BCA Month Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on July 21, 2016
I vaguely recall this show when it was aired in the late 60’s and 70’s, I never really watched before few weeks ago. I have been a Fan of Martin Landau and Barbara Bain from watching Space 1999 and I have seen Martin Landau in a few Movies such as North by Northwest and others. I truly enjoyed the Show, its smart and captivating, once an episode starts you just can’t stop. The intrigue keeps you hooked. All Members of the Team and many of the guests Such as Mark Leonard and Ricardo Montalbán draw into each episode till the end. Got all Seasons !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
I grew up with a Saturday afternoon lineup of Shaw Brothers' chop-socky kung fu films, followed by the original TV series of Mission: Impossible, and then Star Trek (making a double bill of quirky TV shows green-lighted by Lucille Ball's Desilu Studios). I'm totally chuffed to see the series come back to Amazon Prime; the devious plotting, remarkable actorly range of the entire cast, and unforgettable music maintain this show's status as one of the great celebrations of the art of the long con. Season 2 is the first season with Peter Graves as Jim Phelps, the leader of the IM Force, and has the husband-and-wife team of Martin Landau as Rollin' Hand and Barbara Bain as Cinnamon Carter. So this and the following season feature the IM Force at their very best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
Much better writing than Season 1. But still so very hokey in retrospect. Just love how they can use a hammer drill through concrete, or a saber saw through steel plate, without those in adjacent areas hearing the goings on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2014
I consider this to be one of the best - if not the best - Television Show ever! At the time, it was extremely innovative: That collage that flashed at the beginning was a completely new idea. Plus, at the beginning the characters would go through the gadgets they were planning to use which also got up our curiosity. Not to forget the "Good Morning Mr. Phelps" and the recording would outline a situation/problem that the audience would wonder how in the world the team would ever pull off resolving. The show was hitting its stride in the 2nd year. I think Peter Graves did a terrific job as Mr. Phelps, tall, blonde and handsome-and a fine actor. Barbara Bain and Martin Landau were still with the show. I consider Miss Bain a Class Act, she brought something elegant to the show. Her husband was also a terrific actor, he could, at times, give you the feeling that he was having fun.

.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2015
First year with Peter Graves as Mr. Phelps (2nd year for the series.) This is the Mission Impossible those of us who watched it back in the 60's and 70's remember. These are not as high-tech as the newer Tom Cruise versions, but remember, this was back in the late 60's, before personal computers and cell phones and special effects (although the tape/ record he hears the proposal on automatically being destroyed at the beginning was pretty advanced for the time.)

If there is a drawback to this season, it is that they went with the stock team every episode. In the first season, they had more guest stars as part of the MI team, and made for a more diverse cast and story.

Also, unlike the DVD releases of current shows, there are no extra features or behind the scenes content to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
MI started to really hit their stride in season 2 - Peter Graves was a nice step up from Steven Hill as the team leader - and the plot lines improved too. Still a lot of cold war or Nazi party revival themes but this was 1967 remember. Martin Landau, Peter Graves, Greg Morris and Barbara Bain carried the stories as the core team. Peter Lupus was a regular as well but always seemed to have a background role. The original theme by Lalo Schifrin is classic and immediately recognizable - and the opening segment of clips under the fuse burning down motif is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
I loved this show as a kid. Now that I have had a chance to see it again, my view has changed a bit. Hey, let's admit it, The Mission is Impossible. It's fantasy TV, but at least season one's plots were conceivable. But season two should be called Mission Implausible. Still a lot of fun to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2014
Mission: Impossible is one of my all-time favorite shows along with Combat!, Star Trek (TOS), Colombo, Monk, and Seinfeld. Don't expect anything like the MI movies. Jim Phelps leads this team. Jim is not a traitor. Nobody named Ethan Hunt is ever in this series (thank goodness). It is a Desilu production and had a small budget (like Star Trek) but they still put out a good show.

Of course, most people only know of "Jim Phelps" as the team leader but it took me a long time during the original running of the series to get use to Peter Graves playing Jim Phelps, since I had seen Steven Hill play Dan Briggs who was the original team leader.

No fancy computer graphic or insane stunts in this series. No multiple plots. Just good old fashion intrigue and suspense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
Love watching the original show. I have watched Season 1 and it is good, but Season 2 has Peter Graves.

The clothing styles, all the smoking, the cars, the references to political events, great going back in time. Good quality and no commercials.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
I watched those show as much as I could when they were broadcast (I worked swing shift so couldn't watch all). They were among my favorites. I didn't think of them as camp at the time, but seem to be now to me. Still fun to watch - and it's been such a long time I don't remember any individual show so it's like seeing them brand new. Their form of conversation seem somewhat static, but at least these old ears can understand what is being said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse