Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by hortie1
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Only shrink wrap is missing. CD & booklet in excellent condition. Small cut in spine. Never played. Ships First Class.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Mengelberg Conducts Strauss: Ein Heldenleben / Don Juan (also includes Wagenaar: Cyrano de Bergerac Overture)

Audio CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, April 21, 1998
"Please retry"

Editorial Reviews

Wilhelm Mengelberg was one of the great conductors of the century and this 1928 Heldenleben is one of the great recordings of the century. There's a comprehensive mastery in this recording that made it an instant classic when it was first released and it continues to repay repeated hearings. Mengelberg's interpretive subtleties enliven what often seems just a pot-boiler; his sensitive rubatos and discreet portamentos make phrases come alive. The orchestra is perfection itself, and concertmaster Scipione Guidi's rapt violin solos are riveting. Mark Obert-Thorn's transfers make the recording sound as if it was made two decades later. The Concertgebouw items, from 1938 and 1942, are also compelling, with a fleet, vivacious Don Juan the main attraction. --Dan Davis

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Ein Heldenleben Op.40: The Hero
  2. Ein Heldenleben Op.40: The Hero's Adversaries
  3. Ein Heldenleben Op.40: The Hero's Companion
  4. Ein Heldenleben Op.40: The Hero's Battlefield
  5. Ein Heldenleben Op.40: The Hero's Works Of Peace
  6. Ein Heldenleben Op.40: The Hero's Retreat From The World And Fulfilment
  7. Don Juan, Op. 20
  8. Cyrano de Bergerac: Overture 'Cyrano de Bergerac'

Product details

  • Performer: Richard Strauss, Scipione Guidi, Concertgebouw Orchestra - Amsterdam, New York Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra
  • Orchestra: Johan Wagenaar, Willem Mengelberg
  • Audio CD (April 21, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Pearl
  • ASIN: B00000604Q
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #524,999 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: concertgebouw orchestra