<Embed>
List Price: $18.99
Save: $2.00 (11%)
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
Arrives: Saturday, Jan 30 Details
Fastest delivery: Wednesday, Jan 27
Order within 21 hrs and 22 mins
Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com

Sold by
Amazon.com

A Memory Called Empire (T... has been added to your Cart
& FREE Shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by BookOutlet USA
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: New, unread publisher overstock copy. Ships next business day for fast delivery. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.

Other Sellers on Amazon
$14.93
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
$20.29
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: ZiFiti
$18.99
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Magers & Quinn Booksellers
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan, 1) Paperback – February 25, 2020

4.4 out of 5 stars 2,057 ratings
Book 1 of 2: Teixcalaan

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$16.99
$13.00 $9.49

Amazon Book Review | Discover your next great read
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan, 1)
  • +
  • This Is How You Lose the Time War
  • +
  • Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Trilogy, 1)
Total price: $45.48
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions


From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A mesmerizing debut . . . it left me utterly dazzled.”―The New York Times Book Review

"[A] gorgeously crafted diplomatic space opera . . . Readers will eagerly away the planned sequels to this impressive debut."―Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Politics and personalities blend with an immersive setting and beautiful prose in a debut that weaves threads of identity, assimilation, technology, and culture to offer an exceedingly well-done sf political thriller."―Library Journal, starred review

"This is both an epic and a human story, successful in the mode of Ann Leckie and Yoon Ha Lee. A confident beginning with the promise of future installments that can't come quickly enough."―Kirkus, starred review

“Exquisite . . . a compelling journey with a rich world and fascinating characters”―The Los Angeles Times

"Interesting, detailed, lavish."―The Wall Street Journal

"A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All around brilliant space opera, I absolutely love it."―Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

"In A Memory Called Empire, Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating."―Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

“Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won’t-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome.”―Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

“An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn’t put it down.”―Jo Walton, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of Among Others

“Arkady is one of the best new voices in speculative fiction”―Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of Children of Time

“A taut murder mystery entwined with questions of technological ethics, A Memory Called Empire is also an evocative depiction of foreignness. Martine creates an elaborate and appealing culture against which to play out this story of political intrigue, assimilation, and resistance. Daring, beautiful, immersive, and often profound.”―Malka Older, author of Infomocracy

A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next.”―Martha Wells, author of The Murderbot Diaries

"A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera."―Ken MacLeod

A Memory Called Empire elevates space opera to poetry―clever, deep, sometimes tragic, sometimes violent, always transcendent poetry that shines like the edge of a knife.”―Delilah Dawson

“An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive.”―Aliette de Bodard, Nebula Award-winning author of the Xuya Universe stories and The House of Binding Thorns

“A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I’ve read in the last five years.”―Yoon Ha Lee, author of the Machineries of Empire trilogy

“An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov.”―Elizabeth Bear, author of Hammered

"A Memory Called Empire . . . is so frigging good. It's like a space opera murder mystery combined with all the political parts of Dune."―Dan Wells, author of I Am Not a Serial Killer

About the Author

Arkady Martine (she/her) is the Hugo Award-winning author of A Memory Called Empire. She is a speculative fiction writer and, as Dr. AnnaLinden Weller, a historian of the Byzantine Empire and a city planner. She is currently a policy advisor for the New Mexico Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources Department, where she works on climate change mitigation, energy grid modernization, and resiliency planning. Under both names, she writes about border politics, rhetoric, propaganda, and the edges of the world. Arkady grew up in New York City and, after some time in Turkey, Canada, and Sweden, and Baltimore, lives in Santa Fe with her wife, the author Vivian Shaw.

Product details

  • Publisher : Tor Books; Reprint edition (February 25, 2020)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 480 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1250186447
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1250186447
  • Item Weight : 13.6 ounces
  • Dimensions : 5.52 x 1.25 x 8.23 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 2,057 ratings

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
2,057 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 5, 2019
Verified Purchase
218 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 21, 2019
Verified Purchase
127 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 9, 2019
Verified Purchase
99 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Amazon Customer
1.0 out of 5 stars Three go to Coruscant for the Dullest Term Ever at Stormtrooper Towers
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 18, 2020
Verified Purchase
75 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Paul T.
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant title, brilliant story.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 28, 2019
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Report abuse
PT
2.0 out of 5 stars It's.. Okay (spoiler free review)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 1, 2020
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Hal5000
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining SF Thriller
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 12, 2019
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
M. King
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn’t do it for me.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 10, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse