fleets but you don't get to move the individual units around like you can with land battles.

AI's can be a little dumb sometimes, even on the highest difficulty; but they are still very formidable
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2016
Absolutely LOVE this game. Very disappointed there are no instructions on how to execute once it has downloaded to my computer. There is no help support line that I can find. So basically I paid for nothing. Thanks for taking my money Amamzon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here