Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 22, 2013
This game started out as Monster Hunter Tri on the Wii, was then ported to the PSP as MHP3rd with extra content added, and was again ported from Wii to 3DS with PSP areas and monsters added in and retextured. Then again it was ported from 3DS to Wii U. All in all that means there is hundreds of hours worth of playtime.

The professional reviews remark how the game's graphics aren't very impressive, but it's a Monster Hunter game and this is the best looking one of them all. If you're spoiled so bad as to care beyond a remark, then I pity you for being a young kid and missing out. Also, the character and monster animations are phenomenal, so you can't rag on the graphics for long before being wowed by the hunt.

The Wii U has full online. The 3DS version achieves online by tunneling through the Wii U like a router, so this helps if you're a family and one person has a Wii U and another only a 3DS. The Wii U has to have its own copy of MH and not be active for this to work. You can still play 2 player co-op using one Wii U and 3DS, or one Wii U and a maximum of 3 3DS, and also between 4 3DS. Both 3DS and Wii U can access DLC and event quests. Your save file can also be transferred between Wii U and 3DS, so you can take it on the go anytime you want.

The violence isn't a big deal in this game, you hunt monsters to gather resources and protect your village. Pretty sensible stuff that has always been part of humanity. But you still might not want to buy the game for a child under 15-14. They might not be mature or experienced enough to get through the first quarter of the game and understand all of the mechanics. Still, if your child likes games other than the yearly release of Call of Duty, this is a profoundly unique experience and, unlike so many games, is actually worth the full price.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
While I never played any of the previous MH games I did play the demo for this game and found it to be extremely entertaining a little like another JRPG game Ragnarok. The game allows for RPG characterization and item equipping as well as salvaging,roaming,hunting,crafting pretty much what we expect from any RPG but the monster hunts are extreme as the more harder the monster the greater the reward as usual. The graphics for the WiiU version are great as are the monsters when you see them and you have to wonder sometimes when you're facing off with one "was this really a good idea taking on a 400ft dragon?" kind of thought.

Regardless that's what you've accepted when you bought this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 30, 2013
I've been waiting for this very game ever since it was annouced in Japan a couple years ago. I'm a Monster Hunter vet, and started playing the series on Monster Hunter Freedom for the PSP. If you're looking for a WiiU game that'll hold your attention for a very long time, look no further. This game takes, literally, hundreds, maybe even thousands of hours to get everything that you want. The main purpose of the game is to, well, hunt Monsters. It's an addicting cycle of hunt, get it's materials until you have enough, and craft an armour piece (there's usually 5 pieces of armour per armour set), or craft/upgrade a weapon. While offline is fun, and is the ultimate (no pun intended) tutorial for this game, the real fun is when you go online. Quests are seperated by difficulty, so you'll never be fighting a strong monster with someone who's nearly defenseless. There are three main categories of quests. Low-Rank (ranks 1 and 2), High-Rank (ranks 3, 4, and 5), and then G-Rank (ranks 6 and on). Low-Rank monsters pose little threat to players who are either returning from previous Monster Hunters, or have done some of the offline quests, and know the basics of the game. If you're brand new, Low-Rank monsters is a good challenge, and requires you to be on your toes for the entire hunt. High-Rank monsters are a bit stronger, and you're introduced to Subspecies of some monsters (which are awesome, and usually the armour/weapons have different attributes). G-Rank monsters is when the challenge really comes. G-Rank monsters (even for vets) will always be a serious challenge. They hit hard, and take a long time to kill. Overall, Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate is the best game for Wii U out right now, and probably will be for a while. There's hundreds of quests, thousands of armours and weapons, and millions of amounts of fun.

Graphics: 9/10 (The WiiU version is a direct 3DS port. Some of the textures are a little edgy and spotty. But the monsters look AMAZING)
Controls: 9/10
Content: 10/10
Lasting appeal: 10/10
Hours I'm going to dump into this game: My goal is over 1000.

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate for the WiiU is an incredible game, and the best in the series. It takes hours of patience and perserverence for this game to start paying off, but once it does, you'll be hungry for more. This game is not for the faint of heart, or a "quick fix" of gaming. It requires hours of play to master. Luckily, practically everyone that I've met online is more than willing to offer a helping hand. With the inclusion of mic chat (which I'm not a big fan of..) communicating is easy, and quick. If you don't want to hear, or use mic chat (like me), there is an option to turn it off. CAPCOM has hit a bullseye with this game, and I hope that the Monster Hunter series becomes better and more known in the West. This game deserves attention from the masses. It's a very nice mixture of action, RPG (there's stats and skills, but no real "leveling up"), and strategy. Glorious game from beginning to end!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2013
First off, for those who have enjoyed other Monster Hunter games get this. It is more fun than any other games in the series to date. Next, for those who have not played any Monster Hunter games, ask yourself these questions:
1. Do you like games that challenge you?
2. Are you a fan of epic boss fights?
3. Do you enjoy crafting?
4. Do you like gaming online?
5. Are you patient?
6. Are you strategic?
7. Do you like button mashing?

Answers:

1. If so this is a good game for you as it will test you and force you to review your tactics constantly.
2. If so then this is an incredibly good game for you as most quests have you fight enormous monsters and they can last anywhere from 5 (if you are familiar with the monster and have EXTREMELY good equipment) and 45 minutes.
3. If you do then you are in luck as to fight the bigger and tougher monsters you will need to craft armor and weapons from lesser monsters to give you added defense and attack. I don't really like crafting in other games but in this one it is very fun.
4. If you do then get the games as there is the online mode allowing you to hunt with 3 other people from around the globe.
5. If you are then you will enjoy this game because anyone who charges in recklessly will get killed rather fast.
6. If you are then you will enjoy Monster Hunter, because you need to size up a monsters strengths and weaknesses as well as its moves and look for openings to strike. When you do this killing your target will be much less trouble.
7. If you do then DO NOT get this game as Monster Hunter requires precision and if you button mash YOU WILL DIE. And you won't get past the first level of monsters.

So if you answered yes to three of these get the game. You will enjoy it, maybe not 5 stars worth but enough to justify the buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2017
Amazing game with tons of hours of playtime. MUST own title if you have a WiiU.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 26, 2013
Had a great time playing this with friends both locally and over the internet.

A difference with this game versus many others is how scaling works. You will scale with items (weapons and armor) but they don't affect your survivability beyond skills affecting you at any time or much more than allowing you to simply hunt monsters more quickly. What this leads to is the feeling that after a few hours into it you can look back and see how you as a player (or group of players) have improved in your skill and tactics.

The exception to this is with skills and defensive stats which are more plentiful the farther you get. However, since armor sets limit what skills you can obtain/have active at any time there is still an amount of setup and preparation required for each hunt. The scaling of weapons is also easily offset by how newer monsters will have many more tricks to use or have much more damage and health as well.

While it can be somewhat grindy at times it ends up being very rewarding. In addition, the learning curve is a bit heavy at times and it doesn't always have very good in-game description for a lot of abilities or skills. I or my friends often ended up looking up what things meant or how mechanics worked online, but you can easily play without this knowledge by paying attention to what everyone says or through the feel of the game (monster's reactions/animations).

To summarize, it is a game where as you play you can reflect on your journey and see that, while your character may have progressed in the armor, weapons and items available, you will also have progressed as a player in skill and observation to overcome increasingly challenging problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 4, 2015
+ sweet skill based combat
+ awesome primeval monsters
+ destroy nature wearing the latest in fur and scale fashion
- punishing drop rates
- lame water combat screws up your dodging
- not super original if you played Tri
- not Monster Hunter 4U, which is 3DS exclusive

This game is great. I use the WiiU gamepad more than I thought I would. I really wanted to buy MH4U but I don't have a 3DS. Capcom please. The multiplayer is still plenty active though most users are end-game these days. BEFORE YOU BEGIN metagame your charm table carefully. I consider this a fault with the game. Pretend that DLC is getting produced fro this game and not MH4U. Seriously, they're supporting the heck out of that game and I would buy it for the WiiU instantly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 28, 2014
The game starts off slow to introduce the basics of the game, but quickly becomes a challenge when the actual combat with large boss monsters begin. For a beginner to the series, it may take a while for the controls and movements to set in. Coupled with the unforgiving though fair game-play, frustration can set in. After this initial learning phase, the game becomes much more rewarding and fulfilling. Despite lack of leveling, the item grind gives a sense of progression.

The best part is of course playing with friends. Whether helping a friend grind their gear or tackling a new challenge together, the multi-player is the reason why I even bought the game in the first place. Thankfully, the grouping process is quick and simple.

Despite having played 27 hours, I still have fun, and there is still much left for me to explore. All in all, a great game for both solo and multi-player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 31, 2014
Video games provide big benefits for kids. I know a lot of people are worried about obesity and sedentary lifestyles, but despite being gamers, our kids don't suffer from inactivity. What they do get--and have gotten especially from Monster Hunter 3 for the WiiU--have been opportunities for social play. It hasn't ended either. I bought this game over 2 years ago and just last night my son went over to his friend's to play with a group of kids. The WiiU and 3DS versions can interact, too, which really opens up social potential and long-lasting use of the game. Definitely worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2014
This game is GREAT!!!! But before I start the game review let's just give a special shoutout to how EXTREMELY FAST the shipping was!!! I ordered another game 2 days before this one and this game still beat the other game!!! I forgot which seller I ordered this from, and I'm not sure if this review gets directly posted under the one I bought from, but it was the cheapest one that had free shipping!!!

Now onto the game!!! This game def starts out slow, but it is CRAZY rewarding once you start getting good weapons and armor. If you are an impatient person who wants to just be able to jump in and play, this game prob isn't for you. However, if you can pull through the beginning part, the game is super fun, especially if you get a couple friends to hunt with you. Solo-ing the game is very difficult once you get to G-rank, which is where having a friend with the game is very beneficial!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here