Buying Options

Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $14.01 (52%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Mirrorland by [Carole Johnstone]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Mirrorland Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 563 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Treat yourself, you've earned it

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Mac and Windows desktops
    Desktop

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of April 2021: Mirrorland is a haunting thriller that quickly lured me in and held me enthralled as I raced through its pages. Once inseparable, identical twins El and Cat have been estranged for 12 years when El goes missing and Cat returns to their childhood home after two decades spent far away. As children, imagination ruled within this house, but the exotically named rooms, and the place the girls called Mirrorland, were tinged with nightmare edges. As each piece of the puzzle—El’s disappearance, the memories Cat buried in the dark corners of her mind—falls into place, the desire to know what is fantasy versus reality, and what truths lie behind a wall of denial, becomes more urgent and more terrifying. Hang on tight because Johnstone has plenty of tricks up her sleeve in this suspenseful tale of betrayal and revenge, memory and imagination, and the thin line between love and hate. —Seira Wilson, Amazon Book Review
Editors' pick: A suspenseful tale of betrayal and revenge, memory and imagination, and the thin line between love and hate."—Seira Wilson, Amazon Editor

Review

"I loved Mirrorland. It’s dark and devious, a neo-gothic featuring twin sisters and a deeply frightening old dark house. Beautifully written and plotted with a watchmaker’s precision." —Stephen King

"In this unsettling, labyrinthine tale, it is hard at first to tell who the villain is—or even how many villains there are in a family with a great deal to hide. The book unlocks its mysteries slowly, twisting the knife a little deeper with each revelation." Sarah Lyall, The New York Times Book Review

“An unnerving thriller. . . . Fantasy and reality intermingle when a twin returns to her childhood home to search for her estranged sister. As Cat roams the creepy house, memories of an imaginary world the twins created spring to life.”People Magazine

"Fans of twist-filled thrillers, look no further than Johnstone's tale of estranged twins who invented their own dark and imaginary world." E! News

“It’s hard to believe that this is Johnstone’s first novel. It’s slick and accomplished and drips with Gothic suspense, but never swings into melodrama. This is a writer to watch.” Globe and Mail

"Johnstone has plenty of tricks up her sleeve in this suspenseful tale of betrayal and revenge, memory and imagination, and the thin line between love and hate." —Business Insider

"Enthralling . . . a dark, twisting thriller that explores the pitch-black corners of people’s minds; how good and bad, love and hate, terror and joy can co-exist; and how childhood memories can be rewritten with time as the lines between imagination and reality are blurred. Fans of Gillian Flynn's creeping dread and Liane Moriarty's nuanced morality and complex relationships should love this book." —Kirkus Reviews

“Johnstone’s debut had me flying through the pages while also wanting to sink into her gorgeous writing. Paired with twists and turns I didn’t see coming, readers will certainly be in for tons of surprises.” —Buzzfeed

"This ambitious blend of psychological suspense and horror casts a powerful light on the liberating power of imagination." Publishers Weekly

“Melds intricate family dynamics into a gripping mystery with the undercurrent of a gothic novel.” —Oline Gogdill, Shelf Awareness

"Johnstone pulls out all the stops in creating an atmospheric mystery.” The Big Thrill

“An inherently riveting and compulsive page-turning suspense thriller about the power of imagination and the price of freedom.” Midwest Book Review 

“Carole Johnstone’s debut feels like the love child of Gillian Flynn and Stephen King. In Mirrorland, nothing is as it appears and the kaleidoscope twists and turns will have you frantically turning the pages until you reach the gasp-out-loud ending.” —Greer Hendricks, #1 New York Times best-selling co-author of The Wife Between Us

"A dark, twisty and richly atmospheric exploration of the power of imagination" —Ruth Ware, author of One by One and The Woman in Cabin 10

“A dark and twisty thriller told with thumping heart and extraordinary tenderness—Mirrorland is as much a celebration of imagination and its escapism as an examination of trauma and its echoes.” —Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Mercies

"A sinister study in estranged sisterhood and the shapeshifting powers of repression and denial. Thick with propulsive twists and immensely readable." —Sue Rainsford, author of Follow Me to Ground

"Thrilling, dark, and propulsive, Mirrorland is an unsettling shape-shifter of a novel. This is a story about a mysterious death and a long-buried secret, but it's also a fascinating, terrifying portrait of how we seek refuge in our imaginations—and how easily imagination can be confused with reality." —Anna Pitoniak, author of Necessary People

"An intricate, brilliant puzzle of a novel where past and present, fantasy and reality, are all clues that one twin must decipher to uncover the fate of her missing sister and the secrets of their shared past. It's Gone Girl meets Rebecca . . . atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping, a must read for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn." —Sarah Pinborough, author of Dead to Her and Behind Her Eyes

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08BZXHFR2
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Scribner (April 20, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ April 20, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2601 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 319 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1982136359
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.0 out of 5 stars 563 ratings

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
563 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on April 22, 2021
Verified Purchase
17 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 27, 2021
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 8, 2021
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 13, 2021
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 11, 2021
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Mr. Peter Webb
5.0 out of 5 stars superb debut novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 31, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Peter J
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant debut!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 17, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Bookmaksy
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 21, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
MistryOne
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic debut novel.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 16, 2021
Verified Purchase
helen coulthard
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 15, 2021
Verified Purchase