Buy New
& FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Mexico has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Mexico Import

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, January 1, 2008

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started
$25.23 & FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

Along with the two records by Nurse With Wound favorites Moving Gelatine Plates, Ergo Sum s weird and wonderful album Mexico is an unusual portal into the intense creativity of early 1970 s French music. True, the bands are not musically similar; yet these three albums are distinguished not only by their instrumental richness, but by their unceasing sense of adventure. We d go so far to say that Ergo Sum presents one of the most distinctive experiences in a rock idiom (apart from Zeuhl music juggernaut Magma) to ever come from France. The band s one and only album (1971) features the unique voice of Lionel Ledissez his guttural sort-of-English language delivery described as being somewhere between Family s Roger Chapman and a drunken Champs-Elysees taxi driver, although more sober comparisons to Tim and/or Jeff Buckley have also been made. The compositions develop at a relaxed pace; incredible jazz-inflected guitar, flute, piano and droning violin swirl around the vocals, and keep one submerged in, yet attentive to the intimate mood. Tracks full of instrumental richness they simmer, rather than blaze, which makes the rewards ever so great for patient listeners. Bonus tracks include the superb All s So Comic, one of the highlights of the Puissance 13+2 Thélème label anthology, as well as both sides of Ergo Sum s musically relevant single from 1972. A fulsome 28-page booklet includes band history, photos, lyrics, and a contemporary 1971 review from Superhebdo magazine. A three o-clock in the morning, slow burn album if ever there was one.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Night Road
  2. Unparalleled Embrace
  3. John's Nightmare
  4. Faces
  5. Second Rebirth
  6. Mexico
  7. I Know Your Mother
  8. Albion Impressions
  9. Lydie

Product Details

  • Audio CD (January 1, 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Phantom Sound & Vision
  • ASIN: B0016XR5OY
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,873,416 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers


Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Mexico

Look for Similar Items by Category