Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite uncharted Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$13.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 456 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 540 reviews
on July 26, 2017
Like other people, I'm also a HUGE fan of the Metal Gear Solid franchise, considering how long it's been around. 30 years now, I think? (shrugs) Sounds about right.

My biggest gripe is the title. It's too long. Instead of Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance, I think Metal Gear Rising alone would've worked.

Graphics: 9.0/10

I've played MGS3, Peace Walker, MGS5, MGS2, and MGS4 and they all look great and Revengeance is no exception when it comes to Graphics.

☝ HOWEVER! There are times when levels look too drab and doesn't have the best color palette, unlike other games.

Controls/Gameplay: 1.0/10

This is where I HATE Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance with a burning passion! Why am I using L3 + Square to "Parry" enemy attacks? I've played all the God of War games and I'm used to L1 being the "Parry" button, because TO ME, it feels natural. Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance however, it feels unnatural and makes combat feel clunky and slow.

I didn't play Bayonetta, because I'm not into fast-paced, high-octane, and over-the-top action games with a cliché nonsensical plot.

Plus, the demo that Kojima Productions showed us before Mr. Kojima cancelled Metal Gear Solid: Rising and renamed or rebranded it as Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance with help from PlatinumGames looked better than this.

If Mr. Kojima wanted to, he could've just stayed with the original ideas from Metal Gear Solid: Rising, had the title changed to Metal Gear Rising, and hand it over to PlatinumGames and tell them to keep the new title and original ideas in tact.

Did I also mention the camera angles suck? Well, they do, especially during boss fights or against multiple enemies. You might say it's too complicated to make this game fun. More like frustrating and rage-inducing and makes you want to give up on it.

Plus, there's QuickTime Events and Blade Mode, but they're mostly forgettable, because once you've seen someone or something get hacked to pieces in this game, it's gonna get old fast.

There is no "Stealth" in Revengeance, because it's an ACTION game! Unless it's a Stealth-Action game like MGS or Splinter Cell, you SHOULD inform people of this BEFORE they buy it. Otherwise, they're not gonna be happy about being lied to.

Story: 1.0/10

I don't even know how to describe Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance's story. Long story short, it makes no sense.

I don't see how this game is about "Revenge", just because Raiden lost an eye and arm to Sam in the first level. This games story is nonsensical.

How Revengeance even ties into the Metal Gear Solid franchise is beyond me. We only got to play as Raiden in MGS2 during the Big Shell incident and it should've been left at that.

WOULD I, COULD I, or SHOULD recommend Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance? As a rental? (shrugs) Why not? In other words, yes. As a full purchase? Absolutely not. But that's entirely up to you if you want to buy it or rent it, even if the price drops.

If you think the DLC will make this game any better, be prepared for even more disappointment than what you have for a game.

I'm sorry, but if I hated Raiden in MGS2, because Mr. Kojima replaced Solid Snake with Raiden for the Big Shell incident, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance makes me hate Raiden even more. I'm sorry, but that's just how I feel about Raiden.

How Mr. Kojima could allow garbage like this to be released to the public is beyond me, but it sucks.

Hope this review helps. ✌
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2015
Metal Gear Rising is a great title for any action game or Metal Gear fan, with a good deal of interesting setpieces and crazy boss fights. The fast-paced combat offers a good deal of challenge without becoming impossible, although some of the game's flaws will cause you to take a few cheap hits. Every character action / spectacle fighter has some form of combo system, and Revengeance is no different. The two things that separate MGR from the rest of the pack are its Parry and Blade Mode systems. Parry allows the player (assuming they're quick enough and can see the red glint on the screen) to deflect attacks by tilting the left stick towards the incoming attack and pressing the light attack button. This knocks the attacker off-balance, allowing you to kick their butt in retaliation. Combine this with Blade Mode, and you can clear a room of enemies in no time at all. Blade Mode lets you slow down time and carefully control the angle of your next flurry of slices. It is a bit of a gimmick, but is still satisfying to pull off (especially when dispatching a boss.)

Unfortunately, the camera holds close to Raiden, especially in tight areas, which aren't really conducive to the way the game plays. The combat works best when you have room to breathe, which some areas lack.

Overall, it's worth a play, especially if you can find it for cheap. It's also worth mentioning that the Bladewolf and Sam chapters are free on PSN if you're in North America.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
If you like hack and slash games, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is for you. The action is fast paced and Blade Mode gives you the satisfaction of actually dismembering your enemies with your weapon. The "blocking" system is actually a parrying system that requires you to flick the movement joystick along with the light attack button. If you time it correctly, it allows you to block and even counterattack.

The story is nothing special. It takes place after Metal Gear Solid 4, but you don't have to play it in order to play Revengeance. You get backstory to the previous games as well as characters and the world via the codec. The campaign is short, but replaying it on a harder difficulty will test how well you handle under pressure.

If you just want to have fun some fun, I would definitely pick up this game. I got it for eight dollars when I paid for it, but it's definitely worth getting if you can find it for cheap (no more than twenty dollars base price).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Like with the recent Splinter Cell:Blacklist game this newest release from the creators of Metal Gear doesn't solely rely so much on stealth anymore as it allows you to either try a sneak approach or just go full hardcore on your enemies.The main story is intriguing but also over the top in other parts of it too but that seems to be how most of the MGS storylines are.

The effects and graphics are incredible and the controls are pretty easy to learn how to use though some of the special moves can be annoying half the time. Still if you're a MGS fan and can forgo the lack of Snake being the main character you'll be surprised at how entertaining the game actually is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
Going into it, you know it's a Platinum game. And Platinum is known for balls-out action games. Boy does Rising fit right in there. The combat system works extremely well, the graphics are quite nice, and everything runs at an excellent framerate. The story might come off as trivial and dumb, but you have to go into it viewing it as a parody and deconstruction of the Metal Gear Solid mythos. It takes itself extremely seriously but it jokes about it the whole way through, chuckling and nudging you with its elbow, whispering, "You see this s***?" The music is a perfect match to it, blaring cheesy vocal speed metal (think Dragonforce) at you that I normally wouldn't be really into. But in the context of the game it is SO excellent. I plan to buy the soundtrack sometime and blast it in the car and get every speeding ticket there is. The cut scenes are quite mild in length for a Metal Gear game. I honestly loved every minute of every MGS cut scene, but can see how they might not appeal to some. Here they never over-stay their welcome. The voice acting is well done and campy, and animated actors on-screen really have a lot of personality despite their thin backstories. The game is a bit short, being around 6 hours long, but here's the thing: if you beat it, you're going to want to play it again. Probably on a higher difficulty. The combat system is so fluid and fun and it's framed so well in the silly story that you just can't get enough. If you go into it for a Metal Gear Solid game, it might not be your thing. But if you want an A+ action game within the MGS universe, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
So I'm a huge MGS fan & a fan of Platinum's games. Now you won't get anything close to a typical MGS experience here. The story is enjoyable, though somewhat unnecessary in the grand view of the MGS timeline. Its short as well, but this entry is all about the gameplay. If you are a fan of action games like Bayonetta or DMC you'll love this. The game runs at a smooth 60fps 90% of the time with pretty good visuals for the PS3. Gameplay is very fast & mechanics are as smooth as butter. Sub-weapons are a bit clunky but your main weapons are much better anyways. The story mode itself is very short but there are 2 free story DLCs with bonus characters + VR missions. The VR missions aren't great, but their inclusion by no means takes away from the game. The core gameplay itself is so fun you'll be replaying the story many times anyways, plus you'll be able to to upgrade your stats & try harder difficulties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
So for a gamer who has played quite a few games with swords in them, I can tell you this is one of the few that has pretty good swordplay. There is only one series (or 2 games) that seemed better, and that series was the Jedi Knight franchise (Jedi Knight: Jedi Outcast, and Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy). This game beats them in graphics but the sword play could possibly have been slightly better though I know its hard since very few game companies have been able to do sword play that well in the past.

