Salon Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Russell Dickerson PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno


on April 12, 2012
For any student making the leap from elementary school to middle school, there are many uncertainties that can make this new experience stressful. In Moss's "Middle School...," her voice as a former middle school student with experience at multiple schools will quickly put an incoming 6th grader at ease. In discussing the various topics, she leaves no stone unturned as she addresses every uncertainty with precise detail and meticulous care. Another key aspect that sets Moss's guide apart from others of its type is her experience with Autism Spectrum Disorders, which she uses to give advice to others who face similar issues moving to a new school that she did. This makes this book excellent for all readers because it not only aids students with ASD and other exceptional students, but it also helps typical students to understand what their fellow students may be going through and may be able to lend a helping hand. However, I must add that since this book is coming from a girl's point of view, boys may feel uncomfortable reading about tampons and other aspects of female life. Overall, a must-have for any student nervous about entering middle school and wants to know the stuff that no one tells you about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2016
I purchased this book for my daughter that is Autistic. She really enjoyed reading it. It opened her eyes to things and helped her recognize a lot of things she was missing out on. I like that the book was written by someone her age which made it a lot easier for my daughter to comprehend. It wasn't like reading an instruction book; it was more about real life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2017
Great book for girls on the spectrum. Some stuff is out of date, but other than that we love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
I read this after my grandson started middle school and he has yet to read it. It is written by a young girl and geared toward girls with asperger's starting middle school. It is well written for one so young and points out a lot of pitfalls and how to overcome them. Granted girls have different issues than boys, but most of what she writes applies to both. I may not understand asperger's, but this has given me insight as to how to possibly help with t hose rough years of middle school or junior high.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2016
My daughter is a high functioning autistic 11 year old about to go to middles school. This book really helps her and me for that matter. Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
Helpful guide for my daughter. I don't rely on it, it's my responsibility to educate my kids; however, sometimes it's more comfortable for a young person to have resources that they can go to for answers privately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
This book provides much insight to what it is like not only to be in middle school, but to be a student with a disability too! Every student going into or already in middle school should read this book. Learning from Haley's experiences would help every student adapt to being in middle school and have a more enjoyable experience! GREAT BOOK!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
Outstanding book with practical suggestions for girls on the autism spectrum! A must read for middle school girls and their parents
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
This has been great for a couple of my teen age clients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
This book is such a great aid to students with autism or any other kind of disability! Haley provides a step by step manual to surviving the daily grind. I loved this book for that very reason. Any parent with a child that struggles with disabilities should definitely get this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here