Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 162 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 296 reviews
on September 25, 2016
This book is amazing on a number of levels. It makes you think about the absurd politics that interfere with serving the public good. We have brilliant scientists playing junior high school games involving their egos, machismo and greed. Candace Pert was a hero who was far underrated in her accomplishments and service to humankind. And this book provides the missing link between body and mind. It was a great reference for my book Stressing Out Over Happiness published in 2016. If you want to truly understand the industry of drugs, games and deception from an insider's perspective at the highest level, read Molecules of Emotion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2017
This is a wonderful autobiographical book that takes you on a journey as she discovers the way the brain works. It can be a bit technical for the non nerd types, but if you can get past the scientific terminology to understand the underlying story that the brain can and does link memories and emotions using chemical signals that tell other parts of the brain and the body how to respond when that memory is triggered. By understanding this it can potentially be possible to reprogram the brain to disconnect negative emotions and feelings by turning off the cell from sending out those molecules anymore... at least that is how i will be looking at the work she did.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2016
My favorite book of 2015. Candace did the groundwork in scientific research of the effect of neurotransmitters and endorphins beginning in the mid 70's and this is her personal and professional story. The facts are undeniable yet our ability to utilize her valuable information still remain untapped in many respects. Pharmaceuticals are one aspect, the actual understanding of our biochemical and psycho-neurological makeup a whole other concept. Great book for anyone studying natural cures, holistic health, energy work, psychology; the applications are endless.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
The true grit of science is still competition, hindering the productive flow of communication that catalyzes manifestations of truly life changing findings. This is not new insight, although it might be to some reviewers who balk at Pert's narrative highlighting this very flawed process. Her story is relevant even today with the internet heralding the 'age of information.' Also, let the woman's story be told. Rosalind Franklin, Jocelyn Bell-- just a few names of great female scientists who worked hard only to find the men they worked with steal their thunder...they stand as examples of what still continues today: sexism in organizations in the US. I find Pert's story as one that (obviously) stirs emotions, which seems appropriate considering this is (partially) what her tale is about. The title of the book, however, is misleading because I didn't necessarily sign on for 'Pert's story--' I signed on for neuroscience. Let it be known this is a not a singular book about emotions in the brain (see Drs. Damasio), but it is certainly one worth adding to a collection about this subject...let's face it, there are many different ways to discuss this fascinating topic, just beware what you are getting into with this one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
Incredible scientific look into humankind's raging emotions!

She is phenomenal at bridging the ever widening gap of the mental (or metaphysical) realm and its effects with the physical biological and chemical realm with their effects. What's the difference between the metaphysical and the physical, and what are the similarities? A great look into how we can leverage this knowledge to gain better results in our day to day lives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2016
I have read lots of books about Spirituality. This is the best book that I have ever read that outlines the connection of science with Mind, Body and Spirit. I highly recommend that everyone read this insightful and informative book. This book had changed my life, because it put all of the metaphysical pieces together. Now, everything finally makes sense. I would give this book 100 stars if I could!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
I have thoroughly enjoyed Candace Pert's memoir. She has a simple, nearly poetic way of capturing her honest emotions and scenes that occurred during those years of remarkable discoveries on receptors. I marvel at that ability. But, as can happen, she does not remember the details of receptor autoradiography, the techniques developed and used in my lab that showed the anatomical location of receptors in the brain.
Her first of several errors is on page 84, where she refers to me as an Assistant Professor of neuroanatomy. There was no such position. I was an assistant Professor of pharmacology and psychiatry. On p 89, she says that she wanted to be a postdoctoral fellow in my laboratory and that Dr Snyder agreed. But that never happened; Candace is not on my list of trainees, and on p 91 she contradicts herself where she says that "she returned to Sol's lab (not mine) to finish my postdoctoral work."
But probably her biggest mistake is in her description of her role in developing receptor autoradiography (a method for mapping the distribution of receptors in brain). On p 90 she says that "I worked meticulously at ironing out all of the technical niceties for five months alongside Mike Kuhar." That is not true. She had no part in working out the techniques, but she did use them later.
She also describes another mapping technique, called in vitro labeling autoradiography, that she claims she worked out with Miles Herkenham. But, in fact, it was worked out and published by my lab three years before her paper was. Scott Young did the bulk of the development of the technique, and he is not mentioned in her book. This history is described and documented in detail on my website at [...] I also pointed out these errors in my book The Addicted Brain (2012, FT Press, Upper Saddle River NJ), on page 96.
I don't want to detract from the beauty of Dr Pert's memoir, but only to correct her description of my role in various projects that she had similar interests in.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2006
A direct connection between your heart (emotion and feeling) and the rest of your body affects your state of health. According to Pert, "It is the emotions, I have come to see, that link mind and body." Dr. Pert is a research professor in the Department of Biophysics and Physiology at Georgetown University School of Medicine. The book reports on research findings and practical applications to body-mind medicine for health and happiness. Her research began when she was a medical graduate student at John Hopkins University in the early 1970s and carried on as she led a team of researchers with the National Institutes of Health (NIH) from 1975 to 1987. During that tenure her team identified "molecules of emotion." Combinations of tiny bits of protein on the surface of cells form receptors, sensors that collect chemical information carried throughout your body by other molecules called ligands. Receptors and ligands are very particular about the company they keep; to bind together they must be perfectly matched. Some ligands are natural to the body, such as peptides, neurotransmitters, and hormones; some are natural but foreign to the body, such as viruses; and others are artificial chemicals. When a ligand binds with a receptor (in what Pert calls "sex on a molecular level") information is deposited onto and into the receptor in a biochemical exchange that has profound effects. If a receptor waiting for a natural body ligand is unoccupied, because emotional repression has reduced the supply of peptides, for instance, a matching virus can dock and illness results.

Her story of how she made these discoveries reads as much like a modern spy novel as it does a scientific report. She goes on to make lots of imaginative mystical leaps about what these discoveries mean for living a healthy fulfilling life.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2010
I was disappointed in this book. Candace Pert's other books are pretty good. This book came highly recommended, but I don't know why. The information in this book that has anything to do with the title could be coverd in 40 or 50 pages and that information is good. However, the other 250 pages of the book is a autobiography. I am not one that likes or wishes to read autobiographies nor do I like authors mislabeling the titles of their books to get me to purchase them just to read 300 pages of selfagrandizing material trying to find the information that is realted to the title.

The information in this book has been covered in many other books and better. Unless you want to read the autobiography of Candance Pert, save your money and time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
I was excited to read this book as the topic is of interest to me, though I am not in a medical or scientific role. I was disappointed from the beginning as it is not written as a book, but as though the author is performing a lecture--it could be tightened up considerably and would flow better if it were not so "conversational."

Also, though I believe there are some interesting points to be made--the research and description of the research into finding a synthetic way to block HIV from binding were well done--the majority of the first part of the book was just too laden with scientific descriptions of various experiments for me to want to follow it. In some areas it read more like a manual for performing assays and scientific research on peptides. (It was, however, fairly easy to get the gist with a quick skimming through these technical parts.)

Finally, I don't know about the print version, but the Kindle version is loaded with typos (1-2 per page) and this was also a bit distracting.

Would love to see someone take this work and rewrite it for non-scientists!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse