Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Noah Gundersen PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 28 reviews
on October 5, 2015
Don't be afraid to buy this book. We all need to learn why we are hated and what better way than straight from the people who hate us. You will learn more from this book than anything you have seen on the news.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
As I was reading this book there was alot of mixed feelings over the statements Osama Bin Laden was making. I felt frighten about how evil someone could be but at the same time I felt sorry for him because he actually thought that everything he professed was right and just. I wrote a book response over this book and trust me there was alot to write down about and alot to disagree about in this book. Definantly a great book to write about if your writing a response paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
Somebody left this a one star review, asking if it's "morally right" to publish a book like this. What a dumb question, of course it is morally right. Five stars because it contained a good quantity and variety of speeches, and because the translations were good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2016
A selection of Osama's words and videos. Good guide for those interested in his beliefs and ideology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2008
Many of these messages have been printed in whole or in part in other sources, however this book is unique and valuable in offering a very comprehensive collection of his statements and rationale. Osama bin Laden wages jihad against the United States, Saudi Arabia, and Israel, and those wishing to comprehend Bin Laden's actions should read this book. It is accompanied by excellent explanatory footnotes, offering concise factual context for Bin Laden's statements. While Bin Laden's thought rates only "one star" - he operates on the primitive logic of tit-for-tat violent retaliation - the book as a source for understanding his thought rates at least four stars. It is a good read for those wishing to understand his motivation for violent jihad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2015
Helped me understand more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2009
This book was a book of 3 choices in my government class. I had to write a "reaction paper" on this book. I must say, along with helping get an A on the paper - this book also taught me some things I didn't know! And for thos who THINK they know.. open your minds and THINK again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
If you want to know what Usama bin Laden has said....check this book out. great book for students of counterterrorism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2006
How can any of us put the "war on terror" into context if we don't know what the leader of the other side is saying? Bin Laden knows why he has organized his threat against the USA and he tells us. But our media, and our administration drown him out. The war could come to an end if we could hear what he is saying, if we could understand what he is saying, if we adjudicated what he is saying, and then do something about our acquired thinking. That process begins with the reading of this essential book, which is, actually, a step towards peace.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2006
As someone who has been critical of US foreign policy through a variety of administrations, it may seem inevitable that I would be drawn to someone like bin Laden. Having read my share of writings by sociopaths such as Hitler, Mao, and even Kaczynski, my only compliment for bin Laden would be that his thoughts aren't nearly as fractured and self-contradictory as others I've read. In a sense, I agree with the commentary provided in the foreword -- whatever his faults, he is very likely a true believer and not merely a charlatan.

On to the book. It enlightens on several fronts. It provides small glimpses into the world of Islamic expression -- I was never aware of the existence of Arabic literary forms such as the juridicial decree. It made me wonder how an American analog to bin Laden might communicate with the masses -- the newsletter, the Shakespearean sonnet, the folk song in 4/4 time, iambic pentameter, maybe even a film documentary. Could one man besides Bob Dylan be able to flow between media and literary forms with the ease of bin Laden?

Also interesting were some of the Arabic social trivia such as the uses of bin/ibn and Abu in Arabic names.

The sign of a good book (as with good research) is that it generates more questions than answers. For instance, why did bin Laden wait until 10/2004 to fully (or at least convincingly) accept responsibility for 9/11? Obfuscation? Maybe. The book itself does not hazard any speculation. My take is that he's reluctant to accept credit for something in which he did not personally participate. Once it was obvious he was going to get the rap anyway, he probably decided it was best politically to accept the credit. After all, he has to compete for resources with other jihadis, and "Mastermind of 9/11" is the jahidi equivalent to membership in the CFR or Trilateral Commission. We've seen recent (if less credible) examples of self-incrimination in the Moussaoui case.

That being said, I wish bin Laden much ill. If anything, he has given America an excuse to shed any vestige of self-reflection about its' past. What we've done to the Muslim world is a drop in the bucket of blood compared to what the Cherokee nation or African-Americans have suffered. If he has come to collect damages, the line forms in the WAY BACK.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse