Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: MaTech Mil-Spec Back-up Iron Sight (B.U.I.S)
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Price:$89.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 14, 2013
Maybe the military loves it, but I sure don't. The major advantage to it is the ranging elevation feature, which is actually a pretty good thing. The problems start with the installation. Instructions say to turn the screw in by hand until tight, then turn it a further quarter turn. When I did that, it was still loose enough to fall off after firing a few rounds. When I put some torque to it, the screw snapped, rendering the sight permanently useless. It only has a small aperture, which to me is not a bad thing although it might be to others. It also doesn't lock in the up position, held in place only by a spring. I've replace it with a Yankee Hill.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2012
I chose this over the MAGPUL MBUS for two reasons. 1) While MAGPUL products have never failed me, I am not comfortable with placing my ability to engage a target in the hands of a polymer tool and 2) The MATECH was issued to me in Afghanistan and did not fail me once. I appreciate that you can co-witness with the CCO and EOTECH sights as well. Prompt delivery by the seller and perfect item make for a happy me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
Best value I have found. The BDC is perfect, Larue mount +acog clears it just fine, and if I use an Aimpoint or eotech in front of the sight it co-witnesses just fine. Mounts solid and stays down when in the down position.

You *must* know your rifle and ammo to get the most out of the BDC... it is a measurement tool. You must know how to use it. There are some good tutorials on the web, please look them up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
Awesome ranging rear sight for a picatinny rail, this is the best that I've found that adjusts for distance of a .223. The rear post with the peep flips up and locks into place firmly. The sight has a large lever on its side that you can rotate to distances marked on a scale, from 100 to 600 yards. As you rotate through the scale you can see the post with the peep sight move slightly up and down. this rear sight is made of steel and the parts are clean, and well machined. it is a precision piece of equipment. For the price, how well it functions, and the fact that you get the added feature of ranging, makes this sight my choice. If all you want is close range you may not need a sight, but if you want to reach out there and touch something, with accuracy, this is the sight for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
Great backup sight. Milspec, and the current as issued by the United States. The sights graduations help with longer-distance iron shooting. I use this as the primary sight on the gun, without an optic. But this will work fantastically with optics as it folds down nearly flat on the top. Picatinny rails and perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
taken it to the range a few times never any problems. wish i could say i have ran a few hundred rounds with it on but ammo is in short supply and over priced. sighted in easy just follow directions that come in the pack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
I love it..always been big on iron sites...the only problem I have is the adjustment for ranges is very rigid...it almost feels your breaking it to go from 1 range setting to the other...not very smooth..understand you dont want it popping off your setting but the rigid way that it is is difficult and not needed...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
Mine, might be defective. After a little while it constantly pops up while firing. Especially in rapid fire sequences. Maybe there's a way to tighten it down?
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
Installation is a breeze, and the quality is excellent. The only downside was the white lettering was a bit dingy, but was easily wiped off and then it looked perfect. Maybe this was to prevent fading, but just wanted to let people know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
Installation was easy, fit and finish good. Functions as designed. If you're over 40 you may find the small peep diameter a little difficult to view through. I added a little white color dab on the forward pin to make sighting a little easier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 37 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here