Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on April 14, 2010
This book is well-written, easy to read, and insightful. I found this book to be full of specific, actionable suggestions for improvement in foreign policy without being overly detailed in any one area. It is comprehensive in its approach to the entire globe and how the international community is poised for a new era of American leadership. For fans of Bush - this book is more forward looking than it is a commentary on the past administration. Unlike many foreign policy books that merely suggest where we need to end up, this one features tangible ideas on how to achieve meaningful change to get there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
It gave me what I assumed: a very comprehensive overview of the thinking of American interest driven policy makers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2015
This was a gift for daughter and she enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2015
A must to read for everyone who like or is involved into international relations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2010
I especially enjoyed this book - even more than her previous ones. I think she brings an informed and experienced perspective to the "state of the U.S." in the eyes of the rest of the world. This should be required reading for high school students and beyond!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2008
Madeline Albright writes with knowledge of behind the scenes we see on television. Were she not born in Europe, she would be the perfect canidate for election to the office of president herself. I do hope Mr. Obama has read her book and heeds her advice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2008
Ideas concise & presented well. Not pompous. Seemed like very sound ideas to be considered.
I would recommend that the President Elect read it. Maybe fences can be mended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2009
I was very happy with the quick delivery and excellent condition of the

book I ordered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2008
Wise, vastly knowledgeable, witty. A refreshing conversation with one of the country's more successful diplomats, long experienced in world affairs. Albright's observations on meeting Kim Jong-il in North Korea is worth the price alone. Her character judgements of world leaders is fascinating, enlightening. No mere book can be the answer to all the world's dangers, but Albright suggests plenty of ways, intelligent and insightful, to avoid mistakes and hopefully lead the country out of the mess brought on by an extremely unpopular, inept administration.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2008
Madeleine Albright's first message, and prime directive, to the President elect is: "You must begin with the understanding that our right to lead is no longer widely accepted. We have lost moral legitimacy. If we fail to comprehend this, we will...be like a lawyer who assumes that, because of past triumphs, she has the jury in her pocket when she hasn't, precisely because the jury resents being taken for granted." (p. 22) Such notions as the "right to lead" being "accepted", and "moral legitimacy," as well as the idea that international affairs is like a trial with "lawyers" and "juries" are the key to understanding Albright's vision of the world of foreign affairs. In effect, Albright equates foreign affairs with diplomacy---the capacity to create an atmosphere of cordiality and resolve that permits the United States to continue to hold its preeminent position in the world.
It is not hard to see why Albright's vision of the world might be welcome to an American public that has witnessed what is perhaps the most incompetent diplomacy every sustained by an American president. The arrogance, ignorance, and abject provincialism of the Bush administration is perhaps without equal (I'm sure an historian can set me right on that one). But, there are severe limits to the ability of effective diplomacy to solve America's problems. It would be nice to be able to say that the world consists of Good Guys (us) and Bad Guys (terrorists and dictators), while most of the world's population is the jury, who will decide which side wins. However, this is not the case.
Indicative of the diplomat's world view, there are no hard constraints, no real trade-offs to be made, no irreducibly difficult decisions that must be executed. We should oppose terrorism, world poverty, nuclear proliferation, and global warming. We should support democracy, gender equality, tolerance, and human rights. We should act as an exemplary society embodying these ideals.
Of course, these things are worth being said, and the ideals espoused by Albright are the real reason that America deserves to be given a chance at world leadership. We are the country that opposed, and defeated, the major totalitarian onslaughts of the twentieth century. We are the country that save Europe and Japan from the most horrible forms of barbarism imaginable. We are the country in which the blending of races and cultures has produced the world's premier dynamically multiethnic/multiracial society. We are the country that produced the movement for gender equality that is undermining patriarchy throughout the world. We are the country that is the dream of migrants the world over. Ours is an economy that is inclusive, welcoming immigrants and assimilating them virtually completely in less than two generations. With all of our faults, including our criminal support for human rights violators in Africa and Latin America and our propping up of despotic dictators in oil-rich countries, America still has a mission to carry out in the world.
All this is to say that it would be a mistake to counter Albright's rosy and high-minded diplomatic world view with the more traditional notions of realpolitik: Machiavellian power politics, speak softly and carry a big stick, all politics comes from the barrel of a gun. Rather, history is the history of the struggle and victory of the simple people, and social justice takes the form of the poor and the dispossessed fighting for their rights and achieving them. In that world view, the best foreign policy advice to our next President would be: support people's struggles around the world, place democracy and civil rights about all else, and recognize that in the long run, our security as a nation depends on the number and power of nations that share our form of government and our culture of freedom, dignity, and equality.
The most recent President who offered a vision of this sort was Ronald Reagan, perhaps our greatest President since Roosevelt (despite his criminal support for death squads in Latin America---the product of an overzealous but admirable anti-communism). We need a new leader who is capable of voicing this simple optimism for the American way of life.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse