Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Miracle's Boys
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$18.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 7, 2005
A lot of people already know this story from the book but this mini series sheds a new light on it. The 3 part mini series is to good to be true so you know a lot of people have been asking that it be turned into a season series because of it's originality. The fact that it's not the same old TV show with the same conflicts and story lines definitely makes it stand out. It also has a stand up cast, The actor I respect most is Sean Nelson also known as Charlie in the show who would be most recognized from 1994's Fresh or 2005's Their eyes were watching god.

Nelson put in the fire and anger the show needed to keep it moving. If you don't know the story Miracle's Boys are about 3 brothers living in present day New York. The problem is that their mother who was the heart and back bone of the family died and right before her death her second eldest son Charlie was arrested for stealing and is sent to Juvenile hall. The oldest brother Ty'ree has to take care of his other teen brother Lafayette.

If that isn't bad enough Charlie is getting out and returns home with a huge attitude but nobody knows why. Miracle's boy is very interesting and will have viewers wanting more of a story after every episode even the last. I previewed this dvd and the picture and sound is excellent and it is also packed with extras and the making of Miracle's boys.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2009
I showed this DVD to my 7th grade students after we finished reading the book by Jacqueline Woodson. We took some time to talk about the differences between the book and the mini-series. Many of the students were surprised at some of the key elements from the book that were either left out or changed significantly in the making of the mini-series. For example, the issue of blame for the death of the boys' mother is such a strong feature in the novel but is completely left out of the mini-series. Another example is how the character of Aaron (Charlie's friend) is a bad influence in the book but appears to be a good, helpful friend in the mini-series. It was entertaining but the kids found some of the acting performances to be amateurish. The clothing, slang, and music seemed out-dated despite the fact that the mini-series is only a few years old. Overall, it was useful for a few comparison activities but not much else. Definitely not Spike Lee's best work.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2006
This movie was original, creative, and interesting. You can definitely watch this with your family and learn a lot of lessons from it. It shows there's a way to convey a positive message wtihout violence, sex, drugs, and profanity. It shows we can be entertaining without resorting to those things, and that is "keeping it real".

Now I need to go and read the book now that I saw the movie.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
You don't see anything like this on TV! This is a rare look into the lives of 3 young, African-american teenagers who's surviving on their own! Both parents are deceased and it's up to the 3 brothers to survive in a world of turmoil.
Ty'ree, 20 who turned down an opportunity to attend MIT, to look after his younger siblings is a boy you would want to date your daughter; Charlie, 16, just out of juvenile correctional facility for robbing a store, is trying to find is way back and re-integrate into society finds it difficult because he's wearing a badge of honor he doesn't want; Lafayette, 14, is a lovable character who's caught in the middle and is trying his damnest to master baseball, a game he's not so good at.

Through controversy and turmoil this film gives the viewer a glimpse into a window the world didn't know exist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2014
It's simple amazing to have the mini-series for the first time and really I know on what that is to be at between the family you have, people who loved, care about and to help take care of each other from anything wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
The last time I saw this movie before the day I bought this was 10 years ago. I never read the book but I do remember being in Middle School staying up all night to watch this because I thought it was an interesting movie. I wish they made it into a TV show and not a mini series. Overall, I would recommend it for other people to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
The book arrived in the time frame expected and was in great condition. I love this movie, it was used in conjunction with the book. Helped students understand the book better and make comparisons of the two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2012
Good acting by my two favorite actors(Sean Nelson) and the guy that plays the lead football player of the sabers who is married to melanie on(The Game). I was shock to see two of the actors from the famous series(The Wire). Cute little mini-series with a meaning behind it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2006
"Miracle's Boys" is one of my most favorite movies, since purchasing it last Thursday. It is wonderfully acted by all, "Pooch" Hall, Sean Nelson and Julito McCullum. By his acting in this, as well as HBO's "The Wire," he is on his way to doing big things in the acting world, in my humble opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2010
whom in hardship to understand that even they can make it , no matter what. They were going thru a hard situtation w/o mom and dad plus bro in jail....the bro in charge didn't know how to get bro back to be happy. If they got thru that, we can do it too with the Lord's help! Amen...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.52

Need customer service? Click here