Buy New
Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
The Midwest has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Midwest

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, December 29, 2009
Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from [Learn more]

Editorial Reviews

"The Midwest" includes five new original songs and five arranged blues tunes, mostly from the first third of the 20th century. The original works include "The Midwest," a rambling narrative about growing up in Iowa in the Sixties; "Shadows," a tongue in cheek song; "New Year," a somewhat melancholy but ultimately optimistic hope for a new and better year; "Truckload of Regrets," a bluesy number; and "Picture on the Package"-a song about the discrepancy between what's on the surface and what's in the depths.

The five arranged blues numbers include Blind Boy Fuller's melancholy, minorish "Weeping Willow;" Malvinia Reynolds' nonconformist anthem "Little Boxes;" Blind Blake's humorous "Police Dog Blues;" Sleepy John Estes' "Black Mattie;" and Willie Johnson's moving song "Soul of a Man," sung a capella with harmony.

1. The Midwest (Rathje) 4:29
2. Weeping Willow (Fuller arr. Rathje) 3:36
3. Shadows (Rathje) 2:40
4. Police Dog Blues (Blake arr. Rathje) 2:46
5. New Year (Rathje) 3:11
6. Little Boxes (Reynolds) 1:47
7. Picture on the Package (Rathje) 3:59
8. Black Mattie (Estes arr. Rathje) 3:45
9. Truckload of Regrets (Rathje) 2:38
10. Soul of a Man (W. Johnson arr. Rathje) 2:49

Playing time, 31.6 minutes

When sold by, this product will be manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Midwest
  2. Weeping Willow
  3. Shadows
  4. Police Dog Blues
  5. New Year
  6. Little Boxes
  7. Picture on the Package
  8. Black Mattie
  9. Truckload of Regrets
  10. Soul of a Man

Product details

  • Audio CD (December 29, 2009)
  • Label: New Leaf Interactive Media, Inc.
  • Run Time: 32 minutes
  • ASIN: B0032AM990
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Midwest
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Midwest