Buy Used
FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Iconit
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: The CDs and Artwork look fantastic, the jewel case shows normal wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Monastic Chant Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, November 11, 2003
"Please retry"
$70.85 $10.59

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Resonemus hoc natali
  2. Natus est rex
  3. In hoc anni circulo
  4. Cogaudeant Catholici (from Codex Calixtinus) (attributed)
  5. De monte
  6. Ve mundo
  7. Benedicamus Domino - Humane prolis (St. Marital Abbey)
  8. In natale
  9. Lilium floruit
  10. Propter veritatem, gradual
  11. Orienti oriens (from the St. Martial Abbey)
  12. Virgo Flagellatur (School of Perotinus)
  13. Mors, clausula for 4 voices
  14. Templum cordis
  15. Benedicamus Domino
  16. Beata viscera

Disc: 2

  1. In seculum longum
  2. In seculum viellatoris
  3. In seculum breve
  4. In seculum d'Amiens longum
  5. Work(s): Iam nubes dissolvitur / Solem
  6. Entre Adan et Henequel - Chief bien seans - Aptatur
  7. Work(s): Je n'amerai I, motet
  8. Work(s): Je n'amerai II, motet
  9. Ave maris stella, intabulation for keyboard
  10. Work(s): Tous corps qui / De souspirant cuer
  11. Musicalis scientia / Scientie laudabilis
  12. Ave Rex Gentis Anglorum
  13. Work(s): Deus tuorum militum / De flore martyrum
  14. Work(s): Ave miles celestis / Ave rex patrone
  15. Beata viscera (Worcester Fragments, late 13th C.)
  16. Work(s): Thomas gemma Cantuarie / Thomas cesus in Doveria (Worchester Fragments, 14th C.)
  17. Work(s): Doleo super te / Absolon, fili mi (early 14th C.)
  18. Work(s): Work(s)
  19. Campanis Cum Cymbalis / Honoremus Dominam
  20. Sangilio
  21. Work(s): Venecie mundi splendor / Michael qui Stena domus
  22. Amor mi fa cantar
  23. O zentil madona mia
  24. Per larghi prati
  25. Mediolano Sanctus
  26. Work(s): Cum martelli / La manta
  27. Benedicamus domino
  28. Ut te per omnes/Ingens alumnus Padue

Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 11, 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Harmonia Mundi Fr.
  • ASIN: B0000APHOA
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #331,478 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
This 2-CD compilation brings together 2 previous releases by the Theatre of Voices under the direction of Paul Hillier ('The Age of Cathedrals' [HMU 907157] and 'Hoquetus' [HMU 907185]). The new title is somewhat misleading - most of the music is actually polyphonic (even if many of the pieces are indeed based on chant), much of it secular (particularly on the second CD), and lastly, it also encompasses works from the 14th and even the 15th centuries (contrary to the sub-heading which would suggest otherwise). Yet in spite of this minor mishap, however, it must be said that this compilation is simply outstanding: indeed, it is quite possibly the finest introduction to medieval music currently available.

Firstly, the range of pieces presented is staggering: it includes virtually all of the most important composers before 1400 (Leonin, Perotin, Adam de la Halle, Machaut, Ciconia...etc), as well as many of the most significant extant sources of medieval music (Worcester Fragments, the Codex Calixtinus, the Montpellier Codex, the Rossi Codex...etc). The stylistic range of included works is equally quantum, featuring (amongst others) melismatic organum, conducti, motets of the Notre-Dame school, a ballata, a caccia, an isorhythmic motet...etc.

Secondly (and perhaps most importantly), the performances are uniformly excellent, easily rivalling the best recordings of this repertoire by other 'a cappella groups' (such as the Orlando Consort, the Hilliard Ensemble and Gothic Voices): the intonation is virtually flawless, the ensemble precise and well-balanced, and the recorded sound warm without being too reverberant.

If these 2 points were not already enough to recommend this excellent compilation, there is yet another.
Read more ›
1 Comment 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?