Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 24, 2015
A confusing read full of acronyms and graphs. The theories are among a lot of superfluous text that never seems to sort itself out. I later purchased "Economics, 5th Ed" from Barron's by Walter Wessels and it explained almost every topic in "Microeconomics" with greater clarity and less text.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2011
Although this book has plenty of examples and descriptions suitable for any undergraduate level microeconomics course, I personally struggled with the lack of math in the book. For the most part, the book lacks any mention of calculus at all, which is essential when discussing something like elasticity or optimization. When it does appear, subjects like partial derivatives or Laplace transforms are relegated to a short addendum at the end of the chapter, glossed over in a fashion that would make it difficult for anyone but math majors to understand what the author is talking about.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2017
We are using this text now in class. I NEVER saw a textbook introduce formulas and not have a single example worked out for each. I HAVE NOW! It is sad that this text even is allowed to be published in its current form. Really authors? Why Pearson keeps this text is beyond me, must be another additional purchase needed to rip us off for more money to get the formulas worked out. Que pasa?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
The 8th edition of this book was required for my intermediate econ class but the professor told us we could get an earlier (cheaper) edition. He seemed confident that the content would be the same but he wasn't sure if the questions at the end of the chapter would be identical.

After comparing some of the questions with classmates, it would appear that the questions in the 8th edition are the same as this 7th edition. (Obviously I have not checked every single question, but so far, so good!)

If you want to save an exorbitant amount of money, get this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
Good coverage but hard to follow in some places. Not a text I'll keep for life, but then again I have Hal Varian's to replace it. You will need some outside help with problems, so this is not a teach-yourself type book.

(Price not taken into account with this rating. The book is ridiculously overpriced, like all textbooks, but that's not a specific problem here.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2010
I have used this text -- Pindyck/Rubenfeld -- at the professional/graduate school level (that is, not PhD track in economics, but to provide the econ foundation to public policy and work of that sort).

It's an excellent, thorough text. The writing is not as engaging as Mankiw and Pindyck is more math-intensive (which I think is a good thing). Pindyck is, I think, more thorough than Mankiw. And Mankiw most definitely has a distinctly conservative political bent. Most of the excerpt writers in the book are very conservative (George Will, Jeff Jacoby). A handful of liberals are offered -- just a handful (Krugman). And Mankiw's characterization of a number of issues is conservative.

By contrast, Pindyck/Rubenfeld is far better balanced and far more rigorous.

The catch with the Kindle edition is that nearly all of the great layout and typesetting of the print edition is gone. Simple things like paragraph indents are gone, making straight reading more difficult. Type treatment (head/subhead, sans-serif, serif) is mostly gone. Color treatments to aid navigation of the text is gone.

So why does the Kindle edition cost $90 when the full print edition costs $135? 67% of the cost for 45% of the quality? $90 is a lot to spend just for the convenience of not carrying a large physical book. There are points where the absence of the print edition's formatting several hampers reading and clarity. Why? File size? And the fact that the Kindle is black and white?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2012
I used the book for a intermediate economy class at UC Berkeley. It book is very reader friendly as it deconstructs economics step-by-step. I think even a beginner economics student would easily understand the theories and math in this book. Although, there is a strong-lack of mathematics in this book but I think that works in the favor of the student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
I don't think any other book can explain Economics more simpler than this book. I was afraid of economics when my semester started but this book has made it one of my favorite subjects. The book presents some real world problems and explains them with the help of economic models, which I think is the most interesting part of this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
This is a decent textbook but in each section, the authors quickly jump into examples and advanced problems without taking the time to explain the fundamentals and provide the basic formulae. This was particularly frustrating for linear demand curves and price/income elasticity of demand/supply calculations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2015
The book is convenient to take with you because it's loose leaf, but also easy to be disordered. Be careful when read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse