BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Women's Coat Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Jessi James decker PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
11
Messier
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on December 6, 2008
I've read several Messier Books the past few years & this one I think was the most open & Honest, while mostly every book can deavle deep into the highlights of Messiers career & early childhood, Klein takes it a step further & really gets into Messiers early years such as his childhood & relationship with his parents & siblings, As well as his early playing days with the Oilers, it's a true depection of how he was just a kid growing up & did kid things, some good some stupid such as his Drunk Driving Areest in Edmonton while he was playing with the Oilers, it makes him out to be a mere man that grows into a living legend, not just the Legend itself.

Klein also peels away some of the layers of that immortal Legend, in particular Messiers power struggle with Neil Smith that Led to Neil Smith letting Messier walk & sign as a free agent with the Vancover Canucks, a move that siginaled the end of both Mens ultimate sucess in the NHL, the book takes you behind the secenes into a dysfunctional Vancover Canuck Locker room to which Messier was an easy target & got all the blame for there failures, but recived little or no credit for there future sucess, somthing that many of the current & past players on the Canucks give him credit for helping turn that Franchise around.

All & all an easy read, but very intresting, Well worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2010
I've read a good number of hockey books, not necessarily many biographies, but this one was a pretty bad read. It basically reads as a long Wikipedia entry detailing his achievements and statistics of each season and playoffs combined with quotes and stories from newspapers. Very little insight into his intensity and personality is revealed.

I realize Mr. Messier was not a part of this book, and that made it difficult (if not impossible) to really delve into him beyond statistics, but at the end the book was a pretty bland and dry read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2008
There I was, lying in the Italian sun reading about one of the greatest hockey players ever. Hardly a good preset to enjoy such a book but I tried it anyway.

The first thing you should know is that Mark Messier himself did not bother with the writing of this book. Messier doens't like to talk about his personal life and preferrably keeps it out of sight. With this, the book loses its personal touch so much other biographies have where the person is involved.

Everybody who's a hockey fan knows the player Messier. Those who saw him play remember the leader Messier. Unfortunately, this book doens't show you the person Messier enough. But then again, what are the alternatives...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
boring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
Book is good. Took a long time to receive book in mail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2005
Love him or hate him (and I love him), Mark Messier was the total hockey player. He could skate, shoot, score, play D and handle himself when the going got tough. The book does a great job of capturing the man who could almost will his team to win by his presence and his play. Klein does a great job of illustrating Messier's "lead by example." mentality. He also paints a fascinating picture of a guy who isn't just a jock, but is well-read, articulate, wears his heart on his sleeve and isn't afraid to shed some tears. I also appreciated the fact that, like anyone, he has shortcomings, and the author didn't overlook them. Any hockey fan will find this book ranks right up there with all the best hockey books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2003
Messier the player is one of those guys I always loved to hate, but it's so rare to find a hockey book that's actually WELL WRITTEN I had to pick this up. Klein and Reif's previous books always excelled in that way, operating on a level way above most sports authors, and Klein, solo here, does not disappoint. Impressive research gets you as close to the reclusive Moose as you'll ever get, and reveals a more complex, appealing figure than I expected. Exhaustive, but never exhausting. A smoothe, engaging, colorful read. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2005
Jeff Klein does a nice job of interviewing not only Messier's legion of supporters but also captures those who were and still are not enamored with Messier's commanding presence as the premier leader in team professional sports today. I enjoyed reading both sides of this biography that I found difficult to put down. A great read, one that all Oilers, Rangers and even Canucks fans who watched Messier over the years should take time to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2003
This book is a very excellent and complete view on a hockey legend, Mark Messier. This book talks about everything that happened in his carrer, good and bad, very neutrally. This book is chock full of information, I would definitely advise any hockey fan to buy this book.
Also Recomended: Thunder& Lightning: Phil Esposito
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2006
This biography is well written, pretty complete (although it was written before Messier retired) and fun to read. But it is unauthorized, as all Messier's biographies until now. So let's hope that some day Mark will tell his own story. That will be even more interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here