Customer Reviews: Monster Hunter Illustrations 2
Amazon Vehicles Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 $25 Back with $50 Purchase Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon GoodGirlsRevolt GoodGirlsRevolt GoodGirlsRevolt  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Cycling on Amazon Fit for Fall Save on select BOB strollers, Car Seats & Accessories

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$34.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon December 25, 2013
Just like the first volume of Monster Hunter Illustrations, Udon has done a wonderful job again with this second volume.

This is the English translated version of the Japanese edition モンスターハンターイラストレーションズ 2 (Monster Hunter Illustrations 2).

This English edition is one single book as compared to the 2-book set of the Japanese edition. Udon has combined both books together. That's 400 pages of artworks. They even used the same type of paper as in the Japanese edition, semi-gloss paper for the coloured illustrations and normal white paper for the sketches.

Since the content is the same, I'll just duplicate the review for the Japanese edition below.

The games featured are Monster Hunter (tri-) 3, Monster Hunter (tri-) 3G, Monster Hunter Portable 2nd and Monster Hunter Portable 3rd.

There are plenty of art for the monsters, characters, weapons, armour and miscellaneous designs for symbols and other stuff. The monsters art has always been awesome. The characters wear outrageous armour and sometimes carry weapons bigger than themselves. The designs are pretty cool because they look organic as they are created from monster materials such as bones, teeth and leather.

The sketches feature character art mostly. It's pretty cool to see how the line work evolve into the actual coloured version. Unfortunately, the sketches are not labeled with the game they are for.

The text are mostly interviews with the designers. All the labels pointing to the drawings are also translated so you can now make sense of what's what.

Overall, it's concept video game art book for Monster Hunter fans and concept artists.

Highly recommended.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
77 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
I pre-ordered this book on Dec 2013, It was worth the wait. The book is thick, heavy and simply awesome. As an artist/graphic designer, this book contains images that inspire and even help in the process of creating a monster. It also has intricate art on character, armor designs and weapon designs. For a fan, this IS the book any hunter must have. I was actually expecting it in Japanese, but its in English making it more interesting to read, since the artists of the game speak about how they had to design the monsters and weapons. It also contains a black and white section (my favorite part of the book) with preliminary sketches and even designs that never made it into the game.

Definitely a must have for any collector, artist and Monster Hunter fan!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
Awesome Artwork from one of the greatest games ever. The Art in this book is beautiful and it has a lot of stuff that haven't made it into the games yet. Hopefully we get a part 3 soon for Art from MH4/G!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2014
If you are a monster hunter fan, like me, you're going to enjoy the hell out of this book. I spent about 4 hours just looking at everything in it. I honestly can not get enough of this book. I can't wait for the 3rd book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
I can't even process how much concept art is in this. So many armors and weapons, I just want all of them. Everything's going to be on the endangered species list now. Some of the weapons should have made it to the game.

Small downside, the latter portion non-glossed sketch concepts pages are kind of hard to make out the weapons/armor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2014
If you need some ideas for some exotic/ organic armor or weapons then this book is a great help. as a fan of the series this book has a lot to offer as it cover several games and puts them in one book. overall very pleased with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2014
Okay. So I ordered this book to add to my reference library and honestly I LOVE IT !!! Lots of Illustrations from monsters to Armor and settings. The only thing that I wish was longer in this book are the monster illustrations, they compensated with the weapons and armor sections but I love it greatly! I recommend this for anyone who loves the video game series and wants to see the process behind this series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2014
Definitely my favorite artbook in my collection. So much art - basically ALL concept I should add - such creativity. I wasn't even interested in Monster Hunter until I bought it - than gave the game a try but besides the point... its a great book EVEN for non fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
beautiful illustrations and everything i hoped for, from the monsters, to the armor and weapons, to the environments if you're a fan of monster hunter and love collecting art books, i highly recommend this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2014
400 pages of gorgeous, high-quality artwork and solid design.
The only problems i have with the book would be the layout, as the designs aren't laid out in a logical order or progression (e.g - early designs to finalized designs for each design), they're merely put into groups and not in any particular order. Also, they neglect to label the designs and instead waste many pages on a numbered glossary to reference what designs are.
In all other aspects though, the book is brilliant. Near perfect.
A must-buy for anyone who appreciates good design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse