Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
The Memphis Princess - Ea... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shrinkwrap may be renewed, no visible damage on disc or booklet. Jewel case may have cosmetic damage, online codes for possible online content are expired or missing. Shipping time 5-21 business days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Memphis Princess - Early Recordings 1960-1962 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS REMASTERED


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, January 12, 2018
$8.34 $8.35

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews

Memphis native Carla Thomas was the first artists to bring success to the fledgling Stax label when her debut solo 45 "Gee Whiz (Look At His Eyes)" broke into the US Hot 100 in late 1960. That record established the teenage Carla - who frequently wrote her own songs as well as performing them - as one of the foremost soul ladies of the whole of that decade, and well into the next one. She was a big star in soul circles, and possibly could have been an even bigger one had she not made her studies a priority over her music career. This new Jasmine collection brings together every recording that Carla made during her formative years as 'Memphis' Princess Of Soul'. Features her first album in its entirety and in stereo where possible, plus a number of single only tracks and mono single mixes, including four duets with her equally famous Rufus Thomas. Many of these were also a hit on either the pop or R&B charts and frequently on both! Needless to say, as with all Jasmine packages it's beautifully re-mastered from the best available sources. Carla stopped recording in 1975, but she will always be revered among soul fans for the work she did in helping to make Memphis the epicentre of 60s soul music in the American South. She returned to performing in 2017 and still features many of the songs in this collection in her shows today.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Gee Whiz (Look at His Eyes)
  2. Dance with Me
  3. A Lovely Way to Spend An Evening
  4. Your Love Indeed
  5. Fools Fall in Love
  6. To the Aisle
  7. (I'm Afraid) the Masquerade Is Over
  8. A Love of My Own
  9. Promises
  10. It Ain't Me
  11. For You
  12. The Love We Shared
  13. Wish Me Good Luck (Mama Mama)
  14. In Your Spare Time (Please Think of Me)
  15. I Kinda Think He Does
  16. I'll Bring It on Home to You
  17. I Can't Take It
  18. Cause I Love You - Carla and Rufus
  19. Deep Down Inside - Carla and Rufus
  20. I Didn't Believe - Rufus and Friend
  21. Yeah Yee-Ah - Rufus and Friend
  22. I'm Afraid (The Masquerade Is Over)
  23. A Love of My Own
  24. Promises (Alternate Version with Double Tracked Vocal)

Product details

  • Audio CD (January 12, 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Jasmine Music
  • ASIN: B0787CMMCF
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #182,876 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Carla Thomas Store

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 2 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

February 22, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
April 8, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Memphis Princess - Early Recordings 1960-1962 [ORIGINAL RECORDINGS REMASTERED]
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Memphis Princess - Early Recordings 1960-1962 [ORIGINAL RECORDINGS REMASTERED]