Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Nina Nesbitt GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 12 reviews
on July 10, 2012
I finished James Viser's first novel in the AMERICA FIRST trilogy last evening. Mr. Viser has done an outstanding job of creating a sweeping narrative which culminates in a tragedy which many Americans don't wish to contemplate. In this story, the author tracks the lives of several Americans, a former real estate broker, two FBI agents unraveling the answer to a mystery, an FBI agent deep undercover, and a self-serving demigod radio announcer, among others. As the story develops, the author also introduces the readers to several characters in Afghanistan; two brothers with differing views of Islam,a radical cleric,and a spiritual shopkeeper, with others.

As the author weaves a story and takes on the task of blending a spiritual consciousness, a philosophy reminiscent of higher consciousness,into his story and accomplishes that task extremely well.

As I read the story, I became reminded of the current division in American politics in which you are either right or left,conservative or liberal. Mr. Viser does conclude the novel with the higher purpose behind American values, which are neither right nor left - just American. For that (being a centrist myself) I salute him!

This book contains action, adventure and a higher purpose and not many books nowadays can say the same. This book has my strongest recommendation ... READ!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
James Viser's Lie Merchants is a lesson on what can happen when planned chaos strikes. It's a tale of frightening reality considering what we are being told about terrorist plans today...that they are trying to conduct small attacks in various parts of the country. It's also a lesson about what kind of enemies are waiting to pounce, both foreign and domestic.

What I really like about this book is the protagonist, Tom Worth. He's just an ordinary guy who rises to an extraordinary challenge, as Americans have done throughout our history. In the beginning of the book, he goes from a top executive of a large homebuilder to working at Home Depot due to the collapse of the company for which he worked. He doesn't give up because of this hardship. He and his family make adjustments and move ahead as best they can.

Through new friends at Home Depot, he joins a group that is preparing for possible terrorist attacks that the government is warning about. He senses a sinister undercurrent, but can't put his finger on it. When his world explodes, he ends up facing enemies from different directions and becoming a leader in fighting both. The action scenes are intense.

This story is multifaceted with scenes taking place all over the world. It is not only a story about conflict, but also a story about peace and redemption. I recommend it anyone who wants to read a good story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2010
Lie MerchantsLie Merchants is a real thriller, a page turner that holds your attention to the very end. It is suspenseful and close to the reality of what is happening with jihadism and the Mexican drug cartels. Also, there is an analysis of how the jihadists in the USA obtained funds through using mortgage fund. (The author must have had some inside information about this. )
I live in central Arizona and am informed as to the seriousness of what is happening on the Mexican border and how this war with the Mexican drug cartels is affecting Arizona.
The author makes no exaggerations. As someone who works in Indian Country it is appalling how the drug cartels are corrupting the Native American youth. The Tohono O'Odham tribe is located on the Mexican border. The drug cartels pay Native teenagers $500 for helping smuggle a person across the border, and $1,000 for carrying drugs across the border. This is unpublished as far as I know.
I know a mutual friend of the author's who delivered pizza to an apartment in Phoenix and recognized the recipient as one of the jihadists involved in the attack on the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001. Jihadists in this cell were taking flying lessons in Arizona.
They are here!
As someone who has worked with Muslim coworkers whom I regard highly, I am glad that the author is balanced in the presentation of the Islamic elements in the book. He shows the gross distortions of the jihadists compared to the goodwill and spiritual achievements of the Sufi movement.
He is sensitive to the beauty and wisdom in the Islamic tradition and subtly includes elements of spiritual experience that are the highest common denominators in all the major world religions. Most really good stories are about the conflict between good and evil, and this is one of them.
The author develops his characters very well: FBI agents, a brilliant and disciplined drug cartel chief, a mysterious undercover FBI agent, a jihadist sheik, a Sufi disciple, two Afghani brothers, the Taliban -- all coming together in an unexpected and dramatic finale that gives your gut a great feeling of satisfaction. In the book's end, there is a document written by a high school student in Denver that exalts the heart of true American patriotism. This document actually was written by a real American teenager in Denver. Your heart will be uplifted by it, and it will give you hope in the goodness that is in the core of America.
This is the first novel by James, and I definitely want to read more books by this brand new author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
Lie Merchants is a relevant read in an age when the acts of imported terror can combine with domestic radicals; radicals waiting for the incendiary action to ignite the brush fire that could become the conflagration that brings a country to its knees. When religion becomes a "reason" for war, reason departs! Strap yourself in. This story will take you around the world and into places only the fearless or fools dare to go. Good story telling. Good characters and a plot that is more real than fiction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2011
Lie Merchants is a rapid read and an intelligent novel for anyone who likes to read action novels. If you are a fan of Tom Clancy, Brad Thor, Dale Brown or Stephen Coonts then you will be sure to enjoy this novel. James Visor wraps many of the issues facing the United States and cleverly connects them together to create an action packed, thought provoking thrill ride.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2012
As an expat living in the middle east and I don't get to indulge in stories like this one here! I reiterate most of the other positive reviews. One word, okay maybe two. INTRIGUE, SHOCK was a thrilling read. Well done for this first time author!

Ps. There was no glaring editing issue, so the author must have resolved them before I bought this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2011
Lie Merchants is an action-packed, page turner. Viser cleaverly combines today's political and economic events with intriguing plot development. Characters pop to life in this action-packed novel. If you're a fan of Vince Flynn or Tom Clancy novels, you're going to love this one. A must read for today's political action junkie!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
I wanted to like this. I thought it was as advertised a combination of Vince Flynn and brad Thor. Instead it meandered through spiritual awakenings Mexican drug deals that take forever and the sad search for a job. False advertising.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2011
I want to like this book and always want to give new authors the benefit of the doubt. A few typos I can live with, but about one quarter of the way through, I found myself re-reading the same sentence three times and still don't know what it says. I find it so distracting, that I may not finish it. Multipe grammatical errors are very frustrating. I know a new guy does not have junior editors to read it, but how about a friend? It simply has not grabbed me like some others, where all I want to do is read the next short chapter. To be fair, I will point out that Vince Flynn's (whom I love) American Assassin had unforgiveable grammar and even character errors, so it does happen.
The domestic characters are well developed, the Afghans, a little too much (just an opinion). I hate to be negative and for 99 cents you can hardly go wrong. It will remain in the Kindle and perhaps get revived later.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here