Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: Board book|Change
Price:$3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 778 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,101 reviews
on January 25, 2016
Cow says Moo
Sheep says BAA
Three singing pigs say La La La

No, No you say, that isn't right
Pigs say Oink! all day and night!

I purchased this book when my daughter was about a year and half old. The text is simple and the pictures are pleasing. When we received the book, I thought it was too simple and that she would get bored. I was wrong! We have read this book HUNDREDS of times. For a while, it was her first and only choice. We read it so many times that I knew it by heart. If she was upset in the car we would start "reading" without the book. She would instantly simmer down and start filling in the animal sounds.

Fast forward a year after a move left it buried at the bottom of a box. We came across this gem of our collection. Now almost 3, she says, "My moo book, my moo book! Please read moo moo!" It was left, but not forgotten. What was once a staple in our bedtime routine now brings joy and delight to her one year old sister.

If you are looking to add this to your own library, DO IT! You won't regret it! It would also make a great baby shower gift or first birthday present. Some of our other Boynton favorites are Barnyard Dance and the Going to Bed Book.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2016
Awesome board book! We got this book only a week ago and it already became one of my daughter's favorites! It's perfect for her age (14 months) and she loves when I read it to her. She is learning what the animals say and imitating some of them too! I like that the illustrations are just the right amount, so she can focus better on them.

The rhymes are simple and grab my daughter's attention every time. We read it over and over again. I chose the board book with the thick board pages, so it lasts for more years. The Moo Baa La La La by Sandra Boynton is a book I would definitely recommend - fun, entertaining and educational.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2017
My toddler and I love Sandra Boynton books. This one was one of our favorite when she was a bit younger. I would read the book but leave it for my child to fill in the blanks and say the animals sounds. At the end of the book, I would point at the different animals and ask her the name of the animal or the animal sound.

Even though she's mastered animal noises and names she still picks this book up from time to time. Wonderful simple read that helps teach young kids about animals and their noises.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Shakespeare knew it, and parents and other adults know it: People love a comedy of errors. Perhaps the most delighted audience is the youngest; toddlers love hearing mistakes and correcting them. It's a surefire hit for their certain sense of humor, and Sandra Boynton exploits this beautifully in this small board book.

Just a few set-up lines and Boynton is ready for the book's main joke:

"A cow says MOO."

"A sheep says BAA."

"Three singing pigs say LA LA LA!"

"'No, no!' you say, 'that isn't right.

The pigs say OINK all day and night.'"

Practice your dramatic abilities and really ham it up (pun intended) when you read the singing pigs and "that isn't right" lines on pages 3 and 4. There's also some action (dogs chasing cats), and a nice quizzical conclusion: ("It's quiet now. What do you [underlined] say?")

Boynton's familiar style is whimsical and slightly tongue-in-cheek. Her animals have very expressive, human-looking emotions, conveyed mostly through the eyes. For example, a quacking duck and a neighing horse aren't intrinsically very interesting, but when they're facing each other with similarly baffled faces, there's a subtle humor. The singing pigs, by the way, are anything but subtle. They're pizzazed out in coordinating striped pants, solid sports coats, and elegant white bow ties. They excited pigs dance in unison and hold canes in a showy vaudeville style. For a short and simple board book aimed at the very young, this is lots of fun. For older toddlers, take a look at Boynton's counting book with a difference: "Hippos Go Berserk!" She knows and loves her animals, and so will your little one.
11 comment| 177 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
Sandra Boynton is one of our favorite authors for bedtime - the books are a manageable length with cute images and catchy written words. This particular option is great because it teaches little ones different animal sounds. We started to read this book a month before a visit to a farm animal sanctuary, and he was mooing, baaing, and oinking at all the animals. Definitely a worthwhile add to your little one's reading collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sandra Boynton's works are a staple in our baby/toddler/preschooler library. I am not going to sugarcoat this...if you want your kids to grow up to be intelligent, kind, generous and successful, you must get this book. And don't forget "But Not the Hippopotomus" or "the Going to Bed Book!" Yes, there is still a chance they could get into Ivy League schools without some of these foundational masterpieces, but why chance it?! If their futures matter at all, click "add to cart" now!!

Ok but really...how would we choose the best Boynton books? My favorite might be The Going to Bed Book but our kids adore this cute little animal sounds story. They also love Barnyard Dance and Snuggle Puppy with similar fervor.

You can't go wrong with any of them!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
My daughter adores this book, and will happily listen to me read it over and over; it's one of the ones she picks most often for story time. Sandra Boynton is one my favorite baby book authors; the flow of her books is good, she incorporates tons of animals and animal noises, which my daughter adores, and the illustrations are cute and engaging. I'm slowly collecting them all, and strongly recommend this book to anyone with a baby / toddler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2016
I have read this book to a lot of kids and they all love it! It also came in excellent condition.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2016
Really nice book that incorporates "This animal goes XXX, And this one goes XXX" - With simple, fun pictures, and a little fun to keep my baby interested

The illustrations are simple, so that my daughter can focus on them, and the animals look interesting and fun, but are not so artistically changed that I feel like my daughter wouldn't recognized what they are. A lot of books go a little too far from the animal they are trying to draw and I worry my child might not make the association.

It's short, simple. And strangely cool in the way of coloring. So many books are bright and in your face, this book was not like that. Which made it very pleasant to read to my infant.

This is a really good book for very young children who are starting to babble (baba, dada, mama) - To encourage such sounds and put some sounds to common animals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
My youngest grandson loves it whenever I read this to him.He will be 2 years of age in late January.This is the second copy I purchased for him,he chewed the first one and messed up the binding.He often takes the book sits down in hallway on the floor and opens it up.Whenever we sit on the bed or the couch,he likes to take my finger and point to the animals and we make the sounds of the animals in the book.I enjoy reading with him,he's a 'Nana's boy'.My daughter also reads other books to him and his older brother who will be turning 3 on Oct 31st.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse