Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11

on July 20, 2014
Wonderful Christmas CD!
Beautiful arrangements by a CLASSIC group from the 60's. Judith's beautiful voice shines through on this CD as on all of the other Seeker's LP's or should I say CD's. Very nice addition to my Christmas collection. The other 3 voices are wonderful also.
I've just added FUTURE ROAD to my collection as well....if your a Seeker's fan such as I, you may want to give Future Road a listen....still a beautiful sound from a Legendary group...thank you....Judith, Athol, Keith & Bruce!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 29, 2018
Glad to be able to get this excellent CD by this fabulous group. Great Christmas album
which was enjoyed by all the family. Shipment arrived timely and in excellent condition,
as all products from Amazon do. I recommend this as a "must have" for any longtime Seekers
fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2008
Among Christmas Albums, "Morningtown Ride to Christmas" shines like the jewel it is. Other reviewers have rightfully called it a masterpiece. This will not surprise long-time fans of the Seekers, familiar with this wonderful Australian group's time-honored ability to achieve pure magic on any song they touch. Such loyal fans need no persuasion to acquire this album.

This review is for those unfamiliar with the Seekers, particularly Americans. We did not get a chance to fully know the Seekers at the height of their popularity in the mid 1960's, due to lack of touring and promotion within the U.S. That was truly a loss to America. This Christmas album will demonstrate the genius of the Seekers: their ability to use simple acoustic instruments, combined with traditional song arrangements, and perform with incredible power, beauty and harmony. The Seekers are difficult to compare with any other group, past or present, as their beautiful harmonies and style are so unique. Originally classed in the simpler days of the 1960's as Pop/Folk/Gospel, the Seekers are best described as being in a class by themselves. To attempt description of the Seekers style would require reference to Blues, Jazz, Folk, Bluegrass, Country, Gospel, Soft Rock, and more, and even that attempt would fall far short.

The Seekers are Judith Durham, Athol Guy, Keith Potger, and Bruce Woodley. Judith, blessed with perfect pitch, has a voice that ranks as one of the finest in the world. It is difficult to bring to mind, a singer today, capable of matching the range, power and beauty of Judith's voice. Her voice will be distantly familiar to many older Americans, due to the 1967 worldwide hit "Georgy Girl", probably the only Seekers song that actually got decent radio airtime in the U.S. The "Boys", Athol, Keith and Bruce, provide incredible harmonies of absolute perfection with Judith, another Seekers trademark. Bruce provides his rich baritone as lead or co-lead on some songs. The awesome guitar (6 & 12-string), banjo, and mandolin skills of Keith and Bruce also enhance this beautiful album. Athol's skill with the double bass is equally impressive, whether used as an upright bass, or as a bass violin.

"Morningtown Ride to Christmas" will become a favorite Christmas Album for most. Do not be surprised if this album launches a search for other Seekers albums. The magic of the Seekers is evident in all they sing, whether classed as Pop, Gospel, Folk or Christmas. Over many years, the Seekers' wide range of music, performed with matchless skill, sounds as good or better live as in their studio recordings. The Seekers can cover an incredibly wide range of music with such superb skill, that there simply exists no other group to compare them with. The Seekers, Judith, Athol, Keith and Bruce, are truly in a class by themselves.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2014
The Seekers are at their best on this CD when singing some of the less traditional Christmas songs: Mary Had a Baby, When a Child is Born, There are No Lights on Our Christmas Tree, Children Go Where I Send Thee are all brilliant. The other numbers are well done also. If you enjoy the Seekers, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2017
Will be listening to this cd at Christmas Time, but I expect nothing less than DYNAMITE singing from the four of them ! I'm sure I won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 16, 2014
Judith Durham, probably the most perfect voice of all time. And they recorded many absolutely clear and perfect of some folk songs. If you haven't discovered the Seekers yet, you should. Buy this one and others. I gave it 4 stars instead of five because it does not include their best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 6, 2003
Oh...what a masterpiece!! The Seekers have lost none of the 60s magic. They are so inspirational and exciting. Every track is just gorgeous!! My favorite is "When a Child Is Born".....just perfect. But so are all the other songs. Please...please...order this CD. You won't be disappointed!! It will make your holiday a lot brighter!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 15, 2014
outstanding christmas cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 22, 2009
Excellent album for the Christmas (not for Happy Holidays fans!) season.
The Seekers are in great voice with a wonderful selection of songs to put you in the Christmas mood! Although not recorded at the height of their fame this CD is a must have.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMEon September 21, 2002
The Seekers recorded this Christmas album in June 2001, but the songs sound exactly as you would expect a Seekers Christmas album to sound. There have been a few changes of line-up down the years (even including a different lady also called Judith), but the line-up here includes at least three of the original members - Judith Durham, Keith Potger and Bruce Woodley. The fourth member is Athol Guy - I confess I can't remember whether he was the original fourth member or not.

Morningtown ride (to Christmas) is - as you would expect - an adaptation of one of their big hits of the sixties, but they haven't changed it much.

Once in Royal David's city is a lovely carol, which is very popular in Britain (and maybe Australia). The Seekers do it as a duet.

There are no lights on our Christmas tree (written in 1962) is not a song I remembere hearing before, and a song search fails to reveal another version. It's an amusing song about father and son wanting different things from Christmas, on which one of the men sing lead.

The remaining songs are mostly Christmas standards, with Judith as lead singer, sounding as good as ever.

This is essential for Seekers fans.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here