Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $32.95
  • Save: $7.84 (24%)
Only 8 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
The Mughal Throne has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: *WITHDRAWN LIBRARY COPY* in exceptional condition; Appears to be unused. It does have customary library collection stamps/stickers. Proceeds benefit our library! FULFILLED BY AMAZON. ELIGIBLE FOR FREE AMAZON PRIME SHIPPING OR FREE SHIPPNG ON AMAZON FULFILLED ORDERS OVER $35
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Mughal Throne Paperback – February 5, 2004

4.0 out of 5 stars 13 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Paperback, February 5, 2004
"Please retry"
$11.72 $3.27

"City of Dreams" by Tyler Anbinder
The 400-year epic history of immigrant New York, and the three million foreign-born residents living there today. Learn more | Kindle book
$25.11 FREE Shipping. Only 8 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Mughal Throne
  • +
  • The Baburnama: Memoirs of Babur, Prince and Emperor (Modern Library Classics)
  • +
  • The Last Mughal: The Fall of a Dynasty: Delhi, 1857
Total price: $52.53
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

This meticulously researched book that recounts late medieval Indian history--from 1526 to 1707--is part of a four-volume study that will cover the history of India from the beginning up to 1858. Chronologically, this is the third volume, although it is the first to be published. The author describes in detail two of the many battles the Mughals fought and depicts the everyday life of the six rulers and the people, saying that his objective is "to portray life rather than merely to chronicle history." Eraly discusses the camp followers, civilians fleeing the approaching armies, and soldiers suffering from thirst and hunger as they cross deserts and snowbound mountain passes. He tells of elephants and beautiful women exchanged as spoils of war and recounts the rulers' taste in clothes, perfume, liquor, wine, tobacco, opium, and concubines. This account of the Mughal conquest of India is essential in understanding that period of history. George Cohen
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved


An entertaining and informative journey charting the rise of the Mughal dynasty while examining the lives, concerns and fascinations of the first six of the 11 Indian emperors... who each in their different way ruled with a ruthless, ego-driven aggression that helped preserve thrones, cities, artefacts and harems while advocating war, pillage and plunder.

This is a majesterial history covering six reigns of that larger-than-life empire... this paperback edition improves on the hardback with some full colour illustrations.

Fans of Starkey or Schama should now look east with Abraham Eraly... This edition improves on the hardback with a sumptuous selection of Mughal art.―BOYD TONKIN

Eraly's exhilarating saga of India's great emperors celebrates the last golden age of India, a great multicultural period of imperial achievement.

An unashamedly old-fashioned narrative history of the Mughal Emperors.

New York Times best sellers
Browse the New York Times best sellers in popular categories like Fiction, Nonfiction, Picture Books and more. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 608 pages
  • Publisher: Phoenix (February 5, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0753817586
  • ISBN-13: 978-0753817582
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 1.8 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #977,011 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on May 18, 2007
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2005
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2015
Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Mughal Throne
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Mughal Throne