I will admit iv NEVER been interested in the Metal Gear franchise. The only reasons this game got my attention was cause the main character always seemed cool and bad ass (as well as funny in some cases) and also the sword play looked really good.

He mainly only uses a sword for everything. He also has an ability to where you can slow down the perception of time in a way and be able to pin point which directions you want to slice. Then it speeds up and he does it quite fast. You even fight giant robot things which can be quite fun. It took a little time getting used to how to do some stuff but once I figured it out the game because quite fun.

Pros:
1. Good swordplay
2. Cool graphics
3. Some bits of humor thrown in
4. Metal Gear type stuff (if your into that stuff)
5. A cool character you play as

Cons:
1.Metal Gear type stuff (if your not into that stuff)
2. Cut scenes can get in the way sometimes, or having to slow down and walk while your on a call with someone between missions.
3. Can be a bit difficult at first until you figure out how everything works.
4. The final boss battle can be difficult until you figure it out.
5. Doesn't look like we will get a sequel anytime soon. :(

So for a game it might not be the best out there. But as a sword game its pretty darn good. Even if your not a fan of the metal gear franchise if your looking for a great sword fighting game you might want to pick this game up. There aren't many out there that have done a better job with sword fighting unfortunately. Well that's my review hope it helped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2015
Definately a change of pace from the previous iterations of Metal gear. The details in the graphics are amazing, but the game itself is lacking. It takes on a definite hack and slash feel as you mash the x button while traversing very linear levels. The story is overused and the character's personalities are campy at best. You almost want to laugh at the level of cheese in this game. If you're hoping for something like the last few games, look elsewhere. If you're looking to spend $10 on some great cinematics and a waste of a weekend, you've come to the right spot!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
I remember leaning to one side of the couch trying to peek around a corner in Metal Gear Solid (PSX) back in the day.. the tension.. the drama.. the art style..the music.. the codec..I have played all the games, own all Metal Gear games (beaten them all...well xept' this one..)

Well throw that all out the window...here comes Metal Gear Rising..and it's..not like any Metal Gear I've played..

I'm having problems liking this game. I'm a huge fan of platinum games - with Bayonetta.. and I thought platinum+Konami=Metal gear Rising would be totally awesome and visually it is!

Just.. Raiden on drugs..it's a little too crazy for me.. parrying attacks is very difficult..no stealth.. it's deep.. the story is sort of a Metal Gear (you infiltrate.. all you have is your blade..) but.. it's gotten so insane and story is so out there that I feel like we're all just finding out that the tanker in Metal Gear Solid 2 is really a giant Metal Gear all over again...

Sort of a "REALLY KOJIMA?" moment? If you're into action, hard rock, cutting up cyborgs and a Metal gear fan then you should check this game out but if you're a fan of the original Metal Gear.. calling Meryl trying to find the DARPA chief while trying to avoid detection, suspense.... theeeen you're going to have a hard time with this one.. hopefully Metal Gear Solid 5 is better (hope so..)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2014
Fun gameplay and mechanics to learn at your leisure with 2 additional campaigns to play at your leisure with another male character and a robo-cat campaign as free DLC. I bought the "Grey Fox" DLC for the Cyborg Ninja - Grey Fox costume and have been using that look ever since.

Basically, this game was played a lot by the people who made it and they also knew what they were doing while making it because it shows how much care and polish has gone into this game as far as fun and playability go and really nice graphics. Story is whatever if you want to pay attention to it here and there, I have not been and it just rolls on past and doesn't feel like missing anything, just playing for fun at my leisure so no complaints other than it does get tricky - difficult here and there, which means you will need to try to learn how to play and quickly - eventually with upgrades get very good at this game. 5 Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse