Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jon Batiste Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 17, 2017
It's about a fellow turning 30 in the early 1960's in the South.
It rambled. I read the whole thing hoping that there would be some revelation in the few pages left. "They" hailed Walker Percy as the new Faulkner. He wasn't/isn't?
Bottom line, turning 30 is full of angst for some people. Should I date this girl or not, should I suck up to my girlfriend/boss/family/friends or not? Should I care what people think of me or not? Was probably so 100 years ago and a thousand years from now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 22, 2015
Excellent story and fascinating voice.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2017
Binx is interesting with his internal depth and external shallowness. But overall this was a lobotomy to get through. Amen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 12, 2016
Like setting Camus's Stranger in New Orleans among the Southern gentry. Dated in a way but worth reading even in its datedness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2016
They way the story was told was different than the normal stucture of novels, but most enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2016
Poetic and compelling. A wonderful look at a young man's coming of age
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2016
I read it first when it came out.fifty years ago I think. It held up for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 28, 2014
I read it on a recommendation, so some people like it, but I'm not the right audience.

Maybe if you love Blanch Dubois, you'll like it - but that's a guess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 3, 2013
A few days in the life of a New Orleans existentialist. The point see,s to be that the purpose of life reveals itself if you're honest about your feelings and pay attention. Generally excellent though the ending seems a little pat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 26, 2014
We read this for our book club. Not a lot of action but very flavorful descriptions of people and places. Reading it is like walking into a family album/portrait gallery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse