Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Monarch: Lay Down Your Jeweled Head

Audio CD | Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, September 12, 1999
"Please retry"

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Leslie Feist has firmly planted her flag in the new continent of Whisper-Rock. Believe! Repetition and dynamics can become static fields where the slightest changes and nuances stand out. Feist's songs mix together sparse, stripped down guitars, soberingly personal vocals, melodica, a varied backbone of rhythm and lyrically portent storytelling twisted into odd timings. Simple! Tapping the same vein as Peter Gabriel and Cat Power, her songs pluck at the slightly out of tune strings of the broken heart.


Beyond technique and training her secret weapon is tonality. When you hear the words 'incredible' and 'extraordinary' to describe her voice, that's what they are talking about... The pure essence, the beauty of her voice, the conviction of expression is the quality of her tonality. A rare quality..." -- The Calgary Herald

English rock critic Simon Reynolds once wrote about liberation of sensuality in pop music, the utilization of the breath of the voice. This wholly applies to Feist'ssiren-like vocals...Media pundits are quick to compare Feist to modern divas like PJ Harvey, Bjork and Siouxsie Sioux. While these analogies aren't completely inaccurate, they fail to give credit to Feist's singular talent. -- Core Magazine, January 99

Feists sackcloth an ashes emotional vocal style. A kind of PJ Harvey after a day almost drowning at the beach. -- Calgary Herald, February 99

The emotion is there... and Feist's heart rings clear and true through these confident debut tracks. -- Exclaim! Magazine, August 99

Underneath her voice, lies the word play attached to her singing...Feist's mode of abstraction flies out beyond academia. Poetry and metaphysics...Feist's lyrics are full of vivid R.E.M. activity. -- Vox Magazine, April 99

See all Editorial Reviews

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Family
  2. Onliest
  3. La Sirena
  4. One Year a.d.
  5. Monarch
  6. That's What I Say, It's Not What I Mean
  7. Flight #303
  8. Still True
  9. The Mast
  10. New Torch

Product details

  • Audio CD (September 12, 1999)
  • Original Release Date: August 24, 1999
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • ASIN: B00002SFNP
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #723,048 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Feist Store

Customer reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top customer reviews

on August 15, 2000
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2009
Format: Audio CD
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2004
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse