Oil month Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SWMTVT18_gno

Mr. Bungle
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on October 29, 2016
Some people just hate this stuff haha. It's not the most "relaxing" music you'll ever hear. I love the emotional distortion, punk attitude, circus-show approach, and over-the-top anti-comfort delivery. I think you'll understand why a drunk mess of a clown is who they choose for the cover...It's really unstable stuff.
On a road trip my friends I agreed that we each have to bring three albums to listen to, and no matter what we had to listen through the album and talk about it afterward. One friend chose Justice-Cross, the other chose a Dave Matthews record that made me want to tuck and roll, and then I put this on and...watching my friend go through this experience was one of the funniest things I've ever seen. He was so uncomfortable that he became angry, and eventually started yelling...it was almost a weird, objective effect put into this record that he was just reacting to. Me and my other friend refused to turn it off, of course...but afterward we had a great talk about the music, and why it's important to play with the format and not get too set in stone as far as structure, arrangement, and maybe most importantly: mood.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 14, 2005
One of the most unnervingy eclectic albums to ever be released on a major label, Mr. Bungle's debut is something else. The album is produced (and it shows) by avant-garde genius John Zorn, whose genre blending history was clearly a strong influence on this record.

Zorn's involvement came about through vocalist Mike Patton, who is a big fan. Patton produces an unnervingly wide array of vocal tones and sounds, moving effortlessly through death metal, funk, rap, lounge and in between. But while it's often the case that people assume Bungle is Patton's "side project from Faith No More", this isn't really true (a Bungle demo is what landed Patton the Faith No More job), and in fact the influences of the rest of the band, particularly underappreciated guitarist Trey Spruance and bassist Trevor Dunn are as important as Patton.

Overtly, the two sounds that seem most prevelent on the record are a grinding death metal influence and a ska sound-- the mightly and bizarre (and about John Travolta) "Quote Unquote", the stunning "Carousel" and "My *ss is on Fire" all sit in this vein, and are among the best material on the album. But Bungle also experiments in a dozen other veins from lounge ("Slowly Growing Deaf", "Stubb (a Dub)") to sludgey metal ("Slowly Growing Deaf") to a sort of hyped up rap/metal sound ("Squeeze Me Macaroni") to pop ("The Girls of Porn", "Slowly Going Deaf") to just downright bizarre ("Dead Goon", and you know what "Slowly Going Deaf").

This isn't for everyone, and I think "California" is a better record (hence the four stars), but its really something. Recommended for anyone open-minded.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 9, 2015
This is a brief review of the 2 lp pressing done by Music on Vinyl. After careful readings of other reviews, I realized there was a allegedly bad pressing, done on a one lp edition. I bought the 2 lp version, and can vouch for it being a good pressing. Low noise, with and no low master level issues.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 30, 2016
This album is a classic. I've listened to it so many times since I bought it in 2011 I'm surprised I haven't worn it out completely. So glad I can find albums like this on Amazon. In a lot of reviews we make comparisons of what an album or band is like but really this album is pretty hard to pin down any genre or comparison. Songs can easily go from creepy to funky to full on thrash metal to reggae/ska to jazz to latin to hip hop/r&b. All I can say, if you've ever described your musical tastes as "weird" or "crazy" this will likely become one of your favorite albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 2, 2013
The first time I heard this CD, I thought that it was a garbled, mess of an album. Three more times into it, I thought that this was the greatest music I have ever heard. Trumpets, classical, grunts, screams, you name it in one song? How does it work? I don't know but it does believe me. I can honestly say that that this is my favorite album, and I can never get sick of listening to it because ot is just so eccentric.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 3, 2015
This is where I first heard weird. I did hope for the CD inkay to appear in this release in a larger format because it is trippy as balls. I think the music speaks for itself, but it is not for timid listeners and it may be a bit dated for some.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 24, 2013
The strangest album I've heard other than Frank Zappa's Joe's Garage. Maybe that's a mis-representation. But I mean it as praise. Since Mr Bungle emerged in the late 80's and have received tons of praise ever since then, all I can say is it's well deserved. As one example, Mike Patton might be the least classifiable musician to have ever emerged from the metal genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 23, 2013
aside from lou reeds metal machine music, avant garde music has always been underground until mr bungle came along and made it a bit more mainstream with this self title release. I absolutely love every track on this album but my personal favorite is Travolta or quote unquote because of its fusion of metal and ambient music, every track on this album makes it unique and the band is unique themselves for blending a wide variety of genres from metal to funk. This music is for a certain audience though, simply because not many people can listen to genre blending tracks with strange time signatures. I recommend this to anyone who wants to try something different than what you hear on the radio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2013
When I was 16 I used to drop acid and sit in my room and listen to Bungle on CD while drawing messed up comics. Sitting down and listening to this on vinyl brings back those memories better than having random songs come on over my iPod does. Sounds even better than the CD, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 15, 2014
The mr bungle debut is among the greatest albums of all time, however this release does nothing but make more money off fans like myself. Shit quality and no extra notes or booklet, not recommended. Get the original or cd version instead
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse