Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$15.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 229 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 318 reviews
on April 18, 2017
This "movie" for want of a better term is the product of an imagination for the West but not the the Western audience. The plot is ill-defined, characterizations are well-portrayed but little leadership as it teeters on the brink between boredom and bereavement for having wasted the money. Not really a movie; more like an animated documentary about traveling Westward on the Oregon trail with a hired guide whose credibility is doubtful more to the audience than to the characters and we meet a Paiute Indian and unbeknownst to us seems to tell the characters where they can find water. What we find is a water starved tree, the Indian walks away . Movie ends. HmmmmmMmmm...............Something else got cut-off .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2015
Well tarnation, I do not understand all the poo poo reviews! This is a fantastic,historically accurate, well scripted movie with an eerily windswept and appropriately dusty sense of the wide open spaces. Perhaps, if one is an avid fan of galloping desperadoes and heaving bazzooms , this movie might leave you...flat. Heh. Sorry, but really! Ever tried loading a black powder muzzleloader? It takes like , five minutes ! Yes, this is a slow movie , but how fast did a covered wagon really go , anyway? Not Fast , not Furious , no blatant CGI or greenscreen , I loved this durn movie. I am glad to see the western surviving as a genre . If you want epic thrills and over the top sensory overload , this aint the flick to pick , but if its ambiance and scenery so thick you can taste it , go ahead. Take.....Meek's Cutoff. You jes' might not ever come back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 27, 2017
This is about as bad a western as I've ever seen. Its a story of three families trying to get across the great plains in the 1850's with a guide named Meek. Meek takes the three families away from the main wagon train, seeking a quicker way to reach their destination, thus, the title, "Meek's Cutoff. While hailed as a director "masterpiece" by some critics, don't get roped into this boring directionless film. I found it to be completely useless. I wasted nearly 2 hours watching this drudgery limp along scene after scene. One critic compared the tension of this film to a Hitchcock classic. Ha! It's nowhere close to a Hitchcock comparison. I found it boring, no driving plot line, and scene after scene of their wagon train rolling on by with no dialogue but that of a squeaky wheel hub. The characters are without interest. They have no personalities that are compelling. They capture an Indian, and then don't know what to do with him. They run out of water. They are low on food. The ending is abrupt and leaves the viewer wondering how any director could end a film this way.

As a viewer of all the great and not so great westerns, this is a true sleeper - literally. I strongly advise you to not purchase or watch this film. It will let you down and you will wonder, as I did, how a film can be this bad???

kone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2015
Wow... new definition for boring. Really looooooooooog bouts of nothing. Nada. Don't give up, watch "The Homesman" with Tommy Lee Jones and Hilary Swak (4.5 stars!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
NOT a good movie. Acting is poor, and I was not engaged in the characters. There is no thread, and no ending. It's like they ran out of film and stopped!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Very interesting, but not historically correct.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2017
Horrible, don't waste your money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
No plot. Slow. Does not follow the true story,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
Slow plot with totally bad acting, we tried to watch it but we had to stop and delete it after 20 minutes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2016
It's an interesting western with all the baggage of its metaphors.

You have to watch this film closely. No one says anything much - just as well too: the volume on this DVD is set quite low.

It's an anti-hero film.
The mountain-man guides the party west to civilization, and gets lost.
He likes the female lead but she says that he does not understand women. She gets lost too as womanhood in the West is no one's

saviour, nor are they friendly to strangers, particularly.
But she sees an image of the kindred spirit in the Indian captive and saves his life.

There are a lot of textual and political juxtapositions in this film which take way, actually, the traditions of the Western and infuse it with a scenic gravity that flumoxed a lot of critics. It's a quiet film. Old America was probably really like this.
Such travellers really did, I'm sure, cross rivers holding bird-cages above their heads, with bonnets on and grim tones to their mien.

It's a film to watch many times - I've seen it twice already and once at the cinema.

PS there's a tragedy here, too: so much in America is farthest away from their History as is any other Nation on earth that I can think of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse