Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 24, 2014
I am torn in reviewing this toy. Here's why: The toy is definitely well-made, will not come apart, will not break unless subjected to massive violence. It definitely builds motor skills, hand-eye-coordination, and even thinking skills--as deciding which colors should be up or down or evenly matched in height requires some intricate choice and physical application. So, the toy is a great toy!

But . . .

You are basically giving your child a miniature of Thor's hammer. Not a hollow plastic hammer, mind you. No, no. This is a toddler weapon the great god of thunder would approve of. Two solid wooden pieces held together very well. The head of the hammer is sculpted to allow attacks from many interesting angles. Great for the toy. Not so great if your little one might decide to go "a-viking" during a playgroup, family get-together, or school function.

Like the mighty Mjolner, this hammer throws well, flies fast and far, and can kill the mightiest of trolls. Or televisions. Or PC's. Or Grandma.

So . . . the only reason I take a star off is because of the deadly weapon that comes with this awesome toy. Maybe it should have been fastened by a cable to the toy, Melissa & Doug? It's not cool that parents have to do this thinking for you. But we love Grandma. Having our toddler turned Thor send her to the hospital is not our idea of fun.

If your child is meek and kind and dependably non-violent, go for it. GREAT TOY! If your little one may just be a conqueror of lands reincarnated into this tiny body, please beware the hammer!
2626 comments| 1,631 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
The manufacturer commented on the review below
on December 14, 2014
I was excited to buy this for my 9 month old boy, should have realised something was wrong when I saw fine sawdust in the package. Was beyond shocked when I opened it up and saw holes drilled all over by wood-borers/wood-worms or whatever creepy-crawlies. And they were alive! Peeping out of the holes now and then to take in their new neighbourhood. Trashed them almost immediately but still can't get over it, and to think my boy loves chomping on almost anything he gets his hand on.

I'm usually empathetic towards the typical difficulties companies have putting out products in the marketplace and getting everything right, competing isn't easy. But this is unacceptable and should never have happened. Just poor, poor, quality controls.
review image review image review image review image
44 comments| 457 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 28, 2016
Thought my one year old son would really enjoy this but it isn't nearly as satisfying to hammer on as a traditional "tap and turn" kind. The box I put it in however has been played with for months. I can't tell you how this would hold up under use because its collecting dust in the corner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2013
So I love the hammer toys but hesitated to buy one since they aren't fun after you lose all the balls or whatnot. Well, this is a really neat idea and the little one loves it so far. The mallet is well built and doesn't seem likely to fall apart - but only time will tell. The table with the pegs is sturdy, low to the ground and has fairly wide 'legs'. When you hammer one of the pair it goes down while the other side goes up. Great for gross motor skills, colors, cause and effect recognition, and just plain fun. Even helps some with fine motor skills if your little one tries to pull each peg out but can't like mine. My little one got this around 7 months old but didn't make the best use of it until about 12 months and loves it. My friends 4 year old came over and loved it too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2016
Great pound toy although because he had been playing with a model that was made 30+ years ago where you pound balls and they roll all over your house and you have to find them, he had to figure out that the stick figures don't come out and he doesn't have to look for them. The hammer could have been a little wider.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 5, 2016
Bought this for my toddler and he loves this toy! Although I did have to hide the hammer that came with it because he started hammering the walls and everything else in the house….but he does enjoy pushing down on each colored peg. I first came across this toy from a friend who posted a video of their kids playing with it. Would recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2016
Purchased for a 1st birthday gift it is being enjoyed daily. We attached the hammer with a length of string because the baby took it with him and began pounding on all kinds of things! HA HA.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 15, 2017
My 15 months old son noticed in the first minutes that he can push down the figures with one finger. It is absolutely useless. And it is annoying that the figure on the others side comes up when you push a figure down. There is no goal of the game this way, it has no end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 16, 2017
Easy for my 18 month to use; she loves hammering away. However, the wood is so soft that she's put tons of little dents in it within just a few days of playing with it. I would have expected a stronger/more durable wood product from Melissa & Doug, especially a product that is SUPPOSED to be banged on with a hammer!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 11, 2017
Just got this for my two boys. It now sounds like a construction site but it's held their interest. Good buy! Maybe consider also getting earplugs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse