Spring Deals Automotive HPC Children of Blood and Bone New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy  Echo Dot Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite Shop now TG18SW_gno

on November 15, 2015
Is it even possible to improve on anything that has Monty Python as part of the title? Yes! Throw in a castle complete with catapult and animals ready for flinging! I pre ordered this and waiting impatiently for it's arrival. It didn't disappoint! And as a bonus, it arrived while one of my grandsons was staying over. We promptly proceeded to watch the movie while catapulting animals across the room. A great time was had by all! Don't deprive yourself, your children or your grandchildren! Every home needs castle complete with catapult and animals!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2015
I'm a die-hard Python fan. I even have an autographed picture of Michael Palin he gave me when I was 13 (I'm 50 now). This box set is way over-priced for just including a flimsy catapult set that you have to get exactly right or it won't fire. The novelty wears off quickly because the catapult sucks so much. I tried to ambush my grown daughter with it, yet the cow flew backwards and hit me. Hard to put away once you attach the catapult correctly, and I was afraid disassembling it constantly would wear out the cardboard.

The film is old so it is quite grainy on Blu-ray, so no real improvement of picture quality. There is only one disk. Not a lot of extras for the price. Just buy a regular DVD of the movie.

Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time!
44 comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 8, 2018
I didn't buy this for the castle box and catapult, but I have to admit, it provided a few minutes of fun. Getting to the disc itself can be a little bit tedious: you have to remove the plastic sleeve around the box, then you open the box, then you slide out an inner box, then you remove the outer Blu-ray case sleeve, then you slide off the outer box on the case, and finally you're faced with the actual, plastic, standard Blu-ray case... but you're not done yet, because it's got a latch on the side that has to be opened before you can open the case and get to the disc. If I didn't know better, I'd say this was part of a Python joke. But once you're in, you get a great film transfer. I prefer the old mono sound, because I can tell that they remixed the music and re-recorded the voice-overs on the 5.1 audio. You've seen most of the special features before if you have the 2-disc DVD special edition, but there are a couple of new things on here from 2015. All in all, it is worth the money, and I'm quite satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2018
Monty Python and The Holy Grail is one of those movies that I just have to have a "fix" of once in a while. I have no idea how many times I've seen it. If you haven't seen it yet, you must be a "son [or daughter] of a silly person!" This edition has a second CD with a ton of fun extras, including lists of the multiple characters played by each Monty Python member. That alone makes it worth the purchase. Go buy it now, or I shall "taunt you a second time!"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 25, 2013
You know the scene: the Pythons riding through the countryside on their faithful invisible steeds, clip-clopping of hooves provided by a lackey clapping coconut shell halves together, in their search for the Holy Grail. They encounter all manner of obstacles and strange characters, from oppressed peasants who object to King Arthur's very existence, to three-headed knights who block their path, to a wizened gatekeeper for whom they must answer three questions, to a killer bunny.

Monty Python is an acquired taste, and this is their best film to help in the acquisition. Holy Grail is a highlight of a youngster's coming of age, providing a host of quotes and situations that are referenced forever after: the buxom maiden whom the duke tells his effete son to marry because she has "vast [slight pause] tracts of land"; the French knights somehow ensconced in a castle in England, who tell Arthur they don't want to join the quest for the Holy Grail because they "already have one"; the knight who suffers a "flesh wound" as his limbs are lopped off one by one; and the blessing of the Holy Hand Grenade for use against the killer bunny.

The Holy Grail was filmed with modest production values, but the Blu-ray picture quality is surprising, showing greatly improved colors and details. Although not the type of film one watches for reference quality video, it is nonetheless very pleasant to take in all the hilarious nonsense with a better picture. Numerous special features are offered on the Blu-ray, mostly ported over directly from the two-disc DVD edition. Like most Python productions nothing is taken too seriously, not the characters, nor the sets and costumes, and certainly not the story. But this casual appearance should not hide the fact that these guys are seriously funny, their stories endearing, their films memorable. King Arthur decides at one point that they will not return to Camelot just now, because it is "a silly place". Holy Grail is a silly movie, and it should be visited early and often in hope of finding still further silliness.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2018
The Monty Python TV series is somewhat uneven, but their best stuff is usually very funny and often hilarious. That's the case with this movie. Overall, it's highly entertaining and very funny, sometimes laugh out loud funny, always enjoyable. If you are easily offended you may not like it. On the other hand, if you're easily offended you probably have no interest in Monty Python anyway. A few people complained about the black knight, I thought it was hilarious, but I have a "dark" sense of humor. If you've watched and enjoyed "Monty Python's Flying Circus," you will most likely enjoy this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
As a Monty Python fan I've patiently waited for this movie to come to Blu-ray(2012) but didn't have very high expectations that it would look and sound all that good. Well I was wrong. It looks and sounds Great! And I'm not going to tell you it's an excellent movie, you already know that--great British humor(actually universal humor), ridiculously funny, great actors. And a silly price of only $9.99 (was $12.99 on release date).

Sony did a 1080p transfer(1.66:1 original aspect ratio) of this movie that looks amazing! There's lots of strong detail in faces, clothes, as well as surroundings like buildings, grass, trees. Flesh and earth tones look very natural. Blacks are deep. Strong color is not going to jump out at you, but that's just the nature of the film as the outdoor setting of much of the movie's grass, dirt, and rocks(browns, blacks, grays & greens) never contained strong color elements. But what color there is (like in the tabards,coat of arms, shields) looks very good indeed. Is the movie without soft shots or grain? No, but they've brought out a whole lot of nicely rendered detail that makes the movie a joy to watch. Until now, I feel like I've only seen this movie through a fog. Well, the fog has finally lifted and everything looks sooo fresh.

The audio is a lossless soundtrack (DTS-HD MA 5.1 lossless). Voices sound very crisp and clear. Sound effects in general are very good. Audiofiles will notice some very rich sounding sections, but also some that are just acceptable. Overall, it is very enjoyable with nice use of surround sound and I think most people will be more than happy with it.

LOTS OF EXTRAS: (Some New Stuff)
Lost Animations (1080p, 12:55) Features Gilliam animations deleted from the film. ***New for this blu-ray release***
Outtakes & Extended Scenes (1080p, 18:57)***New for this blu-ray release***

Subtitles for People Who Do Not Like the Film (From Henry IV pt. 11).
3 Mindless Sing-Alongs (480p, 5:10).
How To Use Your Coconuts (An educational Film) (480p, 2:58)
Quest for the Holy Grail Locations (480p, 47:00) Special Documentary
Cast Directory Photo Gallery (1080p).
Lego Knights (480p, 1:43): A lego recreation of the "Camelot's a silly place" scene.
Meanwhile, King Arthur & Sir Belvedere...
Elephant & Castle
Run Away!
The Tale of Sir Robin
The Tale of Sir Lancelot
BBC Film Night
Re-release Trailer

There are a couple more Commentaries, a Japanese version of 2 scenes(English subtitles), a UV Digital Copy and some credits AND the first subtitle from the opening credits that was missing on the Special Edition DVD is back. Comes in BLUE AMARAY CASE, NO SLIPCOVER.

If you've never seen this movie, you are seriously missing out. Monty Python and the Holy Grail [Blu-ray]
Endless re-watchability.

FREEBIE FOR iPad Owners: Free After Rebate--get the related iPad app called "Monty Python: The Holy Book of Days" ($4.99, App Store) - Re­creates the 28 days of location shooting of the landmark film. Mail-in rebate if you buy the iPad app AND the blu-ray. Rebate info is supposed to be on the back of a sticker on the outer wrapping, but some people are reporting there is no sticker so I've included all the rebate details in the first comment below this review.
According to the App Store:
"With your iPad and Blu-ray player synced via your WiFi network, the app becomes your remote control and lets you see the exact scenes talked about in The Holy Book of Days. It's an entirely new way of watching the film."

UPDATE: 7/10/12 the "Monty Python: The Holy Book of Days" app for iPad is still available on iTunes but it's $4.99 now, no longer free.
44 comments| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2017
My brother is a HUGE Monty Python fan and he tends to be hard to buy for so I was really happy to snag a lightning deal on this box set. He was beyond thrilled and thought the little farm animals and castle was hilarious. I'm pretty sure I scored some extra points with him since he seemed to like my gift the best this Christmas. Who doesn't enjoy the silly ridiculousness that is Monty Python and the Holy Grail? Only the Knights that say Nee! Don't be a Knight that says Nee! Buy this set and make the Monty Python fan in your life a happy man or woman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2016
What can I say in a brief review that could possibly do descriptive justice to this most hilarious and absurd movie? Certainly Monty Python humor is not for everyone—it requires a patience for comedy and a delight in absurdity. But for those with these cultivated tastes in sketch humor, this movie is both a crowning and a clowning achievement. I personally laugh uncontrollably through most of the movie and find myself debating with other viewers as to what are the funniest bits in the movie—the taunting insults of Norman castle guards (“Your mother is a hamster!”), the attempts to use medieval logic to construct a “witch-test”, the strange demands of the Knights Who Say Nee (for a shrubbery), the Holy Hand Grenade (my current favorite), or the Three Questions asked by the Bridge Keeper at the Bridge of Death—these are all unforgettable routines at the very apex of comedy. WARNING: If you need conventional realism or even cinematic coherence, this film may not be for you! For all others, carry on with your quest for humor!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2018
I was surprised at the language and the frequent use of the F word. I was hoping to show this classic to my 10 year old grandkids but will not be doing that. Now that I'm 65 having never seen the complete film I found it to less funny that the few clips they normally show. As with most film previews in 2 minutes they can show all the funny parts of the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse