Lyft Industrial Deals Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 422 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 462 reviews
on March 14, 2017
Great book! If you are looking to vary your workouts and exercises or hit a plateau, this is definitely the workout book for you! When you get this in the mail, yo will also be surprised how thick this book is--the spine is two fingers thick and it is 551 pages of color photos.

PHOTOS AND EXPLANATIONS OF EXERCISES
Lots of workouts with easy to understand photos AND explanations. Relies on both photos and description to explain what you need to feel as you do the movement/exercise. This is very helpful because it explains where you need to squeeze or pull to help exercise the muscle properly. There is an index in the back to help fine the exercise or muscles you are looking for too!

HELPFUL INFORMATION AND VARIATIONS
The book also provides tidbits on the side which are helpful, such as building muscle by doing certain variations. For example, there are 25 variations and combinations for biceps which you can do for a simple dumbbell curl to work different portions of your biceps! You can use them all to get a fuller shape, which is great to work into a rotation.

MUSCLE DIAGRAMS
Additionally, there are muscle diagrams which help you both learn about the muscles you are work. But it also helps you identify what you want to build. If you do not know what muscle it is that you want to grow bigger or stronger, you can go to the muscle diagrams at the front of the chapter to get the name (which is clearly pointed out and explains what it does and what movements target it). Then you can go into the chapter and look for the exercise which works that muscle. For example, ever wonder what that muscle is at the bottom of your biceps that connects to your forearm area? How to work that? It is called the brachioradialis, and you can now go into the chapter and look for exercises that target it!

THOROUGH BODYWEIGHT EXERCISES
If you are in an apartment or don't have time to get to a gym some days, there are great bodyweight exercises. This section is thorough and can be done at home, in the office at lunch, or while away on vacation. Most use minimal furniture too, so you can really do most of the exercises with nothing but you and a floor.

WORKOUT ROUTINES
Not only does this book have just workouts, but it also has some great workout routines for different goals. There are routines are generally broken down for strength building, endurance, and fat-burning. There are also routines to do at home with minimal equipment, such as just dumbbells, which will really challenge you and make a difference such as spartacus or the wheel. Many of the workouts also explain how you can vary them too to make them easier or harder.

NUTRITION AND MEALS
There is also a section about nutrition and healthier eating for your hard workouts. This is also helpful and gives meal plans, but I wouldn't say it is anything you could not find online. If you are an absolutely beginner and don't know where to look, this will certainly help!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2016
This book has been hugely helpful for getting back into working out. I bought it thinking it would be a great guide for picking different exercises for each muscle group. I was pleasantly surprised to find it also has some very helpful workout plans included as well. I'm 4 weeks into one of the 12 week plans and really enjoying it. Highly recommended. Wish I had this sooner.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
Such a great resource for creating your own custom work out. This book offers great quality images that show the movements and is organized well. The greatest part is that this book shows you a large number of variations per work out (free weights, bands, balls, machines, etc.) If you're serious about stepping up your workout, you can't find a better resource for the money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2015
Let me begin by saying that I have been scrawny my whole life. Like the guy you laugh at. No longer. This book has something for everyone, even the skinny guy like me. There are a number of prescribed workouts, and the scrawny to brawny has been good for me. With only dumbbells, barbells, a weight bench, pull up bar, exercise mat, and this book, I feel great.

The book presents the basic exercises for each muscle group, then multiple variations. Stop looking at the others and buy this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2016
Amazing book with a myriad of exercises with accompanying explanations & illustrations; kudos!

Meir Charash
MSW and Certified Fitness Trainer
Jerusalem; Israel
Facebook - IntegrativeFitnessMeir
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
This book changed my life from the way I exercise to the way I eat. With the amount of exercises and variations of exercises in this book you will never get bored of your routines. If you're looking for a book to get back into shape or to stay in shape and up your game this is the one, hands down.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2015
This book is great! I just became a Certified Personal Trainer and it's already helping in building programs for my clients. There is great variety and every body part is covered. They give progressions and regressions as well, which is helpful if you don't necessarily know this stuff. Great for someone who doesn't know how to work out and even good for someone like me, who does know how to workout, but forgets specific exercises and also looks to try new moves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2016
This book is central to my efforts to stay in shape. It is well written and full of useful advice, not only on how to do exercises correctly but also on how to get progressively get stronger and on how to take charge of your diet. I cannot recommend this book enough, both for young men and for oldsters like myself who have passed 50 years old.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
A couple of months ago I looked at the printed version and it looked really interesting but the physical size of the book could prove to be troublesome so I bought the digital version instead. This book is really great for exercise reference. Upon going through it, I already saw a whole lot of exercises that I've never done before. This book is more than that though. It goes into details about the benefits of working on every muscle, pulls out anatomy diagrams, workout regimines and even the path to a good diet. Just like an issue of men's health, it has fun facts backed up with research. If theres anything odd to point out is that it doesn't detail on any exercise machine (minus the lat pulldown and cable exercises) but why fuss over that when theres hundreds of exercises that only require either a barbell, dumbbell, yoga ball, pull up bar or your body? This book is definitely worth the purchase and can enlighten any exercise enthuaist' mind. Plus I have seen some results after two weeks. The only why I haven't gave it 5 stars is because it's "get lean in 4 weeks" pitch is always surefire with some people. This will change habits of a lot of people though as long as they stick to it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2017
I highly recommend this book. Over the years, I have acquired many books of this nature, and this one is extremely well organized and jam packed with useful information, in a simple and easy to read format--It is also very current on its advice in all areas it covers. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse