Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews(3 star, Verified Purchases). See all 1,467 reviews
on August 18, 2016
Pretty good. Falls apart about 3/4 of the way through. Very interesting first half, less interesting finale. I mentioned this to an ex-ballplayer, though, and he told me this: "Billy Beane wasn't a winner, if I remember that correctly, right? I mean, he never won anything, right? So that "Moneyball" must not have worked out too well for him." The movie takes it a step too far, I believe. If he didn't win with it, and hasn't won with it since, what's the point? However, yes, Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill are top 10 actors in the early 21st Century, that's for sure. Not sure this ranks amongst their best works, but it's at least decent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
If you know baseball, you probably realize that much is left out here, but it shows how difficult it is to quantify talent and a player's value, especially in the face of long-held traditions based in large part on intuition. Can you really create a first-baseman out of nothing in a single season? I guess you can. Brad Pitt looks good as always, turns in a good performance as someone bucking the system, and makes it a movie entertaining and easy to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
The book is, quite frankly, the most book I've ever read. I enjoy watching baseball, but knee deep in statistics is not where you will find me. However, the movie adaptation provides something that the book doesn't have -- a plot. After all, the book is nonfiction and expository; it explains how Beane applied sabermetric theory to recruit players for the Oakland A's. The movie adds a little warmth to Beane's character, so it's not so dry. Pretty good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2012
This movie is a pleasant sports story written by the estimable Aaron Sorkin. But sports movies are always easy because we cheer for the underdog. Brad Pitt's acting was hardly the stuff of an Oscar Award. He mostly plodded through the film. Jonah Hill, on the other hand was a pleasant surprise portraying the knowledgeable but rookie statistics master mind that made the story happen. I liked that he got away from his usual image of a slacker to show some acting chops. In the end, I think I prefer an exciting horse racing epic, where the ending is seldom left in doubt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2016
Tried watching with the kids, but the beginning starts off a little rough and the drop the F bomb at least once. Other than that great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2017
Always enjoy Brad Pitt; good true story, but pretty slow to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2015
Would have given 5 stars but, I like my movies to look brand new, especially the case. And they put the used sticker right on the cover. Tried pulling it off, but it's leaving left over sticky stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2017
Good, but a little slow moving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
This movie is just so-so. It covers the story of the manager of the Oakland A's baseball team and how he changed the way management hired and fired players.He adopts the use of statistics versus the old school methods of hunches and crowd appeal. This movie looks like a pet project of Brad Pitt. It never ignites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
per say but still an enjoyable movie. I'm one of the few guys that openly admits being a Brad Pitt fan and being so means ill watch just about anything he does. I mean I even sat through Seven years in Tibet! In short, worth a watch if you haven't already seen it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